We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
25
41
19
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
41
19
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high ceilings the kitchen studio room small tv excellent choice pink room shared lounge couldn t staff were all friendly french doors communal areas bed was comfortable new zealand spa fireplace toilet cupboard
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Décor was tired, patio furniture grey with age, windows would not open properly and room was extremely hot. Had to pay an additional $80 for an ensuite bathroom, which is included in basic motels. Thankfully we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way from Northland to Coromandel. It has a very tired look and the room was no better than OK. The restaurant was as good a place as any to eat in the town. The location has little to recommend it. Be ready for traffic jams at almost any time of the day.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Leicesterdave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaTours, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We agree there has been some heavy weekend traffic recently along state highway 1 and heading back from Beaches in the late afternoon. However I would like to think that it is due to the popularity of the region and the many things to do here. I hope you received our informative overview of the diverse range of activities in the Matakana Coast Wine Country upon arrival or utilized the many guides at the reception brochure stand and tips in the room compendiums. We hope you will consider returning and give us the opportunity to share the delights of the region with you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Very friendly, informative owner, lovely building and awesome communal kitchen. However, walls are paper thin, traffic noises were substantial, the shared bathroom did not have a sink and there was no toilet paper in the middle of the night. Sorry, but we will not be coming back.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Debitorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaTours, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Hello thank you for taking the time to place a review, we appreciate your thoughts.
Most of our rooms have private ensuites and are very quiet however our flashpacker rooms have shared facilities and two have road noise. We have priced them at $75 to $115 accordingly. However we find some of the third party websites do not state our room descriptions very clearly and so it is a surprise to some of our guests.
We hope you will consider coming to stay in one of our villa or studio rooms that are very quiet another time. In the mean time I sincerely apologize for the lack of paper and have taken measures to ensure this does not happen again. Thanks again for informing us, so we can make improvements accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Booked in here for a 2 day stop off with wife, and her sister and brother on the way up north island. A great place with a good communal kitchen and lounge. Very clean and tidy and central to town Freindly owners and a pool too Thanks for a nice stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank StuWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaTours, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

thank you for posting your review. We wish you all the best for the rest of your holidays.
Kind Regards Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This is a comfortable motel within easy walk to the shopping centre, cafes, restaurants etc. The house has spacious rooms (one of which we had) and has units outside which have more complete services provided. There is however a large kitchen in the house and a lovely swimming pool outside with a BBQ area. The staff are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaTours, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We wish you the best for your travels and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews