We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing guide”
Review of Olympic Hiking Co.

Olympic Hiking Co.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Olympic Hiking Co. provides guided hiking tours and trailhead shuttle services throughout Olympic National Park. We offer daily tours to Hurricane Ridge from 12:30 PM - 4:30 PM from Downtown Port Angeles. We also lead customizable private hiking tours throughout the top destinations in Olympic National Park, including Lake Crescent, Sol Duc Falls, the Hoh Rain Forest, Cape Flattery Trail, and Pacific Coast. Additionally, we offer daily trailhead shuttle services on the Olympic Wilderness Coast with custom shuttle options as well. Olympic Hiking Co. is a commercially authorized tour operator in Olympic National Park, proudly in business since 2016.
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Tommy is an amazing guide! My husband and I were visiting Colettes bed and breakfast (which is stunning!), and Tommy was our guide for an all day hike. We went to 3 locations and Tommy was super knowledgeable about the history and vegetation. He made it very fun and kept a good pace for our group. He took us to see the salmon cascades and we were so fortunate to see the rare exhibit of the salmon "jumping" upstream. I highly recommend Tommy and Olympic Hiking!

Thank mdelomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you so much! It was great exploring with you all! We were really fortunate to see the Salmon leaping upstream and have that warm sunshine on Rialto Beach. Hope to see you two back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"seater van"
in 2 reviews
"coho ferry"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful vistas"
in 2 reviews
"lake crescent"
in 6 reviews
"hurricane ridge"
in 15 reviews
"hoh rainforest"
in 3 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"olympic national park"
in 5 reviews
"rialto beach"
in 2 reviews
"sol duc"
in 2 reviews
"marymere falls"
in 2 reviews
"tommy"
in 17 reviews
"peninsula"
in 11 reviews
"camera"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"dock"
in 4 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Jessie picked me up at the Coho terminal along with another two hiking enthusiasts. Jessie was a friendly and knowledgeable tour guide who was able to share her knowledge and environmental skills with all three of us. The trails were gentle and easily managed for all mobility levels.
What a perfect day to explore the jewel of the Pacific Northwest!

Thank rotarycruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks for sharing! Glad to hear you had an enjoyable time at the Hoh Rain Forest and Pacific Coast at Ruby Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Our day trip to Olympic National Park began with beautiful city views on a ferry ride from Seattle to Bainbridge Island . Tommy was a most accommodating guide . He was knowledgeable about the area and clearly loves his job ! The hike to Hurricane Ridge was breathtaking in every direction . Lunch with a view was a nice break before heading to Lake Crescent and our hike through a rain forest to Marymere Falls. Bring sturdy shoes , layers of clothing for weather changes and your camera ! The diversity of this park is unparalleled so I would spend at least a few days but if you have only one day to spend , book this trip with Olympic Hiking Company !

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks so much, Karen! I really appreciate the positive review and sharing those helpful details. Hope to see you and Marie back again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We carved out a day of our vacation to take the tour to Lake Crescent and Marymere Falls while spending a week in Vancouver. Being from Florida, mountains are foreign to me...

Our guide, Jessie, was waiting for us at the dock after we got off the MV Coho from Victoria. From there we were shuttled up to the lake while enjoying the scenic drive with Jessie answering all of our questions about what we saw around us.

Once we arrived, we took some time to enjoy the view of the lake before spending 30 minutes eating lunch at the Lake Crescent Lodge. I'd recommend eating beforehand or bringing a packed lunch to maximize your time, but the food was good.

After lunch, we embarked on the trail up to Marymere Falls. As we went, Jessie answered all of our questions, gave us a bit of a history and geographical lesson, and offered additional nuggets of information as we passed interesting flora and fauna. The majority of the trail is next to a creek and there are plenty of places to stop and take in the sights and to snap some photographs. Jessie was more than willing to snap a picture of us under the falls and wherever else we requested. The trail was easy enough for two flatlanders.

We spent around 2-2.5 hours on the trail to and from the falls before enjoying the final hour at the lake. We decided to get our feet wet in the crystal clear water before walking another trail back to the lodge and eventually heading back to the port.

My wife and I were lucky to be the only two on the tour for the day, but they can accommodate up to ten. I would absolutely recommend the Lake Crescent and Marymere Falls tour as it's the closest to Port Angeles and gives you the most time to enjoy the scenario at your own pace.

The best recommendation I can give is that it took us 7.5 hours of public transportation to get to Port Angeles from downtown Vancouver and another 7.5 hours back, but it was worth the trek - thanks to our guide and the sights themselves.

Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks so much for the positive review and sharing such helpful details and feedback! Hope to have you two back again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We went on an amazing 3 day adventure of Olympic National Park with Olympic Hiking Co. Our guide Tommy, is a one-of-a-kind guide. We provided a list of places we wanted to see and he planned and coordinated the adventure to perfection. His love for Olympic and the state of Washington added a special touch to the experience. Other companies/guides will merely transport you and show you around. Olympic Hiking Co. on the other hand,does more than that. Tommy ensured that we had an awesome time by personalizing the tour to our likes and needs. We had so much fun experiencing different climates and topography on the same day! One of my favorite memories is the hike to hole in the wall. We couldn't have seen nor experience that part of Olympic the way we did without Tommy's efforts.

The park is now one of my favorite parks and I've got Olympic Hiking Co. to thank for such a magical experience.

1  Thank Gabby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Wow, thank you so much for the positive review, Gabby. I'm so happy you three enjoyed the trip so much and it was such an enjoyable experience for me to build the itinerary and guide you all on the 3-day adventure. Kind words and encouragement like that continues to build my passion to showcase this area to wonderful people like you all! Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympic Hiking Co. also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Hiking Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing