We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
31
77
100
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
77
100
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was large buffet dinner lots of choice bus tour aat kings tour good nights sleep reception staff good size an upgrade first floor cooked breakfast next morning short stay overnight stay local pub south island small town
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Yes, the hottest day on South Island in Jan 18. There was no air conditioning in the room and no fan available in the hotel. (Only heatter) The staff (or the boss lady)was unhelpful, perhaps due to the hot weather. The bed was really soft and comfortable, yes! this is a definitely affordable hotel but.... I wouldn't recommend it without needed.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank deborahmH2747AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Reception staff were very pleasant and friendly. The room was standard for a hotel room. There was nowhere to sit outside the room which looked out at the carpark. The 3 course buffet was very good and value for money.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank RayCallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, General Manager at Heritage Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for your online rating of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Fairly basic and fine for one night. We had a ground floor room and it was spacious and quiet. It was nice to have a large space for unpacking cases. The dining room was efficient at catering for large numbers and we had an enjoyable evening buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan T, General Manager at Heritage Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for your online rating of the Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Basic amenities but good sized rooms and clean. The restaurant was big and noisy but the hotel had not considered how one person behind the bar was going to cope with several coach-loads. Patience was a virtue.
After a walk to the other end of town, we turned and did the 100 yards back again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Although it is unprepossing from the outside, the rooms are large, well equipped and have a proper bath. The food is excellent both for dinner and the breakfast buffet. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews