We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shakes and malts!”
Review of Malt Shop

Malt Shop
Ranked #5 of 8 Quick Bites in Natchez
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Reviewed 27 May 2015

A real throwback to the mom and pop burger and ice cream shop, this place has a walk up window and a drive through. The small chocolate milkshake hits the spot after a long morning of walking around the city.

Date of visit: May 2015
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon in Natchez 30 years ago. That's the first time I saw the Malt Shop. We have visited Natchez once or twice a year since then and we finally did it. We ate at the Malt Shop. We both had burgers and chocolate malts. They were good. We've concluded that anything wrapped in that thin white paper is yummy. We ate at the picnic table out front. Hubby had onion rings. The lady told him that the onion rings were beer battered and asked if that's ok. He responded with "it's ok honey, I've been beer battered myself." She had no response and never cracked a smile. She told everyone who ordered that the onion rings were beer battered and was that OK. Do people in Natchez discriminate against beer batter? Just wondering... And now you know... The onion rings at the Malt Shop are beer battered and yummy!

Thank TLR200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Great service and even better ice cream. The ice cream dishes were all of the old fashioned kind like I had as a kid. It is the perfect stop after a nice dinner in Natchez.

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank Bill Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

The malt shop is a little hole in the wall in Natchez. It has great food and some of the best ice cream you can get. Love there banana split.

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank LIV4JESUS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Growing up in Natchez, teenagers didn't patronize the Malt Shop (back then called The Dairy Queen) unless we were just going for a chocolate dipped cone. In the 50;s, 60;s 70;s,,,,,,,,everyone "hung out" at Monmouth Drive Inn (just across street from Monmouth Mansion). This was more of the local "hangout" where you took your date after a movie, etc., or just wanted to cruise thru to see who all was out on a Friday or Saturday night OR if you were hungry to order a REAL hamburger and Susie Q's only to have a "carhop" to deliver your food. Kind of like the way our Sonic's do today.

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malt Shop also viewed

 

Been to Malt Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.