We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay on the Olympic Peninsula!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Washington Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay on the Olympic Peninsula!”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We spent two nights at the George Washington Inn in the Mount Vernon Retreat. The inn and the room were both beautiful and spacious. The pictures on the inn's website are extremely accurate. The breakfasts were great, served on the beautiful patio. Janet and Dan were lovely and very helpful with sightseeing advice and restaurant recommendations, both before and during our stay. Thanks, Dan and Janet, for helping to make our weekend so enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellenstf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    7
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
231
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This review is long overdue. My husband and I stayed here for a romantic long weekend and we had an incredible time. Everything from the room to the food was simply one of the best traveling experienced we've had. The room was luxurious and romantic, especially the fireplace. The bathroom was pampering with its spacious tub that could easily fit my 6'4" husband and the rain forest shower. Everything is slightly enveloped in a pleasant lavender scent, probably from a mix of the lavender field that surrounds the Inn and the home made lavender products which are also for sale and to which I am now addicted. But the best part was the view. The inn faces the Victoria harbor where we got to see bald eagles fly by. The hosts are friendly and professional. Nothing about them that I would change. The food is amazing - we loved the lavender rhubarb jam. Nice touches like fresh cookies, coupons to other attractions and wineries and free parking completed the experience. We will be back again, even to restock on the Martha's own lavender mist. Thank you for a great memory!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The place was amazing in every category. The view were breathtaking both in the front and the back of the inn. It was very peaceful and quiet. Janet and Dan were friendly and helpful. They also gave advice based on their experience on what to see in the area. There was a spa tub in the room to take a bubble bath.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charley_of_balding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I had the delightful pleasure of staying at George Washington Inn earlier this month. From the moment we arrived, we were blown away by the idyllic setting, the superb facilities and the outstanding service. Photo opportunities abounded - we managed to catch a sighting of a doe and her young one at sunset. The structure itself is very impressive, and the location could not be more perfect. The layout of the rooms means guests are treated to stunning views of the Olympic mountains to the south AND the sea to the north. We stayed in the Mount Vernon Room which was luxurious to say the least, and we slept like babies on a remarkably comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious, and we appreciated the chance to linger and visit in the dining area while gazing at the spectacular sea view. All of this made for a truly blissful getaway, and we will definitely be looking for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivalaVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here earlier this month, and we just hated to leave. After three nights, it felt just like home to us. It is one of the most impressive B&B's we have ever stayed at. I don't know where to begin.

The facility is only a few years old, and is simply magnificent. Starting with the long driveway lined with lavender and white fencing, it is a grand approach to an edifice that is a 100% replica of George Washington's Mount Vernon home (on the outside). The elegant interior is meticulously maintained, but still warm and inviting. The view of the Straits of Juan de Fuca can be mesmerizing from the 2nd floor balcony.

Our room (not one of the suites) was very spacious, and the bathroom about as big as I have ever seen. Bed was outstanding, and the sheets soft and silky. Breakfast, served on the lower enclosed porch overlooking the straits, was scrumptious every day -- although the Blackberry French Toast on the last morning was simply superb.

But beyond all of that are the wonderful owners, Dan & Janet -- really nice people who were there at every turn to make our stay a pleasant one. Case in point: after 10 days on the road at restaurants for dinner, we decided to get a to-go order from Wendy's and have a simple meal back at GWI on the breakfast porch in peace and quiet -- which we did. We no sooner sat down, and there was Dan to offer us silverware and something to drink (coffee/tea/soda).

I just wish we didn't live so far away in St. Louis. I'm jealous of all you northwest residents. We'd go back in a heartbeat -- and hopefully will again.

Thank you for the outstanding hospitality, Dan & Janet.

Folks, you can stop your research for the best B&B place to stay in the Port Angeles area -- you just found it! It would be hard to get any better than this.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
12.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,106 reviews
14.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
9.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
1.1 km away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
255 reviews
1.0 km away
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
#3 of 14 in Port Angeles
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington Inn

Property: George Washington Inn
Address: 939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362-8499
Region: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price range (per night): $248 - $502
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B&B in "Best of the Peninsula" every year since 2013, George Washington Inn was built as a replica of George Washington's mansion on a lavender farm near he Olympic National Park. This oceanfront inn has 5 spacious rooms with stunning mountain views and overlooks the Strait of Juan de Fuca from a high bluff between Sequim and Port Angeles, WA. Take a short drive or ferry ride from Seattle, Vancouver or Victoria and you can enjoy fine lodging and find nature at its best. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing