We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providenciales
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We have just spent 1 night here and are a bit surprised by some of the negative comments...

The property is a little out of town ( 4 mins drive) and so you do need a car - but all the B&B's we have stayed in have been and a lot way further out than this...our room was spotless and comfortable with no funny smells but a great view of the local wildlife.

Yes we were summoned in to the kitchen for coffee on arrival and were grilled as to our plans this took nearly an hour- we were then given a HUGE amount of information about where to go to eat, trips, walks, maps, etc etc - we did the glowworms after dinner on Karen's suggestion and not only was this free but fun... yes she can seem a little overpowering but it is all meant in a helpful manner - she wants you to get the most out of your holiday - so take the advice in the spirit it is intended and you will find it invaluable - trust me we have stayed in more expensive places where the hosts were way more obtrusive - take it as part of the rich tapestry of experience from staying in B&B's.

The breakfast is excellent......continental or full cooked.....

We would recommend this as a place to stay...

Room Tip: If you have pre booked a heli tour of the glaciers check in with them as soon as you get to town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubastephb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    34
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
119
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The place is a find given Fox is lesser populated compared to Franz Joseph. We were looking for a reasonable priced place to stay with breakfast and this fit the bill (NZ$370 for 2 nights).

A very gracious host who knows NZ well considering that she has driven a bus for a while in the country. She makes a really good and filling breakfast, we didnt even feel like stopping for lunch afterwards. Advantage of the B&B is that you meet the other people who are also travelling the country and can swap stories.

She was able to help us set up the helicopter ride to the glacier, there was one in her garage (we didnt use that one but u get what i mean). She suggested the walks that we could do and gave us a map for both Franz and Fox so we could decide.

We were staying in the independent room which also had a kitchenette if needed. The room was spacious but the rain beating down does tend to sound a little spooky. We found out that its better when it rains as at least you can see the glacier else the clouds obstruct the view and you cant fly up to it either in that case. We were lucky to catch a glimpse of the glacier from outside the door while heading to the house for breakfast.

You can take a walk to Lake Matheson and take pics of the perfect reflection , sadly we couldnt because of the weather. Its a 20min walk to the town center or short drive which has a restaurant and a pub. We came late so went to the pub for a bite. Has a gas station and a grocery store where you can pick up sandwiches for the road.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderin_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

we stayed here for one night- had arrived in the afternoon with the intention to walk on the glacier the next morning and head to Greymouth for an overnight stop before crossing south Island to Christchurch. We arrived in rain however which never stopped and, although the glacier walk was still happening, we decided against it as it would have been hard work and wouldn't be seeing it at its best. And just left next morning straight for Christchurch (which was just as well as the roads became impassable later on that day!) The hostess was very helpful in sorting "on hold" tickets for us to go glacier walking the next day which we were given until an hour before the walk started to cancel. Instead we enjoyed a very hearty breakfast. The B&B is a short drive to beautiful Lake Matheson- we went the afternoon we arrived but again couldn't see it at its best. Mount Cook reflected in its waters were not for us to see (we couldn't see Mount Cook!) but it was a pleasant 1.5 hour walk all the same if you go prepared for a wet weather walk.
Our room was enormous overlooked acres of green- and we had a brilliant night's sleep. A little out of "town" but there isn't really much of a town- you certainly don't need to be right in the centre of it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This B&B is in a great location with great views of the surrounding countryside. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated - very comfortable. The hostess is warm and welcoming and spends time with guests explaining the various activities and sights in the area. Breakfast is substantial and a great start to the day. This B&B is a couple of kms from the town so a car is essential.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Wan_Tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights and loved it. Karen is a wonderful host. Very knowledgeable and cooks up a great breakfast.

Excellent views from the B&B and we were more than satisfied with the standard of accommodation and overall it was good value for money.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SussexbySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
2.1 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
1.0 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
17.8 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
400 reviews
1.6 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
2.2 km away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price range (per night): $169 - $173
Hotel Class:1 star — Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This modern country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing