We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jeremy M
Calgary, Canada

Highly recommend!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 June 2024
We stayed in the spacious Rose Suite with a water view near a robin's nest. The friendly hosts, Chris and Lori, made our stay memorable—Chris even gave us a tour of the town. This heritage home is beautifully restored, and the customized breakfast, especially Lori's muffins, was delicious. Overall, it was an idyllic setting!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$397
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Rosedale Manor Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$188
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$188
46.9 km from Rosedale Manor Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
61.5 km from Rosedale Manor Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
64.8 km from Rosedale Manor Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
47.0 km from Rosedale Manor Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sit out and enjoy your balcony and view from your Deluxe 2-Bedroom Suite.
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
58.1 km from Rosedale Manor Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
62.2 km from Rosedale Manor Bed and Breakfast
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.0 km from Rosedale Manor Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Placentia
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
176
48
10
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
176
48
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle hill yummy breakfast nova scotia week trip the ground floor comfortable room local history common areas a great stay homemade jams yogurt lori placencia cape hosts house newfoundland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2024

Truly a great experience. from the superb upper floor suites, hospitality from the operators (Chris and Lori), and those superb "breakfasts in a basket", was truly memorable. Special recognition to Chris, not only a great story teller, but excellent guide through the area's highlights. Well done Chris and Lori and happy to recommend.

Room tip: A quiet spot but well worth the visit.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2024

Sadly, while visiting Placentia, the early June weather was a bit cool and and the skies were grey.
Thankfully, our wonderful hosts Lori and Christopher were absolutely warm, cheery and entertaining!
Lori met us for check in and showed us around their beautiful property. The yard is stunning and the house itself is absolutely charming.
The magic really starts when Christopher arrives. He is a wealth of historical information and a brilliant orator. We were fortunate enough to have him give us a tour of the church and the local museum. The history of the area is fascinating! Who knew Placentia has such a rich and fascinating history? OK, Christopher knows, and he loves to share his enthusiasm for the area, the people and the Province of Newfoundland!
The Daisy Room where we stayed is warm and cozy, with snacks included, the linens are perfect for a great night's sleep and the bed is comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, although it was way more food than I require at my age, but hey, I'm on vacation! Right?
You need to visit Placentia to learn the fascinating story of this beautiful place. If you're lucky, maybe you can hear about it from Christopher!
Oh, and Lori's mom, " Elizabeth," makes the best blueberry jam I have ever had.
Thank you, Lori and Christopher, for an extraordinary experience in your beautiful province.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2024

I've been to many B&Bs over the years. Some have been great, some have been cold and miserable. Rosedale Manor in Placentia is the best B&B I've ever stayed at.

The building is old yet lovingly restored and with high-quality materials and curated period furniture. We stayed in the Rose suite: large sitting room, large bedroom, a shower room, a clever kitchenette, and an ensuite bathroom. The windows were all functional (unlike many old building B&Bs) and we got a great cross-breeze. The bed was excellent with excellent linens and nice and heavy cotton blankets and home-made exceptional level quilts.

They provided a wide array of snacks, lots of tea and coffee, and great soaps.

The breakfast was excellent: fresh sliced oranges, orange juice, coffee, tea, baked eggs in crispy bacon (kind of like a poached egg wrapped in bacon), warm bagels (including a gluten-free one for me!), yoghurt, and freshly-baked muffins. The muffins! They ground gluten-free oats to make the flour for the muffins, which also had to be lactose-free. They were incredible! I can't believe they weren't regular muffins. This kind of attention to detail and dietary restrictions is unparalleled in my experience.

Lori and Chris were incredible hosts: super-friendly yet not intrusive the way some B&B hosts can be. Chris even led us and the other guests on a 90 minute walking history tour of Placentia townsite.

TripAdvisor: it is time to get your owl out and give one of those awards to Rosedale Manor. It has set the standard against which all B&Bs should now be measured.

My only regret: that we had only a single night there. Rest assured, I will be back. :)

Room tip: Try to book one of the upstairs suites. If you have dietary restrictions, let them know in advance and they'll pull out all the stops.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler54310226277
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2023

What a wonderful two night stay here. Our hosts, Chris and Lori, were kind and thoughtful and you could see all the small touches in this B&B. A personalized handwritten welcome card, a comfortable bed with clean, soft linen, snacks in a basket in the room and a kitchenette with milk in the fridge for coffee (ground coffee, too)!

Soon after our arrival, Chris gave us and a couple from Georgia (USA) a tour of the church and O'Reilly Museum - we were the richer for it! And the breakfasts. The breakfasts! A basket filled with goodies - baked eggs wrapped in bacon with fresh croissants the first morning and a boiled egg, bread and sausages the next - along with muffins, juice, homemade jams.

You felt at home here wanting to stay longer...

Room tip: Book at least two nights and explore the area.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2023

Wonderful place to stay! Beautiful location and view, lovely easy going hosts, immaculate room, quaint cottage and lovely gardens. We enjoyed the homemade "picnic" breakfast - delightful touch to the experience. Chris and Lori we felt very welcomed. Thank you so much!

Bill & Claudia
Port Hope, Ontario

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews