We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it before wind farm ruins the business”
Review of Percy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Percy's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We have eaten at the restaurant four times in total over the years and the food is every bit as outstanding as the expert reviewers say it is. However service is always very slow and choice is very limited. We find the atmosphere a bit off-putting as most of the guests seem to be financiers and accountants down from London; and the patron, understandably, takes more interest in them than in less free-spending locals. His wife, the chef, is by contrast totally charming and unaffected.
Her cookbook--with foreward by James "Gaia" Lovelock, a local resident and patron of the restaurant--is excellent.
A wind farm development is now being considered for a site only about a mile from the hotel which threatens to destroy the attractions of the area for Londoners looking for a restful break in beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SJD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Percy's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

After reading some mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. But what a fantastic place, A warm welcome, an excellent room and all the things that make a stay more enjoyable. The first night we ate in the restaurant and loved every mouthful, my thanks to the chef in making such a visit well worthwhile. my only regret was the restaurant wasn't open for the second night.
The grounds are great and we were joined by one black lab who showed us around the grounds.
Well worth the money, we will definitely be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garymyrtle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Percy's Country Hotel is not for you!

My wife and I recently returned from a five day stay (predominantly business). On returning I wanted to leave a review on Tripadvisor and, having read some previous reviews, wondered if some of the reviewers stayed / ate at the same place! So heres the truth the whole truth and nothing but..

Percy's is really an up-market FARMHOUSE B&B WITH A RESTAURANT, it is not a hotel in the normal sense. If you want to stay in the height of luxury, with a spa, all day bar, and an extensive menu written in French, then are you going to be disappointed!!

If you want somewhere clean and comfortable, in the middle of the North Devon countryside, enjoy country walks and know the provenance of the organic food that you will eat, then Percy's may well be for you. Percy's is about simply relaxing and enjoying the environment.

Rooms, located in the old granary, are a good size, comfortably furnished with TV / DVD, and free WIFI is available. The beds are on the firm side of medium, but not hard, the decor and furnishings simple, but attractive. The en suite has everything you need. There are tea and coffee facilities in the room, no prepackaged coffee here, ground coffee is supplied. The fridge in the room holds fresh milk and two large bottles of water, replaced on a daily basis. Even a corkscrew and wine glasses are to hand.

Besides the piece of cake that appears in your room during the afternoon, expect a knocking sound at your door at any time; its either Sophie (collie) or Annie (black lab) banging their tails against the door to remind you its your duty to take them (and the other dogs) for a walk around the 100+ acres. Green Wellington boots are provided at Percy's, but remember to take boot socks with you and a change of trousers; the dogs enjoy your company as they run around and show this gratitude by covering you in mud spatters!

Choosing what to eat in the restaurant in the evening is simple; it's a set menu based around your likes and dislikes (and those of your fellow guests), allied to whats freshly available. It was actually enjoyable to eat beautifully cooked food which I might not always select if I had had a choice. The four course meal is all about quality and purity of flavours. Eating is a relaxed affair with everything freshly prepared; including a drink in the bar allow two hours plus. Wine choice is not extensive, but adequate covering all tastes, and prices are not unreasonable; we left the choice to Tony most nights.

Speaking of Tony AKA (self styled) Mr Grumpy, our host, looked after us admirably.

Breakfast maintains the standards, but depending on availability, you may have to decide whether you want hen / duck / goose egg with your fry up! Crispy toast, from home made bread, and the best home made marmalade I've ever tasted, round off a good start to the day.

Everything that you eat at Percy's is either home grown / raised, or has been sourced from local farms with known provenance.

Does Percy's represent value for money? If you are staying for several nights and get the discounted DBB rate, I think it is; at the advertised single night rate, the price is on the high side, and one night does not do Percy's justice.

Historically, when on business trips to the area we have stayed in Bude, eating at local Bude restaurants. Percy's is more expensive overall, but represents better value for the environment you're staying in and the quality of food you're eating; it is just so relaxing after a hard day. So much so that we've booked in again later this month.

Percy's? Its all about those simple pleasures!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The inspiration for this visit was Tina's cookery book which we had bought at the Ludlow Food Festival a couple of years ago. We checked the reviews with trip advisor and they were somewhat mixed but the values about food prominent in Tina's cookbook persuaded us to follow our instincts.

We could wax lyrical about the lovely room, with it's separate seating area and the lovely cake waiting for us each afternoon; the gorgeous country estate, the excellent and unobtrusive service but we can keep it simple by saying this is simply the best place we have found in this country. The environment is just superb and the absolute topping is the food - without doubt, the freshest, most perfectly balanced, beautifully cooked and utterly delicious food we have had.

In short if you don't appreciate great food, superb accommodation and a wonderful country environment then this probably isn't the place for you but if you do enjoy those things, as we do, then Percy's is an experience you shouldn't miss.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Spent 1 night here to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Perfect from start to finish. We were warmly welcomed by Tony to our spacious room in a converted barn. Lovely to have a proper coffee maker and fresh milk in the fridge and the cake was yummy! The accommodation is not country house style, but extremely comfortable with good attention to detail (fluffy towels and bathrobes, etc and scrupulously clean)

Dinner was just fantastic. Tina's food is truly delicious from the warming spicy lentil soup amuse bouche, perfectly cooked scallops, wonderfully juicy pheasant and truly delicious chocolate truffle sponge! (I never eat puddings, but managed most of this one!).

The food & hospitality ethos of Tony and Tina may not be to everyone's taste (after looking at some of the previous comments) but I would highly recommend it! How wonderful to be served food that has been produced with love and care!

I hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Lavender was lovely!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruwysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginstow
9.6 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
398 reviews
6.9 km away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
518 reviews
6.9 km away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
515 reviews
35.7 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
26.8 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Virginstow

Been to Percy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Percy's Hotel

Address: Coombeshead Estate, Virginstow EX21 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Virginstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Price Range: $187 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50-acres of stunning countryside, streams and woodland, the panoramic views extend over both Bodmin moor and Dartmoor. This luxury privately owned country hotel offers peace and tranquility in a relaxed environment with organic kitchen gardens and 50 acres of pasture & woodland. Unpretentious dining, free Wi-Fi and parking. Dogs welcome in some of the rooms.Hotel awards include South West Small Hotel of the Year for two years running and runner up for Small Hotel of the Year for Great Britain. All of the rooms share a homely ambiance, are spacious and equipped with king size beds, Egyptian cotton linen and fluffy towels and robes as standard. Free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV, designer toiletries and much more besides. There is a range of room types available, from Standard, Superior and Deluxe options as well as one suite.Among the many restaurant awards, an article written by by Giles Coren gave Percy's 9/10. Diners are well looked after and are treated to a culinary experience to remember. Specialising in modern British cuisine, everything is cooked to order & beautifully presented. Flavoursome rather than fussy, all dishes are made from the very finest locally sourced or homegrown organic ingredients. Lamb & pork are reared on the Estate and the kitchen garden provides vegetables, herbs, salad leaves. The two orchards provide apples which are juiced and offered to guests for breakfast. The peaceful surroundings and excellent grounds make Percy's an ideal venue for special celebrations and private hire. Wildlife abounds including a family of beavers, who have been very busy in stream and ponds and bring much delight to guests who tip toe down to the valley to see them at dawn and dusk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Percys Hotel Virginstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing