We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location with very nice staff”
other traveller has booked this property
'Little' Cabin on the River!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Little' Cabin on the River!
The Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
'Little' Cabin on the River!
The Deck
View from Deck
Dining Table
Kitchen Area
Stove Top
Oven/Microwave
Dining/Living Area
TV in Living Area
Bathroom
TV in Bedroom #1 (Bath Towels in Cabinet)
Bedroom #1
Living Area
Dock Below
Adirondacks for Morning Coffee!!
Beach Area
Dock
Gated Access to Dock
Road down to Down...or our \'workout room\'! :)  We suggest driving!
Current River Fun!!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Van Buren, Missouri

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christina...
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location with very nice staff”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My family of four stayed in this cabin for two nights during the week. It is in a great location and the semi-private dock is a nice plus. The dock is shared by anyone renting from this owner, but we never actually ran into other guests when we were using the dock.

The cabin is well kept and in a great location. We loved the deck and the ability to use a washer and drier. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets were high quality. There were plenty of pots and pans for cooking and the kitchen was very easy to use. We did not have a problem with bugs or other critters. We even found there were very few Mosquitos! The cabins in the area were quiet and very nice. No loud music or obnoxious neighbors to disrupt this peaceful environment. We will definitely be back.

A few small notes: You might want to bring your own can opener if you think you'll use one. The grill only has one functioning gas burner. Sheets for the futon were not provided (or if they were we couldn't find them). No Wi-Fi is available. Oh, and I didn't notice that there is no oven in the pictures, which was my oversight, but there isn't one, so you might not want to plan meals that require one. None of these things would stop us from renting again, they are just things to know in advance.

The best part, truly, was working with the owner's assistant that checked us in. She is a sweet lady that was very accommodating and lovely to chat with. She worked around our schedule and was warm and welcoming. We have rented properties in posh places like Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts and Marbella, Spain and have rarely found such nice people to rent from. All in all, this was a great deal and a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck
Liked least: The grill
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackinaw
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Schoens
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin is nice and well equipped. It sits near the river with a short/steep walk up a paved drive. There is a very nice dock with chairs and tables. We floated the Current River and half way we stopped and relaxed on the dock/deck. The river is wide and deep need the dock but I was told later in the year there is a gravel bar near the center. I could see it from the deck. The deck off the house is nice with lots of shade. There is no wifi but if your bothering to visit the woods it might be a good idea to unplug. A store in Van Buren has all the extras you need and The Landing is a good outfitter. The property manager was very attentive/nice and on site most mornings doing landscaping/etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river view and access
Liked least: a few biting deer flies - bring anti-itch medicine!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustinC07
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Been looking for this spot on the Current River for 5 years now”
Reviewed 11 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed in both the "Little Cabin" and "Big Cabin" that Dennis owns. Both were awesome spots to be while in Van Buren. Our group has been going to Van Buren annually for six years now to float the Current River and we finally found the spot we will want to to book every year. They are close together to accommodate a larger group split between both cabins. The private dock area right on the river that Dennis has set up really puts the cabins on another level. We spent our Friday hanging out on the river around the dock and then floating the river Saturday and stopping at the dock to have lunch. Dennis has a good group of people working for him as well, thanks to Chris for showing us around when we first got there. We are already thinking of next July...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the river and large decks on both cabins
Liked least: No complaints. Everything was great
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Reviewed 18 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location, view, hospitality
Liked least: no dislikes
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing