We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice clean motel and very quiety” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Peaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Peaks Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice clean motel and very quiety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This motel is about 2km out of the town but worth the visit. Very clean, bed was decent, had a good sleep. The owner Marlene was very informative and helpful. Will recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    56
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
109
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed for one night on 5th Jan 2012 on our way down the west coast - selected and booked on the net and wasn't disappointed - Marlene & Alan were the perfect hosts - seems they have invested in extending the hotel and have gone for quality - the rooms were superbly appointed - the bathrooms first class with power showers - carpets & general decor were all of excellent quality. Best of all was the restaurant - Marlene informed us that she had stepped back from the kitchen and with the expansion they had appointed a full time chef - & he's good - I'm fussy and like quality food - sometimes paying more than my wife thinks reasonable for food - the menu here is quite limited with four or five main course options - each one prepared and delivered to a very high standard which I think is much better than doing a wide range of pre-packed rubbish - I had probably one of the best steaks I have ever eaten - cooked to perfection as I ordered it - seriously as good as Michelin star restaurant - maybe a one-off I can't comment but our experience was excellent all round.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_n_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I am almost reluctant writing this review especially when I see what the owner replies on bad reviews but here you go.
Plus: very good space room and bathroom, clean and good service (the woman at the reception was very nice). Nothing to complain really. We did have a room with view but not sure this is necessary (at least not for us) but again appreciable.
Minus: potentially a bit far from center compared to other hotels/ motels but if you have a car this is not an issue at all (only 5 minutes drive) and this is close to lake matheson). Very quiet, almost too much? We have nothing to say against the place but we just wondered how expensive it was compared to other places. We booked based on the reviews and because it was our honeymoon we didn't care about the price but looking around we realized that most places were full so we did wonder if we could have found similar for cheaper... So I would probably recommend investigating. It is true that the cooler does not really work but no big deal. We did not try breakfast as we found cheaper places in the center... Having said that, maybe the portion were much bigger at the hotel.
Overall, a very good place but potentially a but pricy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdamandElodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Fantastic 20 room hotel that is kept in amazing order. Marlene knows her stuff, she met us on arrival, assisted with dinner and breakfast choices, assisted when we wanted ice etc. We also asked for assist ace when organizing a helicopter ride, which resulted in a discmt from the operator and an upgrade on the day.

The rooms are beautifully decked out and cleaned very professionally.

Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: It's locate halfway between Lake Mathesion and town, it's worth being out of town a bit (onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnr2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I will admit to feeling a little apprehensive on arriving at the High Peaks Hotel. It was not what I was expecting from viewing the website. It was very quiet. The car park seemed rather in need of maintenance. However my first impressions were misleading and we had a comfortable and pleasent stay at the High Peaks and consider it extremely good value for money.

Fox Glacier is a reasonably small place - in some ways with an Austrian Alpine appearance. The location of the High Peaks Hotel was convenient in that it was a 2 minute drive off the main SH6 basically half way between Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson which is a "MUST DO" - a beautiful lake providing a fantastic walk.

We liked our room. It was clean, quiet, well-appointed with a very comfortable bed and plenty of space. The view of Mount Cook was tremendous and provided a outstanding backdrop to our breakfast which was simple and well cooked even if lacking in choice. It was obvious that we had visited at a very quiet period but we appreciated the friendly and welcoming nature of Marlene and Alan.

Our main reason for visiting Fox Glacier was to take the helicopter flight and glacier landing. This we did and enjoyed immensely and the High Peaks was a convenient and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.7 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
17.1 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.7 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.3 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Hotel

Property: High Peaks Hotel
Address: 167 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly High Peaks Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price range (per night): $178 - $278
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Peaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Peaks is a modern hotel offering comfortable, relaxed accommodation in Fox Glacier, on the West Coast of New Zealand's South Island. Set in a quiet, rural location, High Peaks provides you an ideal setting to enjoy some of New Zealand's most spectacular scenery. The hotel is perfectly located as a base to explore the West Coast's glacier country and Lake Matheson, one of our local icons is only a hop skip and jump away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your High Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing