We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
789
341
86
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
341
86
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstandard roomdel solfantastic viewsbackground musiccertain timesmodern buildingswimming poolwell worth a visitstunning locationrooms are spaciousjunior suiteancient castleovernight stopspa facilitiescafe barsurrounding countrysiderestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Excellent Hotel in a spectacular location. The room, food, grounds and public spaces were all excellent. Wonderful friendly staff. The views are amazing from the rooms and the grounds. Excellent dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank pgwilki2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeLorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parador de Lorca, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thanks for staying whit us .We appreciate you feedback.

Many Thanks and King regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Very swish Parador and excellent restaurant. We only had a standard room but were well satisfied. It was easy to walk down into the city and back, about 30 minutes. Restauration of the historic centre and churches is continuing after the 2011 earthquake.
The archaeological museum is free and full of interest, though we missed out the numismatic collection! We had 3 nights and were happy to eat in as the weather was wintry. Recommend the artichokes wrapped in ham and the arroz caldoso in particular. Home made ice cream is fab.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeLorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parador de Lorca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for staying with us.

We appreciate your feedback.

Many thanks and King regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Even over the long life of the Paradores, celebrating their 90th birthday in 2018, there can’t be many that have been formally opened by royalty. But the Parador de Lorca, with its distinguished history where for a while Muslims, Jews and Christians existed in some form of harmony in the shadow of the huge hill castle, was opened by Queen Sofia in 2013. This Parador must be overall their most distinguished combination of a unique historical site and wonderful modern architecture – and for us that combination is quite sufficient for great hotel-happiness. But it represents the most serious aspect of the Parador chain, now classified as Essentia sites. So although there is a luxury side to the hotel, it’s not celeb-style high-profile luxury, though we should also remember that in general Paradores have 4 stars – not 5, so you can't expect the ultimate luxury bells and whistles. But we’ve stayed in plenty of 4-star places that launch the Parador de Lorca into a 6-star category.

It’s built on a spectacular hilltop literally in places over an archaeological site and overlooking the town of Lorca and its surroundings. Planning this building must have been a diplomatic nightmare, never mind the complexities of erecting the actual structure, which is astonishing (we were told that three architects were involved sequentially, and it would be interesting to know the reasons). I don’t think I’ve ever encountered a hotel that uses so many materials, presumably mostly local. There are meticulously planned open lounge areas on all floors with carefully placed windows and lovely comfy chairs and sofas to offer countless different views. But apart from a bit of background music they are designed to be quiet areas, and if you’re not a fan of subdued modern architecture and design, then yes, it may all seem a bit cold and uninteresting, especially at times of year when there aren’t many guests. We found it welcoming and a restful pleasure simply to be in. If you’re looking for ‘buzz’, you won’t find it here. The Naturia Paradors, for example the lovely one at Mujácar where we stayed after Lorca, are more obviously lively and family-orientated, with lots of white and primary colours. Choose your Paradores carefully.

The views from this Parador continually change throughout the day – lots of mist drifting down the distant mountains when we were there in early March, and beautiful sunrises and sunsets. We took a guided tour (in Spanish) around the 15th century synagogue in the Jewish quarter that was unexpectedly uncovered when the hotel was being built. However, there’s plenty of English in the fine display exhibited in the building enclosing the synagogue excavations. (Some of the artefacts have been moved to the archaeological museum in Lorca town itself.)

We stayed two nights at Lorca then returned for a final night. We had two different rooms; both were large and very fine with comfy armchairs, desk-space and huge firm beds. Amazingly the windows open – fully. You couldn’t do that even on the ground floor of a UK hotel because of our concern about risk of harm from falling 2 feet onto grass. Electrics and plumbing are, as you’d expect, very fine (though an English TV channel wouldn’t compromise the understandable nationalist element in the Paradores). Others have pointed out that Paradores don’t do cosy in-room domesticity, such as tea and coffee, nor ironing boards etc. That doesn’t trouble us, because coffees and snacks at very reasonable prices were immediately available in the slightly over-grand cafeteria and terrace. Anyway, we’re on holiday in a country where everyone serves great coffee at half the price of the generally horrible stuff we drink in the UK, and the last thing we want is instant Nescafe and finding a place to dispose of soggy tea bags. Everyone to their own.

We had dinner in their grand formal restaurant all three nights. One evening there was a large corporate party for dinner, and the food quality dipped slightly, presumably because the chefs were over-stretched, but the other nights were excellent. A three-course meal with bread and a couple of nice amuses-bouche for 30 euros is very good value (warning: even the half-portion starters can be huge). Breakfasts were lovely and full of local produce and in-house patisserie, with eggs to order and decent coffee. Serious again: background music is classical.

Staff are friendly and well-presented, service prompt (though we were on holiday and a few minutes here or there is mostly irrelevant) and we were sorry to leave this lovely and peaceful place. But hopefully it’ll be at least another 90 years before there’s disco and karaoke nights at the Parador de Lorca.

• Lorca town is pleasant and worth a visit, though we didn’t come across many restaurants. The archaeology museum is spectacular, bright and lively (free entry), and the local craft centre in a fine modern building is jammed with high-quality local artisan craftwork, including some fabulous wall-hangings/carpets at very low prices. There is a Casino (but not that kind of casino – more a gentleman’s club), though there’s no public entry (unlike the amazing and slightly mad Casino in Murcia).

• For a complete change, we went from Lorca to the Mojácar Parador, about 55 miles away (an easy drive). This is one of their seaside Naturia hotels, also with some stunning (this time white) architecture, and more family-friendly.

• If you’re planning to drive into town centres there’s usually plenty of underground parking, but parking spaces are tight and there can be some fairly hair-raising turns on the way down. We opt for the smallest hire cars!

• Spain’s a big country. On our first Parador visit to northern Spain we underestimated the distances between them, and spent much of our days driving. Fortunately road quality is superb and the motorways are in much better condition than in the UK (occasional tolls which take only cards, but curiously don’t require PIN numbers). After four days my account hadn’t been debited – they may be dummy terminals.

• Wherever you come across them Spanish loos are among the finest and most fragrant in the world, even in the tiniest café. What’s their secret, and why can’t we do the same here?

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeLorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parador de Lorca, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience, because it helps us to improve. We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay, and that you enjoyed el Parador de Lorca, the amazing surroundings we are located at. We will let al th team know about your comments and we hope to see you back at el Parador de Lorca.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Set high on a steep hill next to a castle overlooking Lorca this was an outstanding Parador. It was an architectural’s dream. The suite we had was superb in every possible way and beautifully appointed. We had lunch and breakfast there and both were very enjoyable. Public areas were tastefully furnished and the staff could not have been more welcoming. Food and drinks were reasonably priced given the quality of this Parador.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeLorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parador de Lorca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Sir,

From el Parador de Lorca we would like to thank your for sharing your comments. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon back with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

If you love Spain and “lo español”, by which I mean everything and everyone Spanish, you will love the Parador de Lorca. If you don’t already love Spain, or if you are feeling disillusioned with any aspect of it, then visit the Parador de Lorca and your faith will be restored.
It has everything that I love about Spain (apart from the sea, and that is not far away.) They call Lorca the ciudad del sol, and true to form, the sun does always seem to shine.
Lorca is steeped in history, and the incorporation of the new parador into the ancient castle is an architectural masterpiece. Ignore the ugly and greedy over speculation on much the coast and instead admire this majestic reconstruction and amplification of the 9th century castle and archaeological remains. Both inside and out the Parador is a delight to behold, and the rooms are both generously large and extremely comfortable.
The food is exquisite. I wasn’t surprised to see two of the Parador’s chefs amongst the finalists in a recent competition, and delighted that one, Juan Antonio Morales, was the overall winner. You can sample his prizewinning dish and the accompanying cocktail for just 5 euros. We didn’t, but only because we already had so much wonderful food to eat that we couldn’t have managed any more. This year our “Cena Romántica” was very special, with a selection of entremeses to start, a “segundo” from the menu and a tasting plate of varied deserts to finish. The meal is accompanied by wine, which we couldn’t finish, so saved for the following night. Once again we were served by the delightful Marisol and her team. These lovely, efficient waiters manage to combine genuine warmth with total professionalism.
I enjoy the swimming pool, and manage to swim my 140 lengths (the pool is quite small) without getting in anyone else’s way. Swimming as the sun sets on the horizon is a delight, as you can see the fading light of the town below slowly giving way to artificial street lamps and illuminations. The pool is set just over some of the archaeological remains, which are tastefully lit up at night.
We love the situation, high on the hilltop overlooking the town. At night the sounds and sights are really very special and so Spanish. In the weeks preceding Semana Santa, you can hear the strident and passionate music of the various Pasos, preparing for the Easter week processions. They practise all evening until 11 at night and it is incredibly moving, with the marching beat of the drums and the triumphant bursts of trumpets.
We never fail to enjoy a wonderful walk along the Cejo de los Enamorados. This time we didn’t see any cabra, but we did see, as always, people of all ages enjoying this delightful, invigorating walk. And they are all so friendly, and pleased to see visitors enjoying this path that is so much appreciated by the local people.
It isn’t far to Lorca golf course, which is a delight in itself, with equally friendly staff and amazing views. Alternatively, there are plenty of places of historic interest to visit within the town. It is fascinating to see the reconstruction that is still taking place, following the 2011 earthquake. Great care is being taken to restore historic buildings to their former glory.
Finally, the staff are all so friendly and hospitable. What I love about the Paradors is that they are luxurious, but affordable. Yes, they are slightly dearer than some hotels, but they are not prohibitive. Indeed, if you are an amigo, there are always good value offers, and every so often you can use your accumulated points for a special treat, like a free meal or overnight stay. The Paradors are never stuffy, and at Lorca we always feel as if we are welcomed like old friends.
Two nights in the Parador de Lorca are an absolute treat, and something we look forward to for months in advance, then recall with joy for months afterwards. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jakki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeLorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Parador de Lorca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Sir,
From el Parador de Lorca we would like to thank your for sharing your comments. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you soon back with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews