We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,085)
Filter reviews
5,085 results
Traveller rating
3,692
915
296
127
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,692
915
296
127
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ko restaurant cafe ciao suite hotel nick's fish market canoe experience adult pool four seasons president's club swim up bar breakfast buffet upper pool living room our honeymoon two sinks ocean view top notch walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 5,085 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This resort is so beautiful! From Check in to check out everything was wonderful. The room service food was outstanding! Housekeeping was spot on everyday. It is close to shopping and the spa was incredible. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean View
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rv8erdonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Fairmont is located in the beautiful Wailea area next to many of the other south shore resorts including the Four Seasons and the Grand Wailea (I would recommend checking this out during your stay as well). There is actually a path you can take from the Fairmont that goes through these properties.

Pros: breakfast buffet (which was included with our package) was delicious - honestly may be the best buffet we’ve ever had; room size - all the rooms at the Fairmont are suites so we therefore had a very spacious room which was nice for our week long stay; driver service - love that they offered a car service within a certain proximity of the hotel...we took this to and from dinner several evenings; beach chairs and umbrellas available for free - did not realize but this is a huge perk...many resorts charge for this. There was also plenty available when we were there.

Cons: pools (or lack there-of) - not many options for swimming...there is one pool that is filled with little kids, one with elderly people and one tiny one with the pool bar which fills up very early - that being said, make sure you claim a spot first thing in the am. The resort charges for the poolside cabana which it never seems anyone is using; nightlife entertainment - this seemed to be non-existent when we were on property...it was pretty dead after 8-9 pm; view - we booked an oceanfront room which was not worth it because we pretty much overlooked the pool (the ocean was a little speck in the distance); birds - beware of the birds at breakfast...there is no nets or anything discouraging these guys from swarming your table other than a laser on the wall that seems to do nothing other than annoy people.

Overall, we would highly recommend this to other folks heading to Maui! Although, for a honeymoon trip, another less kid-friendly option may be a better bet - there were a lot of kids/ families there during our visit.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Director of Guest Experience at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Alex and thank you for choosing Fairmont Kea Lani for your honeymoon celebration in Hawaii, we are flattered! It's so nice to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit, including your comfortable suite accommodations, the delicious buffet for breakfast and the complimentary shuttle service. However, it’s tremendously disappointing to learn that the birds at the breakfast restaurant had such a negative effect on your dining experience. We certainly agree and recognize that the birds are a nuisance, with that being said, please know we are working towards developing a definite long term solution for this issue. I would also like to apologize that you were dissatisfied with the 3 pools options located at the resort as we strive to have something for everyone. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we’re truly sorry for falling short in these area. All of your feedback will be reviewed. Thank you for recommending us and we certainly hope you will visit us again soon.

Warmest aloha,
April Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a last minute trip to Wailea and the Kea Lani. I travel a lot for business and very rarely do I leave a review. We were enthralled with the suites, property and staff at the Kea Lani. Ronne at the front desk honored our request for an even better ocean view. The included breakfast buffet was amazing. The suites are spacious with huge bathrooms and the biggest lanais in Wailea. The beach is fantastic! What's not to like? We will be back!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank BackPacker582360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Director of Guest Experience at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha BackPacker582360! Thank you for choosing the Fairmont Kea Lani for your last minute vacation and for your exceptional review! I’m delighted we were able to exceeded your expectations right from the start with Ronnie-Anne and that your stay was a huge success for you - It's fantastic to read that you truly loved our large suites with grand lanai and views.. We greatly appreciate you for recommending us to future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest aloha,
April Storey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thought we would try this property vs staying at the FS next door where we normally stay. The property grounds are gorgeous, sprawling and the staff is gracious and helpful. The large adult pool is nice and far enough away from kids having fun at the family pool. We also found Matthew our pool waiter to be fast, friendly and always timely for refills.

The rooms at the hotel are large, but we did not care for the overall decor and the rooms really need updating when comparing to similar properties in Wailea. Maybe a reno is coming? If you don't mind the 80's vibe and want extra room, Kea Lani is a good option.

Nick's Fish Market on property is fantastic! One of the best meals we have had on Maui, but the breakfast buffet fell short for us and it was pretty crowded and noisy with kids screaming.

We booked via the AMEX platinum fine hotels program, but we did not receive an upgraded room. In fact, we were promised one at check in, but did not actually receive the upgrade. We thought this was a little odd to be promised an upgrade, but then not receive one. I shared this experience via email with the GM and we never received a response.

We have our favorite hotels on Maui and while we are happy we sampled Kea Lani, I do not think we will return. It's just not our personal style and I find the lack of response from management unacceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Director of Operations at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Brent E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Fairmont Kea Lani, our goal was to work with you to ensure satisfaction and I am sorry we fell short of this expectation. Your e-mails were received and two of our Front Office Leadership team members were able to speak with you with intent of resolving the room upgrade that did not meet expectations and the confusion involved, I am sorry we were not able to resolve satisfactorily.

We are very grateful for the recognition of our grounds and staff, thank you for how you have described these.

Sincerely,
Ian Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Okay so this review is LONG over due and I can't believe this hotel keeps getting anything over a 2 star review. This place is NOT good. The only 3 good things about it: the rooms are all suits (more on those later), the poke bowl at the pool bar is good and the Escalade car service is super nice and convenient (although beware you end up paying for it each time you use it, unbeknownced to us)!

Let's start with the fact that this "resort" is SUPER OUTDATED!! I researched hotels for months before we went to Maui for our 3rd Wedding Anniversary and to Christen our new baby boy (both special events) last November, and this hotel on Trip Advisor and Yelp kept coming up 4 and 5 stars with good reviews. This place is more like a 2 star at best. I called 2 times a head of our arrival and both times was "assured" by the front desk that our room would be close to the water with a nice, romantic ocean view, a nice, safe, comfortable baby bed would be in our room upon arrival, baby trash can, etc. Also there was no champagne in the room (all 4 and 5 star resorts do that when you are traveling for a spacial occasion). The room was not close to the water or with any type of view (this is our 3rd Anniversary mind you and we paid a lot of money to be here) and the baby bed was like a half, tiny baby bed that looked like it came from an orphanage from1950. I threw a crying fit! All we wanted to do was settle in with our baby, relax, have a drink, celebrate and have fun. It was so disappointing, not only that we had to wait with a 4 month old baby for 3 hours upon our arrival before this disgusting and subpar room was ready, but also that the room was crap. We called the front desk and we were moved to another room within 30mins (too long) that was more of what we requested and what we PAID for view wise and they brought an actual, full size baby bed this time too. The rooms are still super outdated, they rooms are like from 1994. The only good thing is that they are all big suites with a big bathroom and a large bar area with a min refrigerator, thats it. They need to be REMODELED badly.

The lobby, pool, restaurants, etc-ALL out dated. They need major renovations!! It's seriously like going back in time to the 80s or 90s. For the price you pay for this place and the Fairmont name it carries, its gross and needs remodeling, renovations, etc. There is a lot of competition so I don't know how they can keep it going the way it is much longer or they need to drop their prices and then attract more low budget people who will think the 80s and 90s are acceptable in the year almost 2019! For us, its unacceptable. We had an almost $10,000 vacation here and it was worth maybe about $1,000.

The Pool is horrible, small, strangely configured, almost all the chairs are for the crappy, overpriced cabanas that are super 90s outdated and EVERYWHERE around the pool there is hardly anywhere to sit otherwise. They have lounge chairs that are super old and uncomfortable and some are sitting in the grass-yes the GRASS. Sorry I don't want to go to a "said 4 star resort" and sit in some old lounge chairs in the GRASS! Pool drinks are weak and way over priced, food is so-so and over priced. The pool is just designed super weird with zero ocean view-hello we are in Maui we want relax and look at the ocean while we lounge by the pool!! There are also hardly any umbrellas out there and the ones they do have are tiny. We had to pull like 3 together to protect our baby and ourselves from the hot, damaging sun. They need much bigger umbrellas, nicer chairs and towels, better drinks and food, a complete dig up and start over of the pool to give it more space and a view of the beautiful ocean. Also they had "worker family day"(according to a pool worker) one of the days we were paying to be there, and all the good chairs were literally taken up by a ton of kids, their parents, grandmas, ice chests, etc. It was crazy. It was like all the workers families were literally there, WTF? I have never seen that before and it should be unacceptable, it is so unprofessional. We were PAYING guests and we had to share the pool and chairs, etc with these people? I don't think so. It was BAD.
Restaurants: ALL OVER PRICED. One of the places was okay, can't even remember the name, its down on the first floor by the "adults only" pool. It was descent, but over priced for what it was and no real ocean view. You just started at the adult pool the whole time which was boring. All in All we thought the place was an over priced 1980s-90s DUMP. We were very disappointed in our stay. We spent most of our time at the Four Seasons next door. If you want good and class, stay at the Four Seasons. Oh and this place has a beach in front of it which is nice if you're a beach person, the flowers were pretty, but they are everywhere in Hawaii and most of the staff was friendly. Again not a 4 star hotel, definitely not a 5 star. More like a way overpriced 2 star at best.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allyson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontKeaLaniMaui, Director of Operations at Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Allyson G,

Thank you for the taking the time to share about your experience here at the Fairmont Kea Lani, you have highlighted some concerns within our service delivery that we will address and I am sorry that you and your family’s expectations were not met. Thank you for the recognition of our beach, grounds and staff, we know that our staff are truly exceptional ambassadors and we are grateful for your recognition of them.

Warmest Aloha,
Ian Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews