We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
74
27
11
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
27
11
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub small family coffee maker dining table sized bed small cabin pots and pans short drive national park labyrinth woods bears trail retreat fireplace wedding lodge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

1. There's a Wow factor, soon as Goldilocks pokes her head through the door! This beautiful new log structure belongs in a coffee table book. The peeled logs are enormous, with many unusual aesthetic touches like a room divider made with long branches whose twigs stretch to the high ceiling.

2. Log furniture and....lots of neat details. A gigantic papa bear sized bed. Log dining table with log chairs, handmade dishes with hand painted evergreen pattern. Big stone fireplace complete with kindling, fire starters, and cut dry firewood. Wall sconces with a dimmer control.

3. Complete kitchen if Goldilocks gets hungry...with service for four (including wine glasses), pots and pans, loads of utensils, full oven, range, refrig, freezer, toaster, coffee maker,salt & pepper,balsamic vinegar and olive oil, hot mitts, trivet, place mats and cloth napkins...and woodsy artistic drawer pulls on the antique cabinet.

4. The bears who live here thought of everything: Thoughtful details everywhere -- soft towels, nice pump soap, dish washing detergent, nice clean sponge, loads of pillows and cushions everywhere, throws for sitting in front of the fireplace, big foot rests, big easy chairs in the loft for reading with good lamps,-- good grief! There were even two little containers of ice cream in the freezer. Goldilocks certainly enjoyed poking around and making herself at home!

5. The bears must be off in the woods for the entire day because there are so many great trails a very short drive away, both in the National Park and in the National Forest. I'll bet that when they get home, they plan to soak away their aches in the great big papa bear sized jacuzzi or the glassed in mama bear shower with good water pressure and lots of hot water.

6. Someone in the bear family must be a pretty good housekeeper. Everything is so clean -- even the twigs.

7. Goldilocks surely must have been drawn by the twinkly lights around the door and followed the lights on the dark little path. When the bears get home, they might find her asleep in the hammock up in the loft. So wonder. Its soooooooo quiet!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diamondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skye T, Manager at Wellspring, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Diamondqueen,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. It truly sparkles. Wellspring has been a slow-crafted labor of love, built by hand. It's a thrill for us when guests appreciate that. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. And thank you for your visit, we hope you'll return very soon.

Until then, happy trails.

Skye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We booked the 3 bears cabin, which is one of the child friendly cabins they offer. The place is big enough for 6 people and is perfect for a family outing.

Our visit was late December, we had a lot of snow, but most of it melted fast, so if you want to hike in not melting snow, the trails around the cabins are not recommended.

Useful information: The park entrance is about a 5 minute drive, but to go up to the Paradise visitor center is another 45 minutes. The last gas station before the park is back in Ashford. There are a couple of places to grab breakfast or dinner in either direction, but don't expect anything fancy. I would recommend taking food along, the kitchen is well equipped for basic cooking or heating up readymade food. Our cabin was not super-well insulated, so only one of the bedrooms and the bathroom was well heated without making a fire. Firewood is provided, but the stoves are not great and won't hold heat throughout the night, so if you have a young child this might provide a challenge, which we solved by eventually moving our youngest one to the one heated bedroom.
Use the hot tub! It is great and works well. Certainly a nice touch, even our older kids loved it.

Overall, the place is great if you are willing to keep the fire going and the park is magnificent in the winter. I am sure the summer is not different.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

My wife and I stayed for two nights a year prior and rented one of the luxury cabins. We enjoyed our stay but found it weird that no one was available. Since we enjoyed our stay prior we decided to book two nights at one of the luxury cabins again this year. We were only able to get one night so we decided to go with that and booked it. Upon arriving near check in time we found the cabin was not cleaned from the night prior and was told by housekeeping that someone else had the cabin we booked for an additional night. The night we had booked! We were told to call the manager on the phone provided at the bulletin board where you pick up your keys. As mentioned prior by other guests no one is on site other than some helpers. This resulted in us having to turn around and drive back home since we had no place to stay. There is no internet service or cell service at this location so we expected a return call when we got to Elbe approximately 15 miles away. No one called. We left additional e-mails and attempted calling. As I am writing this it is three hours past check in with still no response. They had sent us e-mail confirmation and billed our credit card. They had no problem taking our money but had no interest in even explaining what happened and trying to help make it right. Personally anyone who books a stay here is taking a big gamble that you even have a room when you arrive. If you have any problems you will not get help! Now we have a fight on our hands to get refunded. This place is run by irresponsible management don't take the risk!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank patrickobermire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The hotel itself is tucked away in a quiet place off one of the main roads out of Mt. Rainier National Park. The cabin we had was spacious and could have accommodated another two people easily. The room was clean and came with a full kitchen. The problem we had is that there was no way to communicate with anyone once we got there. Our cell phones did not work, there was no phone in the room to call out, and there was no traditional desk to contact if there was a problem. In fact we never saw any hotel staff the entire time we were there. If one of us had gotten seriously ill, I don't know how we could have gotten help other than to flag down a car on the main road.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Chalerya2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Wellspring is a gem in Mount Rainier. We stayed in Turiya with the Zen Garden. The room was perfect size and nice. I do agree to some other reviewer's that the bed needs an update. The Zen garden was truly relaxing. If you are looking for a place to unwind this is a perfect room. The hot tub is free to use after 9 pm if you stay in Turiya! We also had massages in the Woodland spa and it was awesome. Play some nature music, and just unwind. We did explore the Labyrinth, which feels very sacred.

Check-in was easy with clear instructions. There are couple of restaurants and grocery shops nearby. Just make sure you go for dinner no later than 8 pm. Weekdays they close at 8.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
2  Thank NishNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews