We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We recently spent a night at this hotel, something we have been looking forward to doing. Booking in was seamless, but the rooms in the heritage wing are looking very tired, especially the bathrooms, which are more 70's than heritage.

Ground floor areas are comfortable with lots of seating, lovely warm fires add to the overall ambiance. The meal we had in the bar area was very good, reasonably priced and we noted lots of people were having afternoon teas in front of the fire, keeping warm on a miserable cold wet day.

Staff were all very helpful, attentive with lots of smiles. There is plenty of parking, but far enough away from the hotel for you to get very wet in bad weather. There is a drive up to the front door, but there was a queue of traffic there and people had to park and walk up, not ideal.

Breakfast was disappointing. Buffet style, but tinned tomatoes are not the best option in a big hotel, and eggs were scrambled or scrambled. There was a coffee machine, but barista coffees were charged extra at full cafe prices and not included in the breakfast cost.

We did note that there was a movie theatre with films on all day, entry by room key, so good for youngsters. There is a gym and sauna but these were not tried.

All in all an average experience. Perhaps my expectations were high, but as there is little else around, I expected more from such a famous hotel. The Chateau could be amazing once more, but it needs a lot of money throwing at it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

we were driving from Lake Taupo to the hotel, and after seeing only trees and fields for a long time, the chateau suddenly came into sight in almost a surreal way.

the hotel has long history, and the interior is kept that way. A glamorous sitting area with lavishly decorated interior, though dated, still retain its charm.

the room we were in was in the old wing, needs some updating, and furniture can be better placed, but the atmosphere was unique, as if taking you back in time.

the dinner served in the restaurant was excellent, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We had a family weekend at the snow and stayed in the family apartments beside the hotel, kids loved it. The rooms were warm and even had a heated pool and cinema to relax in after a cold day.
Staff were very friendly and helpfull

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

My wife and I toured New Zealand for a month during February and March 2017. We have provided reviews of all the places we stayed at during our tour. To see the reviews of the other places we stayed at please click on my name to the left and then when the box comes up click on my name again.

The Chateau Tongariro is located in the Tongariro National Park. The hotel is about five minutes walking from the Tongariro National Park Visitor Centre and the start of a number of way marked walks. We stayed for two nights and were able to walk on a number of the footpaths.
The hotel is like a 1920’ or 30s themed hotel with a large open plan restaurant and lounge. The staff are excellent and when we had a problem with the safe in the room we were moved to another room immediately. The room we had was quite large and the fridge was a good size. There were no cooking facilities. The safe was large enough to put a laptop in. The bed linen was excellent, clean and crisp. The bathroom contained a bathtub and a separate shower. The WiFi was very good and I was able to stream British TV live using my tablet.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellerCymruWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We have previously visited for High Tea 3-4 and been impressed and enjoyed it. However,,,,, we took several family members to enjoy High Tea today and we were all Very Disappointed...... The quality & especially the Quantity of the food provided was definitely Not as good as our past visits :(
Not enough sandwiches and I didn't know you could make such miniature scones.... will be reluctant to take visitors back for High Tea again :(

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LindaDinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.4 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
449 reviews
25 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
12.5 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
350 reviews
12.4 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
276 reviews
0 km away
Tongariro Adventures
Tongariro Adventures
#4 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: $165 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing