We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Visit”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cross House

Cross House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite Ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite
Ensuite sink
Ensuite shower
Family bathroom with spa bath
Family bathroom
Lounge with wood burning stove
Main reception wood burning stove ready to light with well stocked wood baskets
Well equiped kitchen
Kitchen with family sized fridge freezer and dishwasher
Kitchen alcove
Utility room with 9kg load washing machine
Original farm house stone stairs
Landing
Landing
Second reception
Second reception double sofabed
Downstairs toilet
The back of Cross House
The River Wye at Llyswen June 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Glasbury-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane_Brop...
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Nice place. Good location. Quite close to the A470 and noisy for those not used to traffic. Convenient local Spar shop nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark W
2 reviews
“Cross House Easter 2017”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

7 of us stayed here over the Easter long weekend. The accommodation was excellent. We used the b&b opposite for breakfast each morning which set us up for the day and the pub down the road for eating in the evening. Rachael and family were really friendly and very helpful in arranging a taxi to get us to an Indian restaurant in Hay. I would highly recommend Cross House, i am sure we will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERRY L
1 review
“Met all of our needs and expectations”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Rachel and her family were very welcoming and attentive to any of our requests or concerns during our 2 week stay.
The property was ideally situated for our excursions into the surrounding area. The house was perfect for our needs as we had family members coming and going during our stay. The three bathrooms were a bonus! We did note the absence of safety bars in the shower and bathtub especially as it was a necessity for some of our group. The kitchen was modern and adequately supplied with cooking and serving necessities. The cooker was to die for!! Dining area was a little tight. Great to have the washer...could have used a dryer or at least a drying rack. We were grateful to Rachel for changing our bedding and towels mid stay.
There was a Spar shop just around the corner for bare essentials and a pub which did serve evening meals a short walk up the road.
All in all it was a very pleasant two weeks in Wales with mostly sunshine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phelantan...
1 review
“Fabulous house, fabulous location and fabulous owner.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked Cross House for the bank holiday weekend for a group of 6 in order to attend a wedding. The house was absolutely fantastic! Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, Rachael. She was absolutely lovely.

The house was absolutely perfect for us. The kitchen, bedrooms, and bathrooms were all fantastic and the whole house was very clean and finished to a very high standard. The living room was also a great space to relax.

The location was also fantastic for us being close to the wedding venue. That area of the country was also just stunning....so green...beautiful countryside and hills. There was a petrol station/Spar about a minutes walk away and a lovely cafe opposite.

A special mention for the owner Rachael. She is such a wonderful person, very friendly and helpful and she made our stay even more enjoyable. She even made us chocolate brownies and even drove us to the wedding venue about 15 minutes away!

Overall we had the most enjoyable stay. The house is fantastic, the location superb and the owner was fabulous! Would I recommend it....YES....would I stay there again....YES!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Dear John,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a heart felt review. It really matters to me that guests feel welcome and we get the hospitality aspect right for our guests. We are also grateful that you appreciate the quality and finer touches of Cross House. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Rachael.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing