We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in the historic center of Ilhabela”
Review of Hotel Maison Joly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Maison Joly
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ilhabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

We loved this place. The hotel is very well located close to many restaurants and bars. The rooms are big and nicely decorated and most of them have a private whirlpool on the terrace. The staff takes care of all your needs, is well educated and makes your stay on Ilhabela perfect. The pool is big and clean. Breakfast is served at your table and is delicious; they even bake their own bread. I can recommend this hotel without any reservation.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maxzurki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniorjoly, recepcionista at Hotel Maison Joly, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Hello Max, thank you for your evaluation. It is very important to us. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maison Joly
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2016

I stayed there for six days with my wife and four-years-old son. Maison Joly is a very nice place, a rustic and stylish hotel, with comfortable and spacious rooms, a gentle and personalized service, and a delicious breakfast, with the flavorful Jolly Eggs prepared at the guest request. Our apartament had a convenient internal pool, two spacious beds and a small, but enough, closet. The São Sebastião Channel view from the hotel is wonderful, especially in the sunset. The three hundreds meters from the hotel to the Ville, as is called the commercial and touristic center, is easily covered by foot. The hotel is built in a small hill, among trees from the island native forest and next to houses of local inhabitants, you can meet on the street on the way to their daily routines. At night, lying in our bed, the only sounds we hear come from the forest fauna such as crickets, birds and small animals, creating a perfect environment for a peaceful and restful sleep. Overall, Maison Joly is a hotel that gave us a peaceful and pleasurable week. We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ramon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniorjoly, Recepcionista/Leda at Hotel Maison Joly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Good evening Mr Ramon,

We are very happy that you and your family had liked our Hotel. Thank you.
Please convey our recommendations to his wife Paula and to the little Theodore. Stay with our affection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

This hotel is located nearby the heart of the town on walking distance from the church. The hotel is a unique creation made up of several houses connected by alleys and staircases. After every angle you turn you will find a surprise, be it a swimming pool with a set of lounge chairs on a spacious deck, a piano bar, a reading room or just a cozy place to relax amidst tropical trees. From the stairs you will often catch a glimpse of an amazing view of the bay. The staff is very friendly, you are welcomed with a drink and your luggage is brought to your room. The rooms are originally decorated and offer sufficient comfort although the TV and the air condition could have been of a more recent model. The breakfast with "ovo Joly" is something you cannot afford to miss.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FrLom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniorjoly, Recepcionista/Leda at Hotel Maison Joly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Good evening Mr Franciscus, thank you for your evaluation.

The Air conditioner and the TV of Apartment 13 single room have been replaced. We hope to review them again.
Please convey our recommendations to Ms. Raquele and Marc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Great location on Ilhabela, this small hotel is a gem with beautiful landscaping throughout. Every room offers spectacular ocean views. We stayed in the Room 19 which has a patio like all the rooms but also has its own private swimming pool. The room was beautifully decorated from the sitting area to the bedroom to the patio. Cleanliness was excellent. The shower and bathroom (and supply hot water) were very good. The room even had a hammock to relax in! The hotel pool is very nice with full sun throughout the day. The hotel is built into the hillside so be aware in case you have difficulty with stairs/climbing.

The included breakfast was fantastic with a nice selection of fruits, pastries and the specialty Ovo Joly (egg on toast). No bar or restaurant available for lunch or dinner though. But there are plenty of choices a short walk into Centro.

But no doubt the highlight is the service you receive from the friendly staff. The staff offered additional towels for the pool or for our trip to the beach without our asking . At the invitation of the owner, we sat in on the private rehearsal of the band that was performing that night in town square in Centro. Beach and restaurant recommendations from the front desk were excellent.

A wonderful hotel not to be missed if you staying on Ilhabela!

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent views but Room 19 has the added treat of a private swimming pool.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeeha313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniorjoly, Leda at Hotel Maison Joly, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

We thank you for the details of its assessment, we are feeling honored and hope to review them again. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Maison Joly is a charming, small hotel set on a steep hillside above the main village in Ilhabela.
The hotel is quite cooky with lots of art, very welcoming and helpful staff, though bear in mind that noone speaks English as is quite common in this part of the country.
Our room was a little pokey but the terrace with a stunning view made up for it.
One issue was that they do not take international cards - we had quite a performance trying to pay, eventually managing to pay by pay pal. It would be more sensible to come with the cash you need, as there are not many ATMs on the island that take foreign cards.
Easy if steep walk down to the village which has many bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWebster80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniorjoly, Leda at Hotel Maison Joly, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Good evening Mr. Webster, how are you?
Since its hosting, did a lot of maintenance in the Hotel Maison Joly. Our Wi-Fi is great, please accept internacionaise card when you stay with us again, ask Suite 11 or Apartment 18, we are confident that the Lord will love.
Our thank you and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilhabela hotels
6.1 km away
Barra do Piuva Porto Hotel
2.5 km away
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ilhabela
902 reviews
0.6 km away
Itapemar Hotel
Itapemar Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ilhabela
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Real Villa Bella Hotel
Real Villa Bella Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ilhabela
257 reviews
8.8 km away
Hotel Praia do Portinho
Hotel Praia do Portinho
#4 of 23 in Ilhabela
398 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Ilhabela
Hotel Ilhabela
#15 of 23 in Ilhabela
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison Joly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison Joly

Address: Rua Anibal Teles Correa 272 | Vila, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ilhabela
Price Range: $157 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maison Joly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Maison Joly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maison Joly Ilhabela, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing