We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredibly welcoming and comfortable hotel - never stayed anywhere better”
Review of Hotel Maison Joly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Maison Joly
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ilhabela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We spent the last week of a fabulous holiday in Brazil at Maison Joly and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed with open arms. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who were keen to make sure that we had all the infirmation we needed and helped us to book a jeep tour to the other side of the island and a rental car. Our bedrooms were enormous with extremely comfortable beds, jacuzzis and hammocks with stunning views from the terrace across the bay. The bathroom had everything you could want with a large walk in shower which had good water pressure. The hotel was up a hill from the small town and beach - we certainly left a lot fitter than we arrived! Breakfast was superb with plenty to eat and a wide selection to choose from. The Maison Joly signature dish was Egg Joly which was freshly made while we waited and delicious. Limited English spoken but that added to the enjoyment. I really do think this is probably the best hotel in which we have ever stayed anywhere in the world. Highly recommend for the best customer service, comfort, spacious accommodation and location. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but from what we saw they are all spacious and overlook the stunning vie...
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AngelaRhodes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maison Joly
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2014

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere in the world. We stayed here for the last few days of our holiday in Brazil. It was a wonderful find. The hotel is up the hill from the town centre where there are a large number of restaurants etc. All the staff at the hotel made us feel welcome to an extraordinary extent. It was like being part of the family. They went to a great deal of trouble to make sure our stay with them was memorable.
The hotel is set on a hill and as such has great views over the water to the mainland. Our room was fantastic and had a balcony overlooking the same view. It was a large room and we were told that Ronnie Wood stayed there. It had everything we needed and if we wanted more it was made very clear that we only had to ask. The restaurant which served a really great breakfast was closed out of season but I feel sure that if it had been open we may not have explored the rest of the island.
We loved our time here and felt sad at having to leave. Even as we left the staff realising we had a long journey ahead ran down the hill to catch us before we went to give us some home made cakes as we sat in the taxi. I measure of the way were had been treated the whole time we were there.
We want to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were good. Each had its own character. The best room was Number 15 which had a...
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MikeR_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here with my wife and two small children (one 3 years, one 8 weeks) on a weekend break from Sao Paulo, and had a really great time. Maison Joly is on a street that runs up behind the church in the Centro Historico. It's elevated position means it has great views and a secluded atmosphere, while only being a short walk (300m) to the nearest beach, bars, restaurants and shops. And it's just a short drive to some very good beaches (we liked Armação – around 10 mins in the car). Our apartment had a balcony with a good view of the island and across to the mainland: perfect for watching the sunset. There's also a good-sized pool and sun deck. As others have commented, we also found the breakfast excellent. Lots of fresh fruit and omeletes right off the pan. In fact, the staff looked after us really well throughout, and gave us lots of ideas for places to eat and to visit. If we come back to Ilhabela, we'll definitely try and book this place again.

Room Tip: Our apartment/suite was right at the top of the pousada, with a little terrace which was perfect for...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas and had an amazing time.

Firstly, the location is fantastic as it's in the Centro Historico so there are loads of bars, shops and restaurants, the bus stop and a short walk to the nearest beach. Also, the hotel is set on top of a hill above the centre so you can expect breathtaking views from your terrace. That being said, the walk up the hill in extreme heat is not for the faint-hearted and then when you reach the hotel you may have further to climb (lots of stairs) depending on where your room is located; so if you are not able bodied then I wouldn't recommend staying here.

We had room 18 and part of the room is a good sized private terrace that has outside chairs, tables, loungers, a hammock, a Jacuzzi and not to mention the wonderful view. The room itself had a huge king-sized bed and a single bed, a small dressing room, a fridge with mini-bar, a safe, a flat screen TV and a ceiling fan. There was an AC unit in the room, but sadly we couldn't seem to get it to work. The bathroom had a wet-room style shower with lots of hot water and good pressure. There were also toiletries available to use and a hairdryer.

Breakfast was typically Brazilian but with a stylish twist. There was melon and mango, a huge variety of breads and cakes, cheese, meat, yogurt and granola. There was also a lady who would make you eggs to order. These eggs sat in the middle of heart shaped toast (the melon was also heart shaped - I did say stylish!) And of course there was plenty of juice, tea and coffee.

You also have access to a small pool with loungers if you don't want to make the journey down the hill. Or if you really want to work out, then there appeared to be an outdoor gym that you could use.

The staff were very friendly and very accommodating. I don't think they spoke English (Luckily my friend speaks Portuguese), so make sure you write things down in Portuguese or bring your phrase book and have a go!

I would most certainly stay here again and again and again.

Oh and DEFINITELY bring insect repellent - I was bitten severely when in Ilhabella

Room Tip: Room 18 has a great view and terrace
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basics100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days and it was true bliss. The rooms are set up with a great view of the ilha. Note: if you decide to partake of the jacuzzi au natural just know that there are certain spots/angles where you can be seen by others due to layout. The breakfast may be the best we have ever experienced (incl. heart shaped eggs).
Disfrute!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latineddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilhabela hotels
6.1 km away
Barra do Piuva Porto Hotel
2.5 km away
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
Porto Pacuiba Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ilhabela
902 reviews
0.6 km away
Itapemar Hotel
Itapemar Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ilhabela
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Real Villa Bella Hotel
Real Villa Bella Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ilhabela
257 reviews
8.8 km away
Hotel Praia do Portinho
Hotel Praia do Portinho
#4 of 23 in Ilhabela
398 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Ilhabela
Hotel Ilhabela
#15 of 23 in Ilhabela
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison Joly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison Joly

Address: Rua Anibal Teles Correa 272 | Vila, Ilhabela, State of Sao Paulo 11630-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ilhabela > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ilhabela
Price Range: $157 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maison Joly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Maison Joly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maison Joly Ilhabela, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing