We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omarama is great”
Review of Countrytime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Countrytime Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Majorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Omarama is great”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Omarama is great ,Countrytime hotel is like from historic movie,nice friendly staff but not perfect rooms with noice fridge and uggly bathroom ,but Omarama is great and because staff send us to Hot tubs we were happy there,nice place

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    26
    32
    14
    19
See reviews for
14
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2011

This hotel is in need of lots of money spent on it.
I should have guessed that things were not good at beginning when there was not a person anywhere when we checked in and the resturant and bar were closed. The smell of the airfreshner/cleaner was overpowering in the hallways
The first room was unlivable, the sheets were dirty and the bathroom was so mouldy around the bath that parts were missing.
The staff were very helpful in changing the room. The next room was a bit better. But when i went to have a shower and discovered the noslip mat was black with mould we figured things werereally not much better.

I am a Kiwi, but would be very embarrassed if a oversea's traveller came here.

The only plus was the staff were very friendly and helpful, I feel sorry for them to have to deal with the complaints

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Omarama hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2010

It may be a good or fair or whatever hotel, but its listing is misleading. Mt Cook Village is many miles away from Omararama. If you do not live here in N.Z., you need to know this, for your planning. That said, accommodation in the actual Village may be expensive.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2010

External appearances much nicer than interior. TV was broke. Laundry was broke. Radio was broke. Staff on their last legs. But wonderful all the same. Rooms were a piece of recent history. Omarama excellent country village.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniarodu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We stayed at the Countrytime for a gliding competition. It is an older hotel that hasn't been redone in some time. The hallway carpet is particularly 70s, but I have a soft spot for that kind of decor, myself. We had a microwave and fridge in our room, but no kitchenette, like in many NZ motels.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You can't beat NZ hospitality!

It may not look like the Four Seasons, but it's probably the best place in town, and you can't beat the location if you are visiting the airfield for some gliding.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor and food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePracticalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
0.9 km away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
176 reviews
26.6 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
27.0 km away
High Country Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
107 reviews
0.7 km away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
100 reviews
26.8 km away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countrytime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countrytime Hotel

Property: Countrytime Hotel
Address: 15 Airport Road | State Highway 8, Omarama, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price range (per night): $106 - $140
Hotel Class:3 star — Countrytime Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Countrytime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing