We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
USD 75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
USD 69
USD 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
USD 63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mount Cook View Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
USD 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
140
134
57
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
134
57
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightlake mathesonmt cooknew zealandrooms are modernhot watersouth islandfantastic viewsclose to townsmall kitchenettetwo nightsviews of the mountainsfresh milkshort drivethe main roadgood sizespa bath
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

The view from our room was lovely and the gentleman who greeted us at reception was warm and welcoming but they are the only compliments I can give this place. The room was dated, the wifi was very slow, the tv only had free to air television and the shower had no pressure at all. Put all of the latter aside - small issues I can ignore, however the room had a hideous smell to it (which I suspect was coming from the kitchen drain - not sure) we tried opening the windows and doors, even a nicely scented candle didn’t do the trick. Each time we returned to the room the smell was overwhelming. I didn’t mention this to reception as after going through some previous trip advisor reviews I discovered others had had the same experience and figured there was probably nothing they could do to fix. We stayed for 2 nights and I’m very glad we didn’t stay any longer.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this very comfortable motel. We were welcomed upon arrival and shown on a map all of the highlights of the area. Fresh milk, rather than UHT, was provided for use in the complimentary tea and coffee. Our room had a small stove with 2 elements enabling us to purchase dinner provisions on both nights and cook in the room. The room itself was very comfortable with an ensuite, heated towel rail and heaters in the bedroom and bathroom. There is an door that opens to a small outside sitting area and Fox glacier is easily seen from the room. The motel is located only a few minutes drive from the main town and also from Lake Matheson. As it’s off the main road it was a quiet stay. The price was reasonable for what is a prime tourist area.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mrsincranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived on Census night and educated the Chinese owner on census requirements. Unfortunately Fox Glacier access was closed but we were well positioned to view and walk around Lake Matheson which was memorable in spite of the rainy conditions. Our unit was OK with adequate facilities and reasonable comfort, although with limited competition the pricing was higher than usual for this standard.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our tour of New Zealand. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful young man who explained about the area and activities to do there. As we were only staying one night and the mountains were covered in mist we just decided to eat in the very small town and then relax.
The room was adequate, dated and with a terrible smell, couldn't decide what it was but it wasn't good. The over the bath shower was awful with hardly any pressure at all.
WiFi was free but wasn't very strong and kept dropping out.
In the morning the clouds had cleared and we could just see the top of the glacier.
Ok to stay for one night but not for any longer.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunlady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Average motel with views of the mountains, which would have been nice if there weren't a cyclone at the time. Unfortunately what wasn't nice was the price we paid for this place. £200. I do understand the concept of supply and demand, but a 'motel' sort of implies that you can turn up and get a room. Not at these prices you wouldn't. probably better off sleeping in your car...

Weirdly they left a bottle of cheap red wine in the room and kept saying it was their gift to us. We arrived late at night and didn't have the time/inclination to drink it so left it there, rather than seeming generous it was just a bit odd. Felt more like a bribe/peace offering for the extortionate room rate...

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetmotellers, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you for your reviews. Surprised what you commented on the offered wine.The wine we offered to you was just a simply appreciation from us on that day and it had not to be a fancy selection wine which as you said it's a motel where you stayed. And i remembered you called to us regarding to your late check in process and i mentioned that wine offered on phone as well. The room cost could be highly affected during the market demands and could be similar to other industries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews