We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and relaxing weekend!!!”
Review of Dunlop Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunlop Motel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing weekend!!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We stayed at the Dunlop recently and it was a nice relaxing weekend. My grandparents live just up the road so it's an easy trip back and forth from their house to the motel.

PROS:
* The rooms are spacious and kept very clean
* The staff is friendly
* There is a picnic area outside and the grounds are well kept
* There was a mini fridge in the room
* Quiet and relaxing

CONS:
* The dunlop looks like it was built in the 60's and I believe the same furniture is still there
* The tv was old and when I mean old, I mean that it has knobs on the front of the tv for changing the channels...
* They claim to have wireless internet but the connection wasn't that good... I'd connect for a minute or two and then it would drop
* Double beds are a little small for two adults (although I slept like a baby, my parents did not)
* No pets allowed

Some recommendations to the staff
* Time to upgrade the rooms (new furniture - beds, lamps, table, chairs, desks)
* Update the tv
* Blue toilets have got to go
* Change the flooring (tiles and carpet are old)
* Little things that were missing from the room that makes it feel like home are: microwave, night light and hair dryer
* Test the wireless internet connection in every room
* A little bit of Draino goes a long way!

Overall, the experience was nice. I would recommend my friends to this place. It's quiet and relaxing, just don't expect too much!

Things to do while in Goderich: Farmer's Market (Courthouse Square - Saturdays), Flea Market (Courthouse Square - Sundays), Sunset watching from the salt mine or beach area, Golf, Shopping and don't forget to checkout the lighthouse.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Incredibly clean, better than the 4* hotels we were staying in elsewhere in Ontario.
The room was large, the owners vary friendly. I have no hesitation recommending the Dunlop Motel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touristBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

After reading reviews about the Dunlop Motel on TripAdvisor and hearing nice things about the motel from friends in Goderich, I called and made my reservation.

The room was large, (very) clean and comfortable, and easily accomodated a family of 4. It also had a fridge and microwave.

Our sheets and towels were changed everyday - and the room was spotless when we returned after a day out.
The owners of the Dunlop Motel were very friendly and helpful.

It's located just north of Goderich - just past the airport. There was some truck noise (the trucks were coming from the harbor) - but the motel was not to blame for that!

We stayed for 8 nights and had a lovely time. We would certainly stay again if we were looking for a motel in Goderich.

  • Liked — How clean the room was.
  • Disliked — Distance from center of town. Truck noise.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHotHit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We stopped here while touring around Lake Huron - price was a little higher than we expected but reasonable for the area. Rooms were clean and well-taken care of. Lots of room, we could have brought bicycles inside if we'd been riding them as the owner first thought we were when we mentioned we'd come on our cycle. Very friendly folks - gave us directions to go back into town and see a beautiful sunset at the beach.

  • Liked — clean and well-kept rooms
  • Disliked — price more than we expected (though reasonable for the area I guess)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goderich hotels
3.9 km away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.4 km away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#1 of 9 in Goderich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
8.4 km away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
4.4 km away
Harmony Inn
Harmony Inn
#6 of 9 in Goderich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
10.7 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlop Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlop Motel

Property: Dunlop Motel
Address: 82036A Bluewater Hwy, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price range (per night): $78 - $121
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunlop Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Dunlop Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlop Hotel Goderich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing