We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique B&B”
Review of Misty Peaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misty Peaks
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Boutique B&B”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a great couple of nights at Misty Peaks, Lea and Dave were brilliant hosts, warm and friendly, plenty of local knowledge, and Dave is a fine cook. Our room was spacious, the location is superb with fantastic views of the mountains. We were also treated to some great sunsets!

We had 2 nights in Fox, and visited both Fox and Franz Joseph glaciers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    53
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
210
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Great B&B perfectly situated if you want to discover the Fox Glacier region. Dinner was good. Only min point was the price for the stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Misty Peaks is an upmarket B&B in Fox with a great Kiwi host called Dave. From the moment we arrived, when he made us a welcome cup of tea, to the time we left when he helped us quickly on our way to catch the TranzAlpinea train, he could not do enough for us. The unexpected treat was ' dinner at Dave's ' where he offers guests the option of dining in, with a very good menu of entrées, mains and desserts plus a good wine selection. Dinner is preceded by a sociable glass of wine on the house. All the B&B guests who were staying opted for dinner and we all had a great evening. The bedrooms and lounge area are immaculate. If you are thinking of staying - and eating - in the Fox area, Misty Peaks is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark-atTheDownHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the beautiful home of Lea and Dave. They could not have been more welcoming. The accommodation was first class and so was the breakfast. We would have liked to stay longer but time did not allow. Circumstances did not allow us to try the dinner but Iwe are sure it would have been as good as the breakfast. Staying in boutique B&Bs is much better than staying hotels. We would definitely come back if we had the chance. Thank you Lea and Dave.

Room Tip: Aall rooms had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This B&B is situated close to the town centre but far away enough to not hear any late night pub noises.

Part of what I like to do when travelling is to sample the local food. The great thing about Misty Peaks is that Dave and Lea cook dinner using local produce and ingredients. The dinner is a communal dining experience. So if you dont like meeting new people or would feel uncomfortable eating with strangers, do not go to dinner. If you do enjoy meeting new people, then dinner is great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemiNumerical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
0.6 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
16.6 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
400 reviews
0.6 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Property: Misty Peaks
Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price range (per night): $172 - $307
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. A complimentary glass of wine and a New Zealand cheese board is offered at 6.30 PM. Continental and cooked breakfast served in the Dining Room. We look forward to having you stay in our home, Lea Bentley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing