We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going again in 2013 that's how good it was”
Review of Portee Station

Portee Station
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portee Station
Ranked #2 of 2 Blanchetown B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going again in 2013 that's how good it was”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We spent a week in the fantastic home and location. There were 14 of us and we hired the entire home. It was Sooo peaceful and relaxing couldn't have been any better. From the comfortable rooms to the huge kitchen- we took our own food - everything was there for us to just move in
Was that good we booked again for next year- so the countdown is on till we go back

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bablyn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

It's a little off the beaten track, quite literally, but not hard to find, and the journey is worth it. This gorgeous old homested has been extensively renovated into a number of self contained suited with en-suite, and each is classy and clean, with oodles of old world charm.

The main house contains accommodation only--the lounge room and kitchen facilities (huge larder and professional kitchen) are in the adjoining building. The buildings have a lovely water frontage and you are surrounded by gums and wild life--it's a very authentic Aussie experience.

The quality is impeccable, with every little desire thought out and catered for beforehand. Freshly baked cake, port, firewood. It's beautifully presented, and the lady who runs the place is warm and engaging.

The place was ideal for a lovely peaceful and romantic stay for two, but would also be ideally suited to a large group who would all be spoilt for luxury. If you go in winter, pack warm clothes for the night time though, because although the fire is warm and bedrooms are reasonably snug, you do have to move from one to the other, and it's pretty cold in the Riverland in winter.

If we ever go that way again, we will be back without doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank picard2bridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Loved every minute, from the loud bird call on arrival @ dusk to watching the sun on the river from your bedroom, from the stunning house, to the chatty hostess. All the little extras such as the home made bread, banana cake & of course the bottle of wine. Just wished we were staying for a week. Perfect place to rest!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhodestar0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Usually run as a B&B, we hired all the rooms for the weekend, and filled it with 5 families (17 people). Adults and kids all had a wonderful time. Large rooms, spacious grounds, fun on the water (the creek was a tributary of the Murray River at the time), excellent dining/lounge area. Hosts were welcoming and really helpful, and gave us space to do our own thing too.
This was by far the best place we've been to in South Australia for a large group of adults and children.

Room Tip: "Maids Room" was noisy due to industrial fridge in pantry next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobYoungAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Portee Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portee Station

Property: Portee Station
Address: Stuart Highway | P.O. Box 320, Blanchetown, South Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Blanchetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blanchetown
Price range (per night): $164
Hotel Class:3 star — Portee Station 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Portee Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portee Station Blanchetown, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing