We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, spacious and well-equipped in a lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

Granary - Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Granary - Front View
Dining room Large vaulted kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Granary - Front View
Dining room
Large vaulted kitchen/diner
Kitchen with large fridge freezer, microwave and washing machine, fully fitted
Lounge - 50' TV, Blue Ray DVD, Leather seating for 12, woodburner
Lounge with two 4 seater leather sofas, various leather chairs
Lounge
Lounge
Games Room with 3/4 size snooker table, dart board, 'rings' and many more games.
games room also has separate TV and sofa.
Sun Room with lovely views of the Church opposite
Sunroom
1st floor King room
King 1st floor
1st Floor - Family room with Superking Bed, Bunks room, ensuite and cot
1st Floor - Family room with Superking Bed, Bunks room, ensuite and cot
Bunks room (linked to Superking Room)
Bathroom 2, links to the bunk room and family room.
!st floor twin room
Shower room 1st floor
King 2nd floor has ensuite bathroom
2nd Floor ensuite to King room
Twin 2nd Floor
2nd floor ensuite to twin room
Kitchen
Shower room, 1st floor
Lounge
Kitchen
Garden with seating for 12
Hallway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Cromer, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarahg732...
Needingworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, spacious and well-equipped in a lovely location”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was our second visit yet the granary still had the 'wow factor' for us! Lots of space for the whole family (3 generations) - we loved all sitting around the table together, the kitchen is very well- equipped, as is the rest of the house. The games room was popular with the children and adults alike and the living room is very spacious, we would like to return again in colder weather and use the wood burner! The bedrooms are beautifully furnished with lovely individual features in each one. ( the new bunk beds were great!), and the beds were very comfortable. The sun room is a great place to escape and relax, there is enough space there to enjoy quality time all together and also to retreat and relax quietly. Location is lovely too! Thank you, we had a wonderful time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to celebrate my birthday in such a beautiful place with all the family!
Liked least: Having to leave...!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Granary. I am so glad your stay, second time around, was as good as the first. Every year we make improvements, some are not so evident and other are more obvious, like new kitchen and walk in shower and new sofas. We love it when our guests return. I am glad you enjoyed the comfy beds, as many of these are new too! Hope to see you all again some time and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane J
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Granary is a lovely, large, very comfotable converted barn in a beautiful North Norfol village, near the sea.”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Granary is large and stylish. It is very well equipped and ideal for extended families/groups. It sleeps twelve. It has a great Games Room which includes a snooker table, darts, board games and toys for younger family members. It is light and spacious and its delightful upstairs sun room provides peace and quiet for any member of the group wishing to have quiet time away from the hustle and bustle of the reception rooms and televisions downstairs. It is in a lovely traditional flint village within very easy reach of lovely beaches - the nearest can be visited on foot by those who enjoy walking. I strongly recommend the Granary. Personal touches such as decorations to celebrate my 60th birthday and a bottle of champagne waiting for us, made us feel very welcome. The owner is very friendly and helpful and we will be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the house and the comfort.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2013
Thank you Diane for your lovely comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am conscious that many have our guests are celebrating special occasions and am just really pleased that your stay was memorable for all the right reasons. We look forward to hearing from you again, when you next come back. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed at the Granary with my husband, our children and grandchildren - ten of us in all and there was room for more! The weather wasn't brilliant but there are plenty of games to play plus the space to play them. The kitchen is well equipped - everything needed to prepare a full family roast including a huge table to sit round. We would have loved to make use of the picnic area outside but the snow stopped us! One more thing... Amazingly comfy beds! Fiona was extremely helpful and welcoming - lovely touch of a couple of bottles of wine on arrival too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped and lots if space.
Liked least: The smokey woodburner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Granary. I am so glad to hear you had a great time, despite the weather. I am a great believer in a good night's sleep and hence replaced the mattresses last year and put deep toppers on them, which I think makes all the difference, so very pleased it was appreciated. Very Best Wishes Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZACKARY1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“5* in every way!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed at the Granary 11 - 15th Feb 2013 and loved it! The Granary itself is just stunning accommodation. The booking process and information we received regarding our stay was excellent and we could not have asked for more. Our family group aged from 8 years to 82 years and I can honestly say everyone was catered for. Plenty of room so you never felt on top of each other. The kids and adults included loved the games room and the great selection of activities it offered. Every one was pleased with their accommodation with simple touches like comfortable beds, good towels and plenty of extra bedding just in case required. We hope to return to the Granary soon. Thanks again Fiona.
PS Top tip if you are townies like we were and struggled to light the fire buy some kindling and the problem will be solved!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Granary, I am so pleased you all had a good time and enjoyed your stay. Time together with family is such a treat these days so I am delighted to hear that everyone was happy with their rooms and the facilites in general and very pleased to hear that you will be back. Thanks again, best wishes Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathleen9...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant place for a family celebration”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We've just spent a wonderful week at the granary celebrating a big birthday, myself with friends, sons, sisters and brother. It couldn't have been better. The house is so well thought out, loads of room for everyone in comfort. Lovely beds and bathrooms, well equipped kitchen with everything you need and a great big table for all to sit around eating and chatting. The games room was the hub of the house for us and where we spent most of the time There is a lovely pub with friendly locals a very short walk away and lots of good walks and beaches close by. Altogether an exceptional place for familty gatherings. We will definitely be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and comfort of the house
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Many thanks for your comments. It is good to know that the layout and facilities are appreciated. I am pleased to hear you were made welcome at The Foundry, and thank you very much for recommending The Granary to others.
Best Wishes
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing