We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
NJ USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Grand hotel in the style of a Four Seasons or a Ritz Carlton. Looks like a turn of the century hotel but has all the modern touches and it's right downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnnj861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for choosing the Grand America Hotel while in Salt Lake City for business.

As an independent property, we were humbled by your comparison to such hospitality icons and delighted the facilities, staff and services of the Grand America left such a favorable impression with you.

We thank you again for such high praise and look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand soon. In the interim, we will remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    226
    60
    24
    12
See reviews for
240
411
53
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Grand America is the only 5 star hotel in Salt Lake City. I would describe it as a traditional/classic 5 star hotel, not a "hip" or "trendy" 5 star. They serve afternoon tea while a Grand Piano plays etc. The hotel has beautiful gardens to stroll through. The hotel is ornate and the large rooms are decorated with antique style furniture. I was disappointed that I had to pay extra to use the fitness center. The hotel is a bit to foo-foo for me as I prefer more of a "hip" place to stay however the service was outstanding and I couldn't fault anything. If you like a quieter hotel that is pure luxury then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most helpful feedback with us. We were humbled by you kind remarks and delighted that your overall experience was very good.

Without question, the Grand America is modeled after fine fashioned European and classically elegant America crafted luxury hotels. Certainly décor and design tastes are subjective as you indicate but we truly appreciate and thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us in such thoughtful and honest detail.

We hope to see you back at the Grand America in the future and will we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was i doubt, 4 or 3. In the end i chose 4 considering the total cost of the stay. It was a very nice and very lage room. There was ocationally a bit of food smell and im never getting used to american plumbing (why are all hotel showers constructed for midgets?).I got static electric shocks all the time! No coffe maker in the room. Free wi-fi (but slow). Nice clock with a IPOD dock.

I think there were too many things that was extra.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most candid feedback with us.

I was terribly disappointed to read where your stay at the Grand America Hotel left such an feeling of indifference with you. A run-of-the-mill or ordinary experience is not the impression we ever wish to leave with our guests and that it appears we have with you, I sincerely apologize.

As for in-room coffee makers – kindly be advised that we do offer complimentary coffee makers delivered to your guest suite upon request. I believe our delivery on request service to be terrific; but for reasons of aesthetics and sanitation, coffee makes are not apart of our guestroom/suite furnishings.

Thank you again for your valuable feed back. We do understand how our failures can impact our guests and ask the next time your travels call for Salt Lake City that you consider staying with us again. I am confident your next visit will fulfill you high expectations.

We hope to see you back at the Grand America in the future and will we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Very elegant and luxurious property. The service is extremely attentive and what you would expect from a five star hotel. The lobby is large and has a lot of lounging space. I didn't take advantage of the bar or restaurant but there is a unique toy shop in the hotel if you are looking for a gift for the kids. The gym was adequate, but annoying that there is a $10 usage fee. There was free internet however.

My room was huge, virtually the size of a suite. There were two sinks and a large bathroom. While the room was very nice, the bed and television weren't to the quality standards I would expect with a modern chain hotel like a Westin.

Good location at the south end of downtown and just outside the TRAX stop. Very walkable distances to many dining options. Overall a good choice if you like old style luxury and are willing to pay for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were delighted that our service stood out as a highlight during your stay and honored by your recommendation.

We also appreciate your fair observations regarding the features of our guestrooms. New flat panel TV’s have been installed throughout 11 of our 23 floors. Unfortunately we suspended installation for two weeks due to occupancy but will resume March 26th for an April 30th completion date. I am pleased to inform you that a new sleep experience will commence soon thereafter.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and for your patience and loyalty during this process. We will look forward to your return to the Grand America in the future and until then, remain at your service.


Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Enjoyed my stay at the Grand America! Clean, classy, and the hotel staff was very nice to accommodate my wife's birthday. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateratorP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are honored you chose the Grand America Hotel to celebrate your wife’s birthday and delighted the hotel, staff and services were able to contribute to a memorable event.

We thank you for such high praise and look forward to welcoming you back…for any occasion, in the future. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 km away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,802 reviews
0.8 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.8 km away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,409 reviews
0.8 km away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Property: Grand America Hotel
Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4100
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price range (per night): $308 - $519
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing