We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Absolutely amazing!

This place is amazing! We were lucky with the weather and we spent 2 days hiking in this area... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
PaulR142014
,
Sleaford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Endless breathtaking views

This park is heaven on earth. Incredible views of Rainier and various surrounding ranges at every... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
njsbrooks
,
Seattle, Washington
via mobile
Read all 434 reviews
  
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
374
36
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
36
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paradise inn visitor center reflection lake narada falls christine falls myrtle falls box canyon beautiful wildflowers snow lake lifetime pass paradise point alpine meadows wild flowers great hiking trails moderate hike nisqually river hiking boots
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 414 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Right - you need to know that the park requires you carry tire chains from 11/1 to 5/1. To quote: "All vehicles are required to carry tire chains when traveling in the park during the winter season (November 1 - May 1). This requirement applies to all vehicles (including four-wheel-drive), regardless of tire type or weather conditions." Of course, in the park the signs indicate that 4 wheel drive with approved show tires don't need chains. As long as the friendly ranger doesn't pull you over, and you don't get stuck...

Thank Freedom19846832572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is amazing! We were lucky with the weather and we spent 2 days hiking in this area. Views were amazing and loads of hikes to choose from.

We hope to come back again!

Thank PaulR142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This park is heaven on earth. Incredible views of Rainier and various surrounding ranges at every turn, not to mention incredible driving roads. So many hikes to explore and various viewpoints which you can drive up to.

Thank njsbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great park best visited during the week. We got through early on a Saturday with no problems but by 11 am there were 100 cars in line. Best to take trails not often hiked so check at Longmire when you first enter park. Beautiful vistas, huge mountain, very nice old growth forests. Paradise itself is crowded most of the year but has gorgeous meadows and plentiful wildlife. Mountain goats are frequent but non hikers need binoculars to spot them on the slopes.

1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We spent two days hiking and seeing all the waterfalls and we got to see the mountain in all its glory. I love the parks and this one was right up there on the list. Make sure you go to Paradise and Sunrise because each gives you a very different look at the park. Go early because parking lots fill up very fast we tried to be there no later than 9:00 am.

Thank letsdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Our best view of Mt Rainier was on the way from the airport in the evening. During our stay there we could see up to about 8,000 feet and it was quite cold. The Rangers were all very helpful. I saw a bear from SourDough Ridge.

Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

So it’s a hit or miss with being able to see the mountains because it could be sunny on the base but then a snow storm up in top. It’s like a 20/30 minute drive up with an incredible view. We got 4 seasons on our drive up. It was sunny, then rainy and breezy and then some snow. Once on top the visitor center has great views from inside b/c it was pretty chilly. We lucked out and the weather cleared up for us to see most of the peaks for like 20 minutes. And then the clouds rolled in and we got snow. Best bet to go to get best chance to see a clear view is in July, August and first three weeks in sept. Overall it was amazing!

Thank NYCSunshine42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We hired a car and it was a leisurely 2 hr drive from Downtown Seattle. Nice easy journey and SO much cheaper than an organised tour where you are rushed about. We stopped at a great viewing point of Mount Rainer about 30 minutes away right by a small church....great spot for a photo. The park is great value and absolutely stunning.$30.00 for a car and 4 people. Just before the park don’t miss the tree stump cemetery!
Once in make sure you stop at all the waterfalls....everyone is stunning. Head all the way up to Paradise where the vegetation goes into wild artistic colours! Lunch at the cafe was a great cheese and beer or chilli soup....all excellent on the small deck that is a sun trap. Don’t miss the friendly chipmunks who pose for photos!
On the way down you must stop at Reflection Lakes....the first is the best and delivers stunning photos! We arrived at 12.00 and left at 17.00 having taken so many wonderful photos!
Everything here is stunning and a MUST see!

Thank 333Douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Rode the gondola up Crystal Mountain. At the top is a mind blowing view of Mt. Rainier. This is great for those who do not want to hike. There is also a great restaurant and you can sit outside on a beautiful day, enjoy something to drink and eat and enjoy the view! There are also lots of chipmunks up there and it you sit on the ground they will eat right out of your hand.

Thank susanwZ2513SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

If you are near Seattle, be sure to go. The park is well-suited for hiking, walking on paved trails or just driving through. Don't miss this park.

Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews