We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
31
77
100
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
77
100
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was large buffet dinner lots of choice bus tour aat kings tour good nights sleep good size reception staff an upgrade first floor cooked breakfast next morning short stay overnight stay local pub south island small town
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We stayed one night. Our room was dated but comfortable and clean, had what we needed. Nice buffet but we liked dining outside as inside the restaurant was a bit stuffy on our warm Feb night and noisy with coach tours. The food offered a good selection of meat, fish, salads and roast veges, Asian plus desserts. Our breakfast the next morning was nice - cereal, fruit, pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, toast etc. They only had soy milk as an option for non-diary though. Overall a nice stay and we enjoyed taking a couple of fun photos in the garden. Staff were great!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, General Manager at Heritage Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thanks for your online review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Stayed for two nights. The room and decor are dated but everything was clean. Shower pressure was horrible and there was no bathroom heater. The room was quite chilly despite being double-glazed. Bed was comfortable enough.
The young lady (we assumed she was on-duty manager) was very friendly and welcoming, going above and beyond to make sure we have a pleasant stay. The other person (older lady) during our check-out was grumpy and a bit rude.
The restaurant (buffet) was very average, but the roast and potatoes were great. Breakfast was not a great value for money ($22 for cooked breakfast, given that it consisted of scrambled eggs, canned baked beans and canned tomatoes). Service at restaurant was a bit annoying, with waiting staff bothering us twice trying to take away our plates.
Despite all of the above we would stay again as there wasn't much choice in Omarama.

Room Tip: Bring along a small electrical heater in colder months - having one made our stay more comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Had a lovely large room, very comfy bed. The room was very clean with easy access.
Good value for money.
Large bathroom and very clean.
Handy to everything easy walking distance to most things.
Would stay again

Room Tip: Higher floors have only stair access.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank noonenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, General Manager at Heritage Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for your online rating and review of the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were told beforehand that this hotel was dated. The room was very large, 2 double beds, clean but needed new carpet, painting and updated bathroom. They had an abundance of staff who were friendly and great at their jobs. Food great again. You must visit the quirky secondhand, new items shop around the corner

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenniferbms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, General Manager at Heritage Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for your online rating and review of the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

A pretty nice place to stay. A little dated but the room was spacious and clean. The restaurant seemed like a large eating hall but the food was good. Enjoyed a buffet dinner that offered plenty of choices. Very comfortable for a few nights stop over although not a lot to do unless taking in the countryside. A good spot to take in the night sky on a clear night.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thirtyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews