We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Location for Old Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Location for Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is a place I visit on occasion when I can get a good rate and I want to stay in the old town area. It is close to Old Town, Restaurants, and the Museums (walking distance). The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and spacious with fast free internet. The swimming pool was very nice too. For out of town travelers it has easy access to/from I-40.

Room Tip: Excellent place in a great location that can be an incredible value at the right price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    490
    183
    70
    27
See reviews for
413
476
119
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Although probably a random occurrence, the hotel experienced plumbing problems while I was there. I awoke one morning to discover a black liquid in my bathroom sink. When I phoned the front desk, I was told that another room near mine had a blockage and that someone would take care of it. I requested that my room be cleaned early, and when I returned in the early afternoon, it had been. Unfortunately, to deal with the plumbing problem, the water was shut off for about half an hour. The sink in my room continued to drain slowly but was taken care of upon my request. I was disappointed that the exercise room didn't open until 7 am, or possibly 6 am if you asked nicely. I had to alter my typical schedule by exercising in the evening. Other than that, my stay was average. The bed was uneven, and the fan coming on and off made it difficult to sleep. But, it was clean and within a healthy walking distance of both old down and the local food co-op.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear of the plumbing problems you experienced but am glad that we took care of the issues quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The room, restaurant, locations--all good. I was especially appreciative of the shuttle service, which took me to the Pueblo Cultural Center and picked me up when I called. This was not part of their advertised service. The drivers were delightful and helpful. At the reception desk I got plenty of help with how to navigate the bus system, and short cuts for the walk to old town. Best of all, I was told that access to the Bosque trail that led to the Rio Grande Nature Center was just two blocks away. The shuttle service, to & from airport and sites nearby, is what led me to select this hotel. A huge help, for which reason I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnaomiruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I've stayed at the BW Rio Grande Inn for business a half dozen times over the past year, and found nothing but great value, service and hospitality. Love the hearty breakfasts and cozy lounge with its outgoing bartenders (yeah, Zack) and regular crowd of young travelers. And, its a short ride by hotel shuttle to the airport. (Would be nice if the shuttle went beyond Old Town, since local cab rides are costly, but that's understandable.) Can't beat it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel. For future reference, our hotel shuttle will transport guests to the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center, Albuquerque BioPark (Zoo, Aquarium & Botanical Gardens), Old Town Plaza, Airport and Amtrak/Railrunner Station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Without being noisy, this hotel is very well located to highway access and a main thoroughfare to other attractions. We spent a wonderful couple of hours our first night decompressing at the bar with a terrific bartender. We ate at the restaurant the second night, and were extremely please as well as surprised at how good the food was.
The room was spacious and clean, with very lovely southwestern decor. Our most pleasant room so far o the trip.
The counter personnel worked very hard at setting us up in a location that best fitted our needs and the room rate was reasonable for the return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#15 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#4 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price range (per night): $141 - $177
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing