We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an experience...well worth the money”

Glacier Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 172.28*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Helicopter Flight with Snow Landing
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20 minutes to 40 minutes. Charter flights are available and can vary from 20 minutes to several hours duration. Flights depart from Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Our flights encompass the Mount Cook National Park, and both Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Glacier landings are our specialty. Our helicopter flights allow people with limited time to “get away from it all” and experience area of New Zealand’s wilderness renowned for its outstanding natural beauty.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“What an experience...well worth the money”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My girlfriend and I did a Fox Glacier and Mt Cook flight with a snow landing (Flight Tour 304). We flew up the southern side of Fox then virtually all around Mt Cook (the website just said the West face but we did so much more). We then flew around several other peaks namely Mt Tasman and then landed on the neve of Fox. Incredible weather helped make this a stunning experience but also the pilot was extremely informative and made the experience all the more amazing. Well done Glacier Helicopters. Truly memorable and well worth the money.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    32
    4
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

If the one thing you do in Fox Glacier is the helicopter flight you won't be disappointed. We took the flight over Fox Glacier and Mt Cook (with a landing)but had Franz Josef thrown in too. If you have a clear day go early in the morning. Our pilot Richard was able give us lots of great information abc took great photos. Fantastic experience!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great way to experience the Glacier”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

So glad we chose the heli-hike over a fly over of the Fox Glacier. The helicopter flight in showed you how huge the glacier was, but it wasn't until you were actually walking on it and experiencing it from eye-level, were you really impressed with its magnitude. Our guide was very informative and I liked the fact that Glacier Helicopters were the only ones that landed there, making it a lot more intimate with the feeling of you exploring it all for yourself. Being pregnant I was worried about the hike, but the company provided proper boots and crampons and the hike wasn't as taxing as I expected. Lots of time to stop and enjoy the various formations and view.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SueandTimP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience..”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Had booked to go to Fox Glacier and Mt Cook but the weather was not ideal on Mt Cook so did the two glaciers and landed on Fox- brilliant experience, great views and very skilled flying by the pilot.. Costs a bit but well worth it. Heli-hike would also probably be worth doing. How he got photos from the trip to us on landing at the helipad, I don't know- very impressed all round!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too good to be true!”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Best thing I have ever done - highly recommend it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaylene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glacier Helicopters also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing