We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
75
110
35
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
110
35
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mt cook one night cooking facilities quiet location free wifi gavin motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2023 via mobile

Where do I start.
1. Hotel is in dire need of upgrading as in 1970's time warp.
2. Handful of terrestrial TV channels.
3.No free WiFi which is a must these day's.
4. Wasn't flexible re a non travelling colleague who got the big C. This was despite other properties contacted who were happy to modify our booking.
Pricing was OTP for what was offered as well.
This coupled with a major thunderstorm overnight which led to power failure didn't add to our mood.
As you can see not overly impressed and I've stayed in plenty of motels over the years.

Room tip: Up to you but I'll never go back
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank toddytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2022

we enjoyed our one night in an executive studio. The bathrooms are very well fitted out with great hot water and good pressure.
Room has a fridge and cooking facilities with lovely stainless steel sink.
the property is in a quiet location - hear the birds chirping in the morning and there is a lovely view to Mt Cook.
Gavin was an amazing host - nothing was too much trouble.

Room tip: Exec Studio best
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morgan, Owner at Mount Cook View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2022

Thank you Jeff, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mt Cook View Motel.
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2021

We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome. We had a choice of rooms and we chose the King studio. It was very comfortable. We cooked in the unit and there were just enough sufficient items to use for our cooking. A great location overlooking farmland. It would have been a nice walk to town, except it was raining. (we went for a short walk anyway along the footpath).

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VickiBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

Comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price. We had the executive room with a nice new bathroom. The rooms are spacious. Heating is an in room heater that was adequate. It is a very short dive to restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 714stevem714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2020

We had a warm welcome to Motel and given a map to explore the town. Motel was very roomy and had everything we needed to make our stay great. Quiet location with beautiful view of Mt Cook. A short drive from town. Internet was easy to connect to.

Room tip: Beautiful Views of Mt Cook
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews