We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Pu'uhonua O Honaunau National Historical Park
from USD 69.00
More Info
from USD 114.58
More Info
from USD 234.37
More Info
from USD 123.96
More Info
Reviews (1,492)
Filter reviews
1,492 results
Traveller rating
967
434
82
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
434
82
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided tour two step hawaiian history ranger talk royal grounds fish sacred site sacred place picnic area sea turtles the big island great place to learn per vehicle ancient hawaiians tide pools walking tour great history
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,492 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This park is very interesting with many displays of island life. Beautiful setting. We saw the most beautiful sea turtle on the beach. You can spend some time there wandering the paths and reading and learning about the history. We were on a tour so we could not spend as much time as we wanted there. If you are the type to take everything in and enjoy, then going by your own car is recommended.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We go here multiple times when we visit the big island. Not only is the core of the park interesting (look for the barracuda in the fish pond), but there is a great picnic area with a spectacular shoreline (check out the tide pools). We also park here and walk to "2-step" (about 400 yards away) to snorkel. This is one of the best snorkeling spots in Hawaii (not just the big island). Come here in the morning to snorkel, change clothes in the park bathroom, explore the park, and picnic on the rocky shore. Perfect day!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank grouse2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Before heading to the park, on the day prior we had done a tour with Kona boys. Our guide there had given us a great history about the historical significance of the park. We planned to spend the day at the park and then snorkeling at Two Step. We wandered through the park first, which was really interesting, but we did it backwards. As we finished, we stopped to hear the Park Ranger speak. He was funny, he was interesting, it was worth the time to hear what he had to say. I wish we had stopped first and then wandered around. It was smaller than I had expected, but it is worth the visit.

A word about Two Step. It is right outside of the park area. We paid to park and then left our car to go snorkel. The snorkeling was amazing but it is very challenging to get in and out. I don't think it is as good as what you will see at Captain Cook's monument but still worth the time. Just be prepared that it is rough and it helps to have a friend when you are getting in and out of the water. Getting in was something of a leap of faith, timed according to the waves. Getting out also requires timing but helped to have a stranger offer a helping hand. We saw turtles over by Pu'uhonau O Honaunau but not where we were snorkelling. No dolphins either, but we were a little later in the day.

Overall, a great day at the park and at Two Step. Perfect day in the Kona area.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank klfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great place to learn some Hawaiian history. I went mid day and it was HOT. Bring a hat or something to provide shade while you are on the walking tour. I enjoyed the ranger talk at 1:30pm. It was nice to get off the beach and learn something. It was also interesting that the talk barely mentioned “western contact” and what happened after the plantation owners arrived - ie. Slavery. But it was nice to hear about the Hawaiian Chiefs and their customs.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ebonytravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The park is historically informative, allowing the visitor to delve into the detail as little or as much as desired. The grounds are very quiet and worth just wandering around. Good views of the bay and 2 Step. If going to 2 Step to snorkel and cannot find a parking place, this is a good alternative.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank wvlivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews