We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was a nice family motel with the hot pools conveniently right across the road. You must walk to the Glacier while here, it's breathtaking!

Room Tip: All rooms seem comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    174
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
112
258
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Ludlow, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Spacious and pleasant with modern decor and well-equipped kitchenette. In a quiet area convenient to town. Friendly and helful info by Anna at check-in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

It's hard to describe the beauty of Franz Joseph and 58 on Cron frames this beauty from your front door. A lovely spot with large,clean,well-equipped rooms. The staff could not have been more helpful. On awakening to rain before our track to franz Joseph glacier the staff advised borrowing one of the many umbrellas available from the office. A godsend as we were still able to walk to the glacier face even in driving rain. The guests' laundry proved very useful. There was enough cooking utensils for us to cook our own fish for tea with salad from the 4square in the town and wash it down with a bottle of New Zealand wine!! a lovely stay!!
Brian

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Right next to the hot pools,room very clean.The heater came in handy to dry off wet clothes and shoes as well as keeping us warm and cosy during a snow storm.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CARMODY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I've not had this happen before, but after reading the reviews, I expected a bit more. I planned our trip over 6 months ago, so the reviews were as glowing then as they seem to be now. Anna was a gracious greeter and provided helpful tips (the coupon for Alice Mays being our favorite :)). The furniture was modern (Ikea-style) and the bed fine. The room, though seemingly clean, had a bit of an odor to it. We kept windows as open as possible, but it was a rainy, cool night, and didn't seem to help. Perhaps I had raised expectations and since we were only in Franz Josef one night, we have nothing to compare it to, but I was hoping to be able to give the same glowing reviews we read.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.3 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
Price range (per night): $100 - $182
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing