We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful little oasis”
Review of Warkworth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Warkworth Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Loved this lodge. House is lovely, large, old colonial style. Room was beautiful - décor, bedding etc. we had our own little section of outside deck area. Had no problem with the immaculate communal kitchen arrangements and the huge sitting/dining - a great chance to meet other guests - just what holidays are for. Lovely garden and pool.
Only negative - some voile drapes at the French windows please, for a bit of privacy without having to close the curtains.

Room Tip: Garden doubles are lovely. Didn't see any others so unable to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2016

Décor was tired, patio furniture grey with age, windows would not open properly and room was extremely hot. Had to pay an additional $80 for an ensuite bathroom, which is included in basic motels. Thankfully we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way from Northland to Coromandel. It has a very tired look and the room was no better than OK. The restaurant was as good a place as any to eat in the town. The location has little to recommend it. Be ready for traffic jams at almost any time of the day.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Leicesterdave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaTours, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We agree there has been some heavy weekend traffic recently along state highway 1 and heading back from Beaches in the late afternoon. However I would like to think that it is due to the popularity of the region and the many things to do here. I hope you received our informative overview of the diverse range of activities in the Matakana Coast Wine Country upon arrival or utilized the many guides at the reception brochure stand and tips in the room compendiums. We hope you will consider returning and give us the opportunity to share the delights of the region with you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Very friendly, informative owner, lovely building and awesome communal kitchen. However, walls are paper thin, traffic noises were substantial, the shared bathroom did not have a sink and there was no toilet paper in the middle of the night. Sorry, but we will not be coming back.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Debitorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaTours, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Hello thank you for taking the time to place a review, we appreciate your thoughts.
Most of our rooms have private ensuites and are very quiet however our flashpacker rooms have shared facilities and two have road noise. We have priced them at $75 to $115 accordingly. However we find some of the third party websites do not state our room descriptions very clearly and so it is a surprise to some of our guests.
We hope you will consider coming to stay in one of our villa or studio rooms that are very quiet another time. In the mean time I sincerely apologize for the lack of paper and have taken measures to ensure this does not happen again. Thanks again for informing us, so we can make improvements accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Booked in here for a 2 day stop off with wife, and her sister and brother on the way up north island. A great place with a good communal kitchen and lounge. Very clean and tidy and central to town Freindly owners and a pool too Thanks for a nice stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank StuWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaTours, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

thank you for posting your review. We wish you all the best for the rest of your holidays.
Kind Regards Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
6.2 km away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
158 reviews
0.5 km away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
87 reviews
15.8 km away
Castle Court Motel
Castle Court Motel
#1 of 1 in Wellsford
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 km away
Kawai Purapura Retreat Centre
7 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
156 reviews
0.1 km away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#4 of 20 in Warkworth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Lodge

Address: 8 Falls Street, Warkworth, Auckland 0910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range: $88 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warkworth Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Motel in the Heart of the Village. Warkworth Lodge opened in 2007 and is one of the top motels located in the centre of Warkworth. Our suites vary from modern self-contained motel units to character villa rooms. Our sunny and spacious environment has a fantastic pool and barbecue area to sit and relax. Enjoy a weekend away or a relaxing holiday by the pool. Located on the doorstep of our many beautiful beaches, a great selection of vineyards, cafés and restaurants. You will enjoy the comfort of the luxury lodge, with the convenience of being in the centre of Warkworth’s beautiful village. Enjoy the spacious Villa Lounge that over looks the pool & relax by the fire in the winter, and free wi-fi. Celebrations are welcome: Weddings, Birthdays, Family gatherings & Conferences. Matakana Village is 5 minutes drive away. Daily Wine Tours leave at 12 o clock to explore the many Matakana vineyards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warkworth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing