We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sweet little cottage in perfect location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 26A The Lugger

Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
View from front of cottage Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Sitting Room
View from front of cottage
Sitting Room
Twin Bedroom
Bay in Portscatho
Portscatho
Coastal Path
View of village
A Beach
Sailing in Gerrans Bay
Cliff Top
A mother seal with her pups in a nearby cove
Beach from cliff path
The Bay at Sunset
View of the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane E
1 review
“Sweet little cottage in perfect location!”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely stay in this cottage in March 2017. Despite being a chilly time of year, the cottage was very warm and cosy. We were really comfortable here - the decor isn't super-modern but everything was perfectly nice and clean. Comfy chairs and beds, good bath (with overhead shower); the kitchen is small but well-equipped, with everything we needed for cooking meals at home, and there's a separate dining table/space. That sitting room is lovely, with the French windows leading into a nice garden. The cottage is perfectly placed for walks along the stunning coastal paths and beaches, right from the doorstep in both directions! There's a really well-stocked shop in the village too, so we didn't need to get in the car at all if we didn't want to. We were able to really chill out and relax - would definitely stay in this cottage again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timhoward...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“So good to be back!”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

So nice to have an early season visit to the cottage that feels like our second home. We take 26a The Lugger every summer for three weeks and 2017 will be our 23rd year. Cosy, comfortable, homely and a fantastic position! Two minutes walk from the harbour and my little boat, lovely little garden where we have BBQs and early drinks in the evening sunshine. The main bedroom looks out to the sea and each morning I take my cup of tea back to bed and watch the boats pottering by. We self cater and the kitchen / dining room works really well, lots of jolly banter while I slave over dinner. Wifi was a welcome addition a few years ago, especially for the boys, but good for Dad as well! Roll on July 21st, can't wait but between now and then grab it if you can. You'll love it I'm sure as we do. (There's also a parking space which is a real treat, especially in the mid summer season).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
405elaine...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location of this super cottage is stunning! We have visited Portscatho many times over the past few years, and stayed in the owners other cottages too. She is always going out of her way to accommodate us and meet our needs, with dates to suit us, at any time of the year! Nothing is too much for her! The cottages are always clean, comfortable and very well equipped, like our very own second home!
I was stunned having read the previous review, and can honestly say that all three of the owners cottages, on every occasion that we have visited, have been clean, warm, very well equipped and homely. Portscatho is tranquil, picturesque and quiet. We feel our shoulders drop as soon as we arrive. We are already counting down the weeks until our next visit to one of Angela's cottages.....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room for Improvement”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were very disappointed with the standard of this property. The interior was out-dated and grubby, with some curtains that were tattered; the cooking utensils not well cared for and needed replacing; the radiators didn't always work effectively.
Thankfully, the weather was kind to us for the week we were staying in Portscatho and so, we were out most of the time.
We were of 'two minds' about writing this Review but felt we needed to make future visitors aware that the photos and description of this property were not entirely accurate.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
I am very sorry to read this review, I can't understand what could possibly have gone so wrong in 5 months since the last very positive review?

If 'in "two minds" about writing this review', the sensible thing to do would have been to have contacted the owner directly to discuss any issues, may I ask why you haven't done so? Unfortunately, I have not been able to oversea the property before the start of the season to access what upgrades and improvements have to be made. Living 200 hundred miles away makes checkups difficult and have to rely on cleaners to report any comments left - curtains were o the list.

Direct communication would have been appreciated. The knock on effects of not doing so are detrimental and unwarranted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slater249
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful, cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A brilliant place to stay, right by the coast with stunning walks along the cliff paths, only to come back to a warm, inviting and cosy cottage with a lovely open fire. A fantastic place for a relaxing break no matter what the weather.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing