We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean motel and very quiety”
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This motel is about 2km out of the town but worth the visit. Very clean, bed was decent, had a good sleep. The owner Marlene was very informative and helpful. Will recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed for one night on 5th Jan 2012 on our way down the west coast - selected and booked on the net and wasn't disappointed - Marlene & Alan were the perfect hosts - seems they have invested in extending the hotel and have gone for quality - the rooms were superbly appointed - the bathrooms first class with power showers - carpets & general decor were all of excellent quality. Best of all was the restaurant - Marlene informed us that she had stepped back from the kitchen and with the expansion they had appointed a full time chef - & he's good - I'm fussy and like quality food - sometimes paying more than my wife thinks reasonable for food - the menu here is quite limited with four or five main course options - each one prepared and delivered to a very high standard which I think is much better than doing a wide range of pre-packed rubbish - I had probably one of the best steaks I have ever eaten - cooked to perfection as I ordered it - seriously as good as Michelin star restaurant - maybe a one-off I can't comment but our experience was excellent all round.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_n_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I am almost reluctant writing this review especially when I see what the owner replies on bad reviews but here you go.
Plus: very good space room and bathroom, clean and good service (the woman at the reception was very nice). Nothing to complain really. We did have a room with view but not sure this is necessary (at least not for us) but again appreciable.
Minus: potentially a bit far from center compared to other hotels/ motels but if you have a car this is not an issue at all (only 5 minutes drive) and this is close to lake matheson). Very quiet, almost too much? We have nothing to say against the place but we just wondered how expensive it was compared to other places. We booked based on the reviews and because it was our honeymoon we didn't care about the price but looking around we realized that most places were full so we did wonder if we could have found similar for cheaper... So I would probably recommend investigating. It is true that the cooler does not really work but no big deal. We did not try breakfast as we found cheaper places in the center... Having said that, maybe the portion were much bigger at the hotel.
Overall, a very good place but potentially a but pricy.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AdamandElodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Fantastic 20 room hotel that is kept in amazing order. Marlene knows her stuff, she met us on arrival, assisted with dinner and breakfast choices, assisted when we wanted ice etc. We also asked for assist ace when organizing a helicopter ride, which resulted in a discmt from the operator and an upgrade on the day.

The rooms are beautifully decked out and cleaned very professionally.

Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: It's locate halfway between Lake Mathesion and town, it's worth being out of town a bit (onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnr2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I will admit to feeling a little apprehensive on arriving at the High Peaks Hotel. It was not what I was expecting from viewing the website. It was very quiet. The car park seemed rather in need of maintenance. However my first impressions were misleading and we had a comfortable and pleasent stay at the High Peaks and consider it extremely good value for money.

Fox Glacier is a reasonably small place - in some ways with an Austrian Alpine appearance. The location of the High Peaks Hotel was convenient in that it was a 2 minute drive off the main SH6 basically half way between Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson which is a "MUST DO" - a beautiful lake providing a fantastic walk.

We liked our room. It was clean, quiet, well-appointed with a very comfortable bed and plenty of space. The view of Mount Cook was tremendous and provided a outstanding backdrop to our breakfast which was simple and well cooked even if lacking in choice. It was obvious that we had visited at a very quiet period but we appreciated the friendly and welcoming nature of Marlene and Alan.

Our main reason for visiting Fox Glacier was to take the helicopter flight and glacier landing. This we did and enjoyed immensely and the High Peaks was a convenient and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.7 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 11 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
17.2 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,456 reviews
1.7 km away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.8 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.7 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 11 in Fox Glacier
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: $155 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing