We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best ”

Big Thunder Gold Mine
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Big Thunder Gold Mine has an original tour which lasts 45-55 minutes and was founded in 1892. You see the largest display of mining equipment in the Black Hills and learn the history of the gold rush in 1876. We have two forms of panning: one is our commercial panning right on site. Guides will demonstrate theskill of panning, no time limit and we guarentee you will find gold. We also have claim panning where you will pan directly our of the creek 4 miles down the road on Forest Service property. Those exist in 4 hour trips.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Hands down the best experience. My 10 year old loved the tour, panning and the gift shop. Tiffany was a great, informative and patient tour guide. She took her time, explained everything and answered every question. I highly recommend going to Big Thunder Gold Mine.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank brooke16640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclaisan, Owner at Big Thunder Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you so much for the fantastic 5 star review.....we hope that our business provided a happy moment on your trip! Sandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 122 reviews
"rattlesnake randy"
in 37 reviews
"hard hats"
in 14 reviews
"fun experience"
in 22 reviews
"great guide"
in 17 reviews
"gift shop"
in 42 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 22 reviews
"whole family"
in 19 reviews
"black hills"
in 39 reviews
"panning"
in 253 reviews
"flaky"
in 82 reviews
"mining"
in 97 reviews
"trenton"
in 45 reviews
"flecks"
in 25 reviews
"jennifer"
in 31 reviews
"sluice"
in 19 reviews
"panned"
in 41 reviews
Filter

149 - 153 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was a great tour, your kids will not get board. My kids ages 11,15,16 all had a blast and learned so much. Best part was pannig for gold at the end. Rattkesnake Randy kept our whole family laughing with his jokes while shopping the store. The tour guides were filled with so much information and plenty of time for questions and pictures.

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We had a wonderful time, our guide Trenton was super Knowledgeable about the area and the gold mining, this is a great place for kids. Big thanks to Trenton for making our experience one of a kind!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank monicabrandt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Stopped by with our three teenagers for a tour and to do some panning. The tour was very interesting and worth the price. Kids got a few flakes of gold panning afterwards. I believe they drop a couple of flakes into each bag of dirt so everyone goes home with something. Rattlesnake Randy is quite the character.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Jjkj0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018

This is good for big kids (adults) as well as little ones. Good information about mining activities and calamities during the gold rush.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Allison399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Thunder Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing