We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were expecting a newly renovated unit since we were told by the staff that all units had been... well... newly renovated. This was not the case.

Once we got over this fact, the unit we stayed in was adequate but worn out. It's definitely time for a renovation.

Great view from the lanai out over the golf course and the ocean as the sun gently set. Beds were ok, air conditioners in each room which was nice. The master bedroom had no closet, or rather the closet was locked up and not available for use. Instead they offered an armoire that was too short for my shirts to even hang up in. Not particularly well thought out. Also, there was no bath tub. Now there was a two head shower set up, but it felt more like a locker room than sexy "I want to shower with my wife" type of set up.

The staff at the check in office was very nice and extremely helpful, albeit uninformed about the "new renovations" of the units they managed.

Overall it was pleasant but only because we were in Hawaii, this unit really added nothing to our experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rburck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Front Office Manager at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Wailea Grand Champions Villas. We appreciate your insight and thoughts and the information is being shared with the Rental Manager and the Owner. For your future visits, we do invite you to visit our website which has detailed information and pictures of the individual units so you can select the condo you personally prefer.

Matt Smith
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 284 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I came to Maui for a wedding at the Waldorf Astoria hotel. Our friends were celebrating their 10th anniversary, were not attending the wedding, and stayed with us to split the room. We chose this property because of its proximity to the Waldorf property. Our unit had two roooms, one with a king bed and the other with two twins. The master bathroom was an enourous standing shower with a bench and dual shower heads. The kitchen was large and very well equipped. The living room had a great LCD TV, wired highspeed internet connection, and a DVD player. The balcony had a small laundry room with washer/dryer, supplies, beach chairs, umbrellas, and bamboo mats. We will definitely try to rent a condo for future vacations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greyhound661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We loved having the pool in our backyard; we just had to walk down some steps from the back balcony to the pool and grill area. In the balcony they also had a closet with a washer and dryer ... and detergent. It served as a great place for a family vacation. Everything you could think of (beach towels, two Tvs, free internet) was provided. I wish I had gotten a condo with the granate counter tops as some advertize, #43 kitchen and bathrooms really need an upgrade as you can see by the pictures. The living room furniture was very comfortable, the beds unfortunately were nothing like my own bed, but that I was expecting.
I really didn't enjoy the cleaning staff leaving a tip envelop on the kitchen counter every day they came to make the bed and change the towels, especially because the bathrooms had hair on the floors from the previous guest and were never picked up.
Although the cleaning staff could have been better, the sheets and towels were clean. I would recommend this place to someone who would like to be away from the loud downtown area on the northwest side of the island. It was a great place to relax with family.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in condos numbers 41-49, 57-66, or 179-188; these are the closest to the pool and grill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yara001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed at Wailea Grand Champions for 6 nights for our honeymoon, and enjoyed our stay in our golf course view unit. It was very clean and was centrally located near beaches, shopping and restaurants. It is possible to walk to these locations, but not really a practical option...a car is pretty much a must. Also located nearby major roadways, which was helpful in getting to and from the airport. The complex was very quiet when we stayed (late September), and much more popular with the older crowd. Free cable and internet included with room, which was great!! Easy check-in and check-out, and as far as we were concerned, there were no major draw backs. Overall, we were very happy with our experience, and would stay there again!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Manager at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Aloha Becky,
We're honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon at Wailea Grand Champions Villas and look forward to you being our guest in the future. We appreciate you taking the time to review this beautiful property on TripAdvisor and wish you and your husband a lifetime of happiness.
Mahalo,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Destination Resorts Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hi again everyone,
After leaving a picturesque property on the Big Island I was preparing myself for a let down in Maui. BOY WAS I WRONG. The unit we stayed in was a 3 bedroom 2 bath and absolutely breath-taking. Although we were not near the water, the accommodations more than compensated for that. Looking back, it was actually a blessing in disguise because of the peaceful nature of the property. The kids had their own room AND we had the option --with the 3rd bedroom ---of having my teenage daughter have a room of her own. Oddly enough, the girls opted to stay in the same room. Who understands kids? All I can say is that if we ever return to Maui, we will definitely look to book this property. If you have a family it is a MUST.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaptainBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
1.7 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
3.9 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.8 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 km away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#3 of 8 in Wailea
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Grand Champions Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Grand Champions Villas

Address: 155 Wailea Ike Pl, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wailea
Price Range: $280 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wailea Grand Champions Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Wailea golf resort with a country club feel is centered on 11 acres, amid the 18-hole Wailea Blue Golf Course. Select from garden or ocean view suites or golf front villas along the 6th, 7th and 8th holes, with ultimate views of well maintained fairways and sun-drenched strokes. Within this country club condo resort, you'll also find the world-class Wailea Tennis Center and stadium. The resort features two pools, two whirlpool spas and barbecue grills; and is located near The Shops at Wailea and popular Mokapu and Ulua beaches. Each 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, living/dining room area, private lanai and en-suite washer/dryer. Amenities include in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wailea Grand Champions Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Hotel Wailea
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing