We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great counter lunch”
Review of Boots and Jandals

Boots and Jandals
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Omarama
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 October 2018

After lots of walking I was craving a good old counter lunch. I called into Boots and Jandals for lunch and it was just what I needed. No chicken schnitzel on the menu (maybe that's an Australian thing) but great fish and chips with a fresh salad on the side. Interesting decor inside, families dining and a very welcome feel about it.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Don’t stop here if you can avoid it. Seems to be a spot for locals - they are not very friendly to those passing through.
Ordered the ‘cannelloni’ and it was almost inedible. I think it had BBQ sauce on top?
I suspect the good reviews on here are written by friends and family.
If you’re hungry you’re probably better off buying a packet of chips from the servo across the road.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Rachele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

So it's an old school country pub on its last legs o feel. The main pub is great but the restaurant and bedrooms are very average. Needs upgraded hence why its up for sale. Service was ok but the food was spot on. Couldn't fault it. So good.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank ScottyMack2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely to locals, RUDE to visitors!
DO NOT VISIT if not local! Burnt pizza, told not allowed to use bathrooms/toilets. Food was burned. The old blonde lady in the kitchen was rude as! 10/10 do not recomend!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank akuyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Hubby and I had a meal here on a Saturday night. It was busy, very noisy and the barman was less than welcoming. The waitress on the other hand, was very friendly. Meals were ordered at the bar. Hubby's rib-eye steak was of a generous size and cooked medium-rare, just as he likes it. It did have rather a lot of mushroom sauce on it though. When I asked the barman if the salad had raw onion in it, he didn't know and had to ask. When told I couldn't eat it, there was no offer to provide me with an onion-free option. When my Southern chicken strips, chips and salad arrived, there was more red onion in the salad than anything else, and I left a big pile of it on my plate after spending an age picking it out.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hottees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boots and Jandals also viewed

Omarama, Canterbury Region
 
Omarama, Canterbury Region
Omarama, Canterbury Region
 
Omarama, Canterbury Region
Omarama, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Boots and Jandals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing