We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Clean rooms, well appointed, although not luxurious. Walking distance to many local restaurants and convenient to the highway. Basic breakfast does the job, especially prior to going skiing. Free parking and wifi. If all you need is a room to sleep, this is more than adequate

Room Tip: Avoid street side of hotel to avoid excessive noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank must_travel_soon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 798 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

DON'T STAY HERE! I travel, for business purposes several times a month. I travel to various cities and I travel to Salt Lake City, two to four times a month. I stayed at this hotel because I have always had good experiences with Hampton Inns. I should have know this experience was not going to be a good one because problems started at the reservation stage. My assistant booked my room. She spoke with a member of their staff named Jess. He was rude to her and gave her the third degree through out the process of booking the room, as if she were lying about everything she said. She was told they were completely booked except for the King Suite. I wanted a room with a King size bed, not two queens. She asked for a king size bed. There was also an issue with price. Jess told her that the lower fare could only be booked on the internet. My assistant made the arrangements necessary to get the price quoted on the internet. However, once I received my bill, I was charged the price originally quoted by Jess. I was also booked into a room with two queen size beds. When asked if they would please change it to a room with a king size bed, they acted as if I had asked for something nearly impossible. I did not get my points added to my Hilton Honors Reward # membership (of which I am a Diamond member).

I would not recommend staying here to anyone. We utilize the Hampton Inn in Littleton, CO, on Shaffer Pkwy for many different aspects of our business. We are always treated kindly, with respect, and I am happy and feel comfortable to have our trainees and our board members stay there. There are three hotels in the vicinity of which I speak. We choose the Hampton Inn because their service far exceeds the service of any of the hotels around it.

Hence the reason I chose to stay at the Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Downtown. It was my first and my last stay there.

Room Tip: This is one of those hotels I would ask to see the room before paying. There is obviously no reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the reservation problems you experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Since this time, we have reviewed your comments with our Reservation staff to ensure that the issues you mentioned are addressed.

You are a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Joe Bessette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Truly a family hotel.

Rooms are on the small side, but fully furnished. Parking and wifi were free. Beds were comfortable, shower was hot and water pressure was reasonable.

Impressed with breakfast and service. Breakfast was supposed to end at 10, but Tuesday morning found dozens of people just getting started and not very happy that many items had been consumed. Instead of clearing it up, Hampton restocked past the cut off time and I was just impressed at the service!

Pool... uck. Too many kids, too many babies, poor chlorine control. Cannot recommend the pool or hot tub when it's busy.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonoran_Skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Used the Trip advisor site before we went to Salt Lake City, and we were not disappointed! Everything from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the breakfast crew was great. Jasmine at the front desk was so sweet and Mac in the breakfast room was just great! Room was clean, neat and plenty big. My biggest compliment of all goes to the staff. Not one time in the 7 days that we were there did I witness a disgruntled, tired, frustrated or angry reaction from anyone! Ask for more coffee, hot water, tea bags.......they are right on it! Need more pillows and blankets, not a problem. I received smiles, hello's, greetings of good morning, and how are you today my entire stay. Kuddos to the management and to the staff for a wonderfully run, customer serviced hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmdanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is a standard Hampton Inn which is always adequate for the business traveler. This does not appear to be one of their newer properties and my room was in a bit of a noisy area but the staff was friendly and helpful and my stay was comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lobby and the elevators if you want pease and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.7 km away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,880 reviews
0.1 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.8 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.7 km away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Salt Lake City

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown

Address: 425 S 300 W, At intersection of 400 South and 300 West., Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#11 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $130 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown is located just blocks from Temple Square, the Salt Palace Convention Center, City Creek Center shopping mall and Vivint Arena. We are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theaters, and only a short drive to all major Salt Lake City attractions. Our spacious rooms feature king or queen-size beds and many small touches you will appreciate. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room. We offer free high-speed internet access in every guest room. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed.™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Downtown
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing