We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Tripping Hurricane Ridge from Victoria via Coho Ferry”
Review of Olympic Hiking Co.

Olympic Hiking Co.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Olympic Hiking Co. provides guided hiking tours and trailhead shuttle services throughout Olympic National Park. We offer daily tours to Hurricane Ridge from 12:30 PM - 4:30 PM from Downtown Port Angeles. We also lead customizable private hiking tours throughout the top destinations in Olympic National Park, including Lake Crescent, Sol Duc Falls, the Hoh Rain Forest, Cape Flattery Trail, and Pacific Coast. Additionally, we offer daily trailhead shuttle services on the Olympic Wilderness Coast with custom shuttle options as well. Olympic Hiking Co. is a commercially authorized tour operator in Olympic National Park, proudly in business since 2016.
Reviewed 18 August 2017

as I have been to the beautiful Olympic national park Hurricane Ridge several times over the last decades, thought it was time for a re-run. Enlisted the company of a good friend Jim H and we caught the 13:30 boat to PA to meet up with the Hurricane Ridge tour van.
Typical great ride on the Coho, which is an example of keeping a great design in service far beyond what BC Ferries thought possible, even though they are almost the same design as the original BC Ferry which were laid out by P.H.Spaulding NA out of Seattle.

We were greeted by Jessie our driver/guide at the exit to PA, directed to the 7 passenger van across the street then headed up the hill to the Park centre. Trying hard to rain but the clouds cleared and we had beautiful vistas and perfect walking temperatures guided by Jessie who did a great job of informing us about the sights.

The food at the Centre is slow and barely edible IMHO, glad we brought our own lunches.
Walked till 3:00 rebounded the van, rolled down hill with one 15 min sightseeing stop for a different view of PA below us.

Got to the Ferry lot at 4:30, headed for a quick beer at the restaurant nearby and got in line to process customs homeward bound at 5:30 on the minute.

Well worth the cost of the round trip package through Coho Ferries, book online pickup your package at the ticket wicket before boarding in Victoria.

Thank BRENT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for sharing the positive review, Brent. Glad to hear those clouds broke open for you at Hurricane Ridge and you enjoyed your visit/hike with our guide Jessie. Hope to have you back again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"seater van"
in 2 reviews
"coho ferry"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful vistas"
in 2 reviews
"lake crescent"
in 6 reviews
"hurricane ridge"
in 15 reviews
"hoh rainforest"
in 3 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"olympic national park"
in 5 reviews
"rialto beach"
in 2 reviews
"sol duc"
in 2 reviews
"marymere falls"
in 2 reviews
"tommy"
in 17 reviews
"peninsula"
in 11 reviews
"camera"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"dock"
in 4 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Went on the coho ferry from Victoria and did the Hurricane ridge tour with the Olympic Hiking co. It was a great way to spend the day and the views from the Hurricane ridge visitor centre were stunning. I wish I could go back again and hike the old trails on the ridge. Our guide Jessie was really good and she knew a lot about the area.

1  Thank AKK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for sharing your feedback and for the positive review! So glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Hurricane Ridge with Jessie. Hope to have you back again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Having arrived from Victoria to Port Angeles to do a tour of Hurricane Ridge, I was met by the guide Jessie, who told me that due to the smoke from the BC wildfires the visibility from atop Hurricane Ridge was so low as to make it pointless to go there. I was also the only person booked on to the tour for that day. Thankfully, she quickly came up with an alternative plan for the day and we had a lovely trip to Lake Crescent, Marymere Falls, Madison Falls and the Elwha River.

Having once been a tour guide myself, I felt that Jessie was an excellent guide - friendly, accomodating and extremely knowledgable about the natural environment and flora and fauna of the region. Thanks again for a great day!

Thank Ronan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for the positive review! Those BC wildfires have certainly had an impact on our tours/visibility, so we're really glad you enjoyed your day of hiking and sightseeing at Lake Crescent and the Elwha Valley as an alternative. We are lucky to have Jessie as one of our guides this year and thank you for sharing such positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Such a thrill to go from Victoria to the real Olympic mountains without driving---in less than 3 hours---so happily.

We booked the package through Coho Ferries as walk ons. $125 USA.

We were at Hurricane Ridge by 1:15. Jessie picked us up efficiently from the dock in Port Angeles in a ten seater van. She was a good driver and our van was full of nice people. Jessie knew her stuff.

The ability to get to wildness mountain terrain so quickly from the city was noteworthy. Who wants to go through Vancouver now to get to mountains.

Good luck Tommy Farris. I hope seniors tours from victoria contract with you for weeks to come. Bravo.

Thanks

1  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thanks so much for the positive review, Barbara! We are very excited to be able to share our backyard and the Olympic Mountains with our wonderful neighbors across the water in Victoria and Vancouver Island overall. It is amazing how quickly you can get from sea-level in Port Angeles into the alpines at 5,000 feet+ elevation at Hurricane Ridge. Jessie is a great member of our team, so thank you for the kind remarks. Hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

What a great way to spend the day without breaking the bank. The park is gorgeous and the views from Hurricane ridge are amazing! I was the only one who had booked that day (July 4th) so I had my own personalized tour with Jessie. She was very knowledgeable and pointed out a lot of the wild flowers that grow in the area. I will definitely be coming to do Sol Duc!

Thank LizzyP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy F, Owner at Olympic Hiking Co., responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thanks for the review! We were so happy to have you as our July 4th client for the day! Always love being able to take out smaller groups in Olympic NP. We look forward to your return, Sol Duc Falls is a beauty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympic Hiking Co. also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Hiking Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing