We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, rooms and value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
752 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Clean rooms, well appointed, although not luxurious. Walking distance to many local restaurants and convenient to the highway. Basic breakfast does the job, especially prior to going skiing. Free parking and wifi. If all you need is a room to sleep, this is more than adequate

Room Tip: Avoid street side of hotel to avoid excessive noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank must_travel_soon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    273
    65
    21
    6
See reviews for
225
199
43
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

DON'T STAY HERE! I travel, for business purposes several times a month. I travel to various cities and I travel to Salt Lake City, two to four times a month. I stayed at this hotel because I have always had good experiences with Hampton Inns. I should have know this experience was not going to be a good one because problems started at the reservation stage. My assistant booked my room. She spoke with a member of their staff named Jess. He was rude to her and gave her the third degree through out the process of booking the room, as if she were lying about everything she said. She was told they were completely booked except for the King Suite. I wanted a room with a King size bed, not two queens. She asked for a king size bed. There was also an issue with price. Jess told her that the lower fare could only be booked on the internet. My assistant made the arrangements necessary to get the price quoted on the internet. However, once I received my bill, I was charged the price originally quoted by Jess. I was also booked into a room with two queen size beds. When asked if they would please change it to a room with a king size bed, they acted as if I had asked for something nearly impossible. I did not get my points added to my Hilton Honors Reward # membership (of which I am a Diamond member).

I would not recommend staying here to anyone. We utilize the Hampton Inn in Littleton, CO, on Shaffer Pkwy for many different aspects of our business. We are always treated kindly, with respect, and I am happy and feel comfortable to have our trainees and our board members stay there. There are three hotels in the vicinity of which I speak. We choose the Hampton Inn because their service far exceeds the service of any of the hotels around it.

Hence the reason I chose to stay at the Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Downtown. It was my first and my last stay there.

Room Tip: This is one of those hotels I would ask to see the room before paying. There is obviously no reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Truly a family hotel.

Rooms are on the small side, but fully furnished. Parking and wifi were free. Beds were comfortable, shower was hot and water pressure was reasonable.

Impressed with breakfast and service. Breakfast was supposed to end at 10, but Tuesday morning found dozens of people just getting started and not very happy that many items had been consumed. Instead of clearing it up, Hampton restocked past the cut off time and I was just impressed at the service!

Pool... uck. Too many kids, too many babies, poor chlorine control. Cannot recommend the pool or hot tub when it's busy.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonoran_Skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Used the Trip advisor site before we went to Salt Lake City, and we were not disappointed! Everything from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the breakfast crew was great. Jasmine at the front desk was so sweet and Mac in the breakfast room was just great! Room was clean, neat and plenty big. My biggest compliment of all goes to the staff. Not one time in the 7 days that we were there did I witness a disgruntled, tired, frustrated or angry reaction from anyone! Ask for more coffee, hot water, tea bags.......they are right on it! Need more pillows and blankets, not a problem. I received smiles, hello's, greetings of good morning, and how are you today my entire stay. Kuddos to the management and to the staff for a wonderfully run, customer serviced hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmdanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,181 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,342 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is a standard Hampton Inn which is always adequate for the business traveler. This does not appear to be one of their newer properties and my room was in a bit of a noisy area but the staff was friendly and helpful and my stay was comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lobby and the elevators if you want pease and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.8 km away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.6 km away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.8 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Address: 425 S 300 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#11 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price range (per night): $137 - $276
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown is located just blocks from Temple Square, the Salt Palace Convention Center and the Energy Solutions Arena. We are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theaters, and only a short drive to most major attractions.Whether you come to Salt Lake City for business or pleasure, it makes sense to stay in a hotel with the same standard of comfort as the town it serves. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City-Downtown was designed to help you take advantage of the area with style, and to predict and satisfy your every business need...or vacation dream! Our spacious rooms feature king or queen-size beds and many small touches you will appreciate. You can count on our Salt Lake City hotel to offer the relaxing atmosphere and accommodations you deserve. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room. Need to get some work done while you're with us? We offer free high-speed internet access in every guest room. Prop your laptop on our handy lap desk and type away while you watch TV. Or simply listen to your favorite kind of music by pressing one of the preset buttons on your room's alarm clock. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet: Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed.™ The Hampton Bed Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Downtown
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing