We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
142
137
59
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
137
59
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night lake matheson mount cook new zealand rooms are modern water pressure fantastic views south island spa room views of the mountains close to town two nights dvd player the main road fresh milk great accommodation helicopter flight
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

The view from our room was lovely and the gentleman who greeted us at reception was warm and welcoming but they are the only compliments I can give this place. The room was dated, the wifi was very slow, the tv only had free to air television and the shower had no pressure at all. Put all of the latter aside - small issues I can ignore, however the room had a hideous smell to it (which I suspect was coming from the kitchen drain - not sure) we tried opening the windows and doors, even a nicely scented candle didn’t do the trick. Each time we returned to the room the smell was overwhelming. I didn’t mention this to reception as after going through some previous trip advisor reviews I discovered others had had the same experience and figured there was probably nothing they could do to fix. We stayed for 2 nights and I’m very glad we didn’t stay any longer.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this very comfortable motel. We were welcomed upon arrival and shown on a map all of the highlights of the area. Fresh milk, rather than UHT, was provided for use in the complimentary tea and coffee. Our room had a small stove with 2 elements enabling us to purchase dinner provisions on both nights and cook in the room. The room itself was very comfortable with an ensuite, heated towel rail and heaters in the bedroom and bathroom. There is an door that opens to a small outside sitting area and Fox glacier is easily seen from the room. The motel is located only a few minutes drive from the main town and also from Lake Matheson. As it’s off the main road it was a quiet stay. The price was reasonable for what is a prime tourist area.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mrsincranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived on Census night and educated the Chinese owner on census requirements. Unfortunately Fox Glacier access was closed but we were well positioned to view and walk around Lake Matheson which was memorable in spite of the rainy conditions. Our unit was OK with adequate facilities and reasonable comfort, although with limited competition the pricing was higher than usual for this standard.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our tour of New Zealand. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful young man who explained about the area and activities to do there. As we were only staying one night and the mountains were covered in mist we just decided to eat in the very small town and then relax.
The room was adequate, dated and with a terrible smell, couldn't decide what it was but it wasn't good. The over the bath shower was awful with hardly any pressure at all.
WiFi was free but wasn't very strong and kept dropping out.
In the morning the clouds had cleared and we could just see the top of the glacier.
Ok to stay for one night but not for any longer.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sunlady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Average motel with views of the mountains, which would have been nice if there weren't a cyclone at the time. Unfortunately what wasn't nice was the price we paid for this place. £200. I do understand the concept of supply and demand, but a 'motel' sort of implies that you can turn up and get a room. Not at these prices you wouldn't. probably better off sleeping in your car...

Weirdly they left a bottle of cheap red wine in the room and kept saying it was their gift to us. We arrived late at night and didn't have the time/inclination to drink it so left it there, rather than seeming generous it was just a bit odd. Felt more like a bribe/peace offering for the extortionate room rate...

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 8AlexanderM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetmotellers, Manager at Sunset Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you for your reviews. Surprised what you commented on the offered wine.The wine we offered to you was just a simply appreciation from us on that day and it had not to be a fancy selection wine which as you said it's a motel where you stayed. And i remembered you called to us regarding to your late check in process and i mentioned that wine offered on phone as well. The room cost could be highly affected during the market demands and could be similar to other industries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews