We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury glamping in Australia - African style”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paperbark Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paperbark Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Luxury glamping in Australia - African style”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just returned from a 2 nights stay at the lovely camp. They do the luxury safari style tents very well - we have stayed at some other luxury tented camps in Australia and this was by far the best - tents on raised wooden platforms, with outdoor (but private) bathrooms. Tents are well separated (we were in Possum) and although only shielded from nature by nets, very private. You can put roll-up blinds down but we kept them open to awake to filtered sunlight. The sounds of the birds and animals is fantastic - we heard possums but didnt see them (if you leave the tents open they can come in - one visitor even had a glider in their tent). We saw several kangaroos every day. There are lots of mosquitos but plenty of spray and coils provided. One night I did go for an evening walk with no anti-bug spray on - big mistake as I was bitten about 25 times!

We took out the free kayaks on 2 occasions - we are very inexperienced so fell in the river both times! The water is clean and shallow, so not a problem - although we had to get a kayak rescued on one occasion as it floated away! The staff were very helpful and understanding.

We had dinner at the Gunyard restaurant which was pricey but great food - and when service was a bit slow (they were full) we were offered free drinks. On the second night we had flathead and chips at the Husskie pub and then a deluxe dessert and drinks at the Gunyard which worked very well.

Breakfast is also great - large quantity and high quality, so we needed only a small nibble for lunch.

On this occasion I was staying with my sister so we had requested twin beds - the tent is so large it can accomodate the king bed and a double put-up bed. Quality of bedding was lovely and we both slept well to the sounds of nature. Shower is powerful, water warm and excellent quality toiletries.

Everything about this place is peaceful and relaxing, and the staff are super helpful. I intend to come back with my husband.

Room Tip: We found the ordinary (not luxury) tents to be of a high quality. All tents are around the central m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Hi GerbilsOnTour,

It was so lovely to meet your sister and yourself, we had great fun during your stay. I must confess to being slightly disappointed Ben (General Manager) didn’t fall in the river too! Thank you for your lovely and honest feedback. We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you and your husband soon.

Warmest regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    61
    28
    13
    2
See reviews for
30
172
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I want to thank every staff for the service and efforts they've put it to make our stay very pleasant. The facilities as described, the restaurant exquisite, the service great. Thank you all and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: All tents are fine. The packages are well prepared and flow very well throughout the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMontparnasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Hello ‘TheMontparnasse’,

It was truly our pleasure! It’s reviews such as yours that quite honestly keep us working as hard as we do for our lovely guests. Thank you so much. We look forward to making your next stay just as special.

Warmest regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed one night - arrived in pouring rain but gave a nice atmosphere. Check in staff were friendly and helpful - drove us to our tent in a buggy.
There was a problem with the toilet in our original tent but were moved to another fairly quickly.
Beautiful outlook over, surprisingly, paperbark trees - able to roll up/down flaps for privacy. The toilet/shower is "open-planned" but we had no issues with privacy since there were shades up/overlooking bush with no tracks. There are no 240V outlets in your room so make sure your electricals are fully charged - otherwise can recharge in the restaurant/lobby.
Very quiet night and comfortable sleep with the sounds of nature - I find it difficult to believe that you could hear other people talking in their tents unless they were shouting!
Eating at the restaurant was also very nice with an interesting menu. Staff were all very nice.
My only issue is that it is probably overpriced for what you get. I've stayed in similar style eco-resorts in Australia for less - mind you, we did stay during the "peak" school holiday season, but still not really worth it.
I agree with another reviewer that if you are charging that amount per night for a B&B - it's a bit petty to charge $3.50 extra per espresso with breakfast - surely it could be absorbed into the rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oh_crumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Our travel agent always comes up with something quirky and in November last year booked us this deluxe tent experience. You are almost at one with nature but have your mod cons of a decent bathroom albeit open air. Wonderful to shower and look over the wooden surround of the bathroom to the surrounding camp. You need to ensure you keep your sleeping area zipped up to prevent mosquitoes getting in. It really is a five star bedroom situated in a tent within an additional canvas tent. At night time the possiums were crawling over the canvas and we heard the thump, thump of the kangaroos bounding past. In the day time we spotted one kangaroo and a few birds, but it is night time that the animals move about. The staff are great and the skyline Gunyah restaurant is a delightful place for your evening meal with log burner. Hire bikes and cycle out along the shoalhaven coastline. Two nights are sufficient - Ok its a bit expensive but well worth the experience.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on the level of any other tent, ours was deluxe and was situated in the middle of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The positives; absolutely lovely staff, the Gunyah restaurant is awesome, both for dinner and breakfast, and the camp is in a gorgeous bushland setting.

However, despite the above, we had a very uncomfortable nights stay here. We paid over $300 for the nights stay and expected a certain level of comfort but what greeted us was a tent full of mozzies (the zips on the tent couldn't fully close so they got in) and a bathroom that did not have adequate privacy - the screens set up on either side did not prevent passers by from seeing us (in the shower or on the toilet!). We were far too close to the next tent and we could hear every word they said, so obviously they could hear us. It was a hot night and I understand an eco lodge can't have air con but even a ceiling fan would have been much appreciated. I like the concept of this place but I would have been much happier had I paid around $100 for the night.

I do recommend visiting the restaurant though - in hindsight I wished we had booked other accommodation and just gone for dinner at the camp instead.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewel1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollamia
7.3 km away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
267 reviews
2.2 km away
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
#1 of 7 in Huskisson
225 reviews
3.7 km away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Dungowan Holiday Accommodation
12.3 km away
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
By The Beach B & B Self-Containe...
#2 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
61 reviews
3.8 km away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paperbark Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paperbark Camp

Property: Paperbark Camp
Address: 571 Woollamia Rd, Woollamia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Woollamia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Woollamia
Price range (per night): $371 - $518
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paperbark Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining unique luxury tented accommodation with wonderful food & warm hospitality, Paperbark Camp is a peaceful bush retreat in beautiful Jervis Bay - think camping for grown-ups! Just over two hours drive from Sydney on the unspoilt south coast of NSW, Jervis Bay is a nature lovers paradise with spectacular coastal scenery, clear and calm water for swimming and pristine white sand beaches for strolling and relaxing on... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paperbark Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paperbark Camp Hotel Woollamia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing