We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”
Review of Eden by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eden by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The location and stunning beauty of Eden by the Sea made it a highlight of a trip to the Peninsula in October 2011, for a girls' get-a-way. The views are epic, with the forest, the Olympics, and their snow-covered tops visible from the Inn and lovely garden. Stunning mountains are in one direction and the wide-open view of the Strait in the other. It is an amazing setting.

David met us when we arrived and was so welcoming, a great guy, and just made us feel right at home. David and Evelyn are warm and genuine, they are interested in getting to know their guests and friendly, but also respectful of their guests' interest in quiet and privacy, a perfect blend of hospitality and lots of good space and down time for your stay. Their inn is lovely, in every way. We especially enjoyed the den/library to enjoy lots of great books and references about WA state and the Peninsula, and lots of helpful guides.

Their recommendations for dinner were incredibly helpful and spot-on, and we had dinner down the road in Sequim, at the Alderwood Bistro, which was a fantastic meal and atmosphere. It was one of the best meals we have ever had in travel, including in NYC, London, SF, Vancouver, Seattle, and Boston. It was truly special and great food, a must do. And we thank David and Evelyn for their recommendation, and the clear directions to reach this in-the-know spot.

The inn's setting right on a bluff overlooking the Strait is majestic and the garden beautiful with lots of room for looking out at the view. There is lots of room to sit in a garden chair overlooking the water among the tall trees, and time to reflect on the scene. Many bald eagles flew overhead the whole time, and you are very much in nature with deer grazing and the stunning mountain views. The location is incredibly quiet, down a private road, far removed from the busy stretch of commercial Port Angeles, even though it is just a short drive in terms of time, and easy to reach.

Breakfast was delicious and very thoughtfully presented, lovely, and the view of the water and mountains covered in snow were gorgeous. Only wish we'd had more time to stay than just one night, as Eden is a place that is perfect for long-term quiet and a stunning setting to relax, recharge or use as an extended base for exploring the area, hiking, etc. Don't just use it as a stop-over, make it a destination, it's well worth it. It's a world-apart and those places are so rare these days. Would stay again in a minute, many thanks again! Hope to return soon. Best wishes from Boston!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
160
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We have had the privilege of staying at Eden By The Sea for each of our three wedding anniversaries. This year was just as wonderful, but slightly different from that last two. We usually spend time enjoying the area restaurants and activites. This time we spent the whole two days relaxing at the B&B. It was so peaceful. There's plenty of rooms to enjoy reading, drinking tea or coffee, or taking in the scenery. Breakfast, of course, was just as creative and delicious as always. This B&B never fails to delight.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAnewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hanover, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed two nights in this terrific B&B and wish we could have stayed longer. David and Evelyn are very friendly hosts and provided excellent recommendations for sightseeing and dining. The house is beautiful inside and out and the spacious grounds are tastefully landscaped. We viewed all of the rooms and can't decide which we liked the best. They are all lovely. The best part of our visit was the fabulous three course breakfasts. The meals were imaginative, wholesome and plentiful.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor has a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is a very nice property. The main building is new and quite well done. We stayed in the apartment and it was comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The grounds are nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanVlietTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The owners are the most friendly and down to earth people that we have encountered in a long time. The accommodations were superb, and the grounds were magnificent. The view was breathtaking, and the 3-course gourmet breakfast was incredible! We found this B&B to be reasonably priced and would highly recommend to anyone. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite King
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
10.8 km away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,613 reviews
13.0 km away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,983 reviews
1.2 km away
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
#3 of 14 in Port Angeles
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
1.3 km away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
243 reviews
8.5 km away
Greenhouse Inn by the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden by the Sea

Property: Eden by the Sea
Address: 1027 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362-9500
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price range (per night): $124 - $164
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious B&B has panoramic water and mountain views in every room, with over 300 feet of private water view. Pastoral grounds include presence of both wildlife and sea life in a park-like setting. Owners delight to serve guests a multi-course gourmet breakfast in the French Country home decor. Guests claim this is the perfect place to relax, rest and enjoy wonders of nature in a comfortable home atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing