We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OVERRATED-OVERCROWDED-OVERPRICED” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OVERRATED-OVERCROWDED-OVERPRICED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a poorly maintained, dirty, disappointing, facility, incapable of accommodating its guests. The sprawling layout accentuated with over zealous security procedures are more comparable to a prison, rather a than a resort.

Lounge chairs which are rowed together, much like seating at a cramped sushi bar surround the cloudy waters of the pool, which feature terrific water slides, but with long lines much like you would find at an over crowded water park. Any attempt to arrange chairs or position an umbrella to your liking is quickly and efficiently corrected by security guards, returning these items to their original spot. No modifications to their military like formations of pool furnishings are allowed!

Magnificent views from the terrace, with the soothing sounds of the surf to lull one to sleep at night are soon replaced by buzzing saws and hammering from construction and Smokey gas powered landscaping machinery at 8 am.

I’m sure this was once a great place, and could still be, but it is so consumed in regulations, policies and overcrowding that it makes it impossible to experience simple peace and quiet. Discontented guests are only subject to a robot like staff who seem to mirror an in person experience with a telephone call operator with well rehearsed patronizing responses to their guests concerns. They seem to have an answer for everything, and if they don't, they just pick one of the previously prepared generic statements, which closely match.

Rooms are tired, small and in desperate need of carpeting, so much that I dare not walk in bare feet. Most staff is friendly, but helpless, which leaves guests at the mercy of seasoned supervisors, who are more interested in the goals of their resort and peers, rather than those of the guests they are supposed to serve.

The smiling staff which hosts the $75 breakfast buffet of cold eggs, hard breads and impressive line up of mostly empty food warmers, smile as you flip open lids, much like trying to guess under which cup the pea is hidden under at a magic show.

This is a resort factory, which has lost touch with its guests and has fallen victim to its inability to cope with the needs of the hordes of guests to which it has been exposed to by its previous reputation, which no longer is present.

Room Tip: Stay at the Marriott next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank starwooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,194
    1,374
    669
    368
    231
See reviews for
2,281
2,066
68
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Our first trip to this place was in 2003 for our honeymoon! PERFECT! One reason I picked this for our honeymoon was b/c my soon to be wife at the time loves pools. This place has 9 pools! As you walk in the lobby there are no walls, it is all open to the ocean breeze. Absolutely incredible visual stimulation of fountains, pools, and the hotel itself. In the middle of the lobby is a small pool/fountain you can walk around underneath the floor. I am a very analytical, detailed oriented guy and I spent hours researching places in Hawaii to go and this was my pick. We didn't want to be too secluded. We wanted to be around people. If you want to be totally secluded there are other islands for that. If enjoy relaxing and maybe people watching or just seeing other people around, this is the place for you. The property is extremely well manicured! We can't wait to possibly go back for our 10 year anniversary! The all you can eat or think to eat is available each morning on a balcony overlooking the ocean and property! Phenomenal feeling drinking coffee with the one you love while the ocean breeze is blowing! We DID NOT travel there in April of 2011. It was the latest year we could choose for it to allow us to proceed with our review! Last we were there was 2003. Can't wait to see what they have done to the place since!

Room Tip: We DID NOT travel in April of 2011. It was the only option that would let us proceed! We were last t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DatingMyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This resort is very large but easy to find way around. The pools are terrific and the beach is beautiful with great service by the hotel to set up lounge chairs and umbrellas. The deluxe ocean view rooms are fabulous. The 9th floor gives a great view over the entire resort out to the ocean. Go during whale season if possible. We could watch whales "spouting" from our balcony which was very comfortable. The room itself was spacious and very clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are spacious with separate shower and deep bath for relaxation. the deluxe ocean view room was terrific.

Room Tip: The 9th floor deluxe ocean view rooms give best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City/San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have to say, from the moment you pull into the Grand Wailea you feel like you're escaping everything! Superior service from the second we got out of the car, bags were handled properly and rooms were available for check-in. The main lobby area was spotless and very welcoming, airy and open...love it. Feeling the Hawaiian breeze is great!

The rooms are spacious, we stayed in a Two Queen Deluxe Ocean View which was spectacular- the views are awesome. The bathrooms are LARGE- i am a bathroom freak and loved it. Separate shower/tub is awesome and a separate toilet room. Beds were very comfy. Nice balcony to relax at night- perfect.

The grounds are amazing, pools galore...families will love this hotel but so will a group of friends traveling etc. Pool area was ridiculous with numerous slides and activities to enjoy. They even have a volcano in the middle of a pool that erupts and a water elevator.

We did eat at Humuhumu, which was FANTASTIC. Make sure to go in the first half hour they are open--the lobsters are HALF PRICE. Granted, the meal was still expensive it curbs the cost greatly. Get a table on the water's edge- perfect sunset. Like...the most amazing sunset ive ever seen. Make sure to get the lobster, fried rice was great and the asparagus were some of my favorites. Did not try dessert. The other pool bar/restaurant they have at Grand Wailea was great- service was on point and the food was good. I would recommend the pepperoni pizza or the spicy tuna roll. YUM!

One more thing- the spa is actually pretty reasonable if you choose the right packages and services. It can get a bit out of hand if you get a ton of things but I had a 60 min facial including an hour in their pools (which are fantastic by the way and worth every penny)...that cost $125. Absolutely worth it. Make sure to ask for this special as it is not offered on any menu! :)

Overall, this property was on point in all areas. From customer service to comfort, it was great. I cant wait to come back to Maui and stay here again. Wailea is beautiful and the Grand Wailea just adds to it. Aloha!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view, its worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hookradio1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the Grand Wailea in March 2012 and the entire stay was unbelievable. Everything from the decor, beach, welcoming staff and rooms had a "WOW" factor. The pool was fantastic and there were plenty of chairs or space for our family. Our room had the most comfortable bed and outstanding views. In a world of "you get what you pay for" I can honestly say that this hotel was worth every cent.

I have read some negative reviews of this resort and I cannot begin to imagine how they had a negative experience. I guess sometimes people go looking for things to complain about. Each staff person seemed to have a personal mission to make sure our family had a great stay. They were always smiling and asking "is there anything else I can do for you?"

For those who complain about resort fee's I would warn that they are everywhere on the island. The cost of drinks was not any more than the cost at other hotels. I have two things to say to anyone going to the Grand Wailea. (1) I am sooooo jealous. (2) Prepare to be very impressed. Aloha!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
42.2 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
37.2 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.4 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price range (per night): $553 - $1,270
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing