We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option with expected Westin quality amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Morristown
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great option with expected Westin quality amenities”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I can't speak to the value of the hotel for the average traveler; I work for a non-corporate Starwood property (but different brand) so my room rate was very low. However, I was quite impressed by the staff, particularly the front desk associate who checked me in (unfortunately i don't remember her name, but she was blonde and I believe she may have been a manager).

My standard king room was in a slightly dated but very well maintained wing, and the bed and bathroom were superb. The only quirk I noticed was that there are no dresser drawers; what I expected to be a dresser was a cabinet with shelves. Not a big issue, but I was too tall to access it easily.

The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere, but the dinner menu was very meat-reliant, so not a good option for me as a vegetarian. After our first night, we chose to explore local restaurants instead. However, the breakfast buffet was very good and service was attentive, from server to manager.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amcrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    179
    82
    37
    29
See reviews for
141
114
32
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed there in a nice room on the 3rd floor. However, there was a large party with DJ on the 2nd floor of the hotel that was unbearable until 12:30am in the morning. Head pounding noise. Of course, the hotel staff was aware of this but they still placed guests like myself on the 3rd floor right above the noise. After complaining, they comped my room but it didnt make up for the lack of sleep and the headache. It is completely ridiculous for such a hotel to book guest at nearly $200 and not inform them of the DJ, loud music and such that the hotel knew was taking place that night. Do NOT trust this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EricMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This venerable property has recently been upgraded to its four-star rating after an extensive (and interminable) refurbishing. We have stayed at this hotel numerous times, thus this review is an average of several stays. Its location is out-of-the-way, in a residential neighborhood just off I-287. It has a large (and free) parking lot. The hotel's public areas, and sole restaurant, have comfortable seating and furnishings. The Lobby staff is omnipresent and very solicitous. Check-in is a breeze, and the staff is well trained, if unenthusiastic. The elevators are old, but safe (I think!). The rooms (most are unconnected, a plus!) are "standard" suburban sized (read: large for a metropolitan hotel), with old-style HVAC under the windows (thus, condensation), but the well-appointed bathrooms are small (read: too small!), and have a sliding door which affords little privacy if more than one guest share the room (at least, the bathrooms have continuous ventilation). Its multiple exercise rooms are small, but, once again, well supplied with top-brand newer equipment. Finally, the restaurant is average (bar is better, with a huge selection of drinks), even after it changed names recently (very uneven wait staff). The Westin shines, though, in one category: it's VERY affordable most of the time, with weekend/holiday rates which are, most of the time, below $100+taxes (for a Traditional room, more for the Premier or DeLuxe rooms). It also offers free WiFi, and a free shuttle to downtown Morristown, some 5' away. In a nutshell, "affordable luxury."

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

All surface value, no soul that's this hotel in a nutshell. We took shelter there the night of the oct. 29th snowstorm. And proceeded to stay there a full week, having lost power in our home which was also damaged in the storm. The management of the hotel, from the cheerlessness of the front desk personnel to the arrogance and cold-hearted avarice of the reservation manager, made our stay nerve-racking. Each night we had to beg to stay on because they claimed they were overbooked. There was no concern about throwing us out without us having any shelter. And this was a community in crisis, and the hotel being part of that community should have been more welcoming. As for the room, it was modern, the bathroom is small, with little room to put one's toiletries. The shower is decent. The TV offerings are minimal. No ability to purchase movies, and only one premium channel. The maid service is below par for this caliber hotel. Soap, shampoo, etc. is not replaced without requests. The breakfast buffet is poor, both in selection and quality. Should you have to stay in the area, head for it's sister property, the sheraton tara.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights, lovely big bright room, great shower, the free shuttle was very handy resource, staff were lovely. Ate at the restaurant on the sunday night was very quiet, but the rest of the week the place was very busy and the sushi bar very popular.

Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strollinthepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
2.5 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
802 reviews
1.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#5 of 5 in Morristown
940 reviews
2.2 km away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#3 of 5 in Morristown
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,048 reviews
9.2 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
701 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown

Property: The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
Address: 2 Whippany Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-4768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morristown
#5 Business Hotel in Morristown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Price range (per night): $241 - $531
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Governor Morris, Morristown. Our modern yet sophisticated "four-plus" star Morristown hotel offers spacious guest rooms & suites, with state-of-the-art amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown Hotel Morristown
Westin Governor Morris Morristown
Westin Morristown
Morristown Westin
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing