We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic break or children's holiday?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Convent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Convent
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic break or children's holiday?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

Very beautiful hotel - a former convent stylishly converted. Located a short walk from Sa Riera beach but a little longer from Begur itself, so a car is essential. Our standard room was very comfortable, and breakfasts offered a good range of pastries and fruits. The main problem for us was that the hotel can't seem to decide if it's for romantic and peaceful breaks or for family holidays - as it's just not big enough to be both. We hoped for the former but the number of small and noisy children put paid to that - at breakfast, at the pool or in the gardens. Restaurant offered an exciting menu served out on the terrace and all staff were lovely. But it wasn't cheap and the fitness suite was 'out of order' all the time we were there, the poolside bar was never open, and no sign of the electric bikes for hire either.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    76
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
24
126
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

This is one of the most beautiful locations (a converted Convent in its own grounds) in a beautiful part of the Costa Brava. We've been regular visitors since discovering it a few years ago (I think right after it opened). The restaurant is capable of serving up delicate surprises, the terrace is stunning, the swimming pool divine, the location near perfect - a real hidden gem in the region.
Last year we were only able to get a standard room (due to heavy booking), which I found a little cramped for 3 of us. So this year I was sure to request a superior room upon arrival at 7pm. The pleasant but very hassled receptionist (she was also trying to deal with 2 unhappy Barcelona ladies with a hairdryer problem, and she was the only staff member available) set about showing me rooms. In sequence, we checked out no fewer than SIX rooms, not one of which had been made up ready for occupancy! Highly embarrassed, the receptionist explained that, since the financial crisis in Spain, they'd been cutting back on cleaning staff...which meant that we were offered the only remaining prepared room - the same standard room as the year before!
Needless to say, we left for somewhere more prepared for guests. A real shame, and a strange way for a business to lose out on 4 nights of a €250 room. I hope that El Convent can re-discover it's service and basic management soon, I will try again next time.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LostAussie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

The Convent is a small, luxurious and very tranquil boutique hotel. The building is an ancient convent that has been entirely refurbished. The whole hotel, the rooms, the bar, the garden and pool area, emanate comfort, style and tranquility. Everything in this hotel is thought out, with great love for detail.
The town, Begur, is one of the most beautiful resorts of the Costa Brava, very different from the more popular places like e.g. Lloret. It´s small and picturesque and doesn´t have the typical huge cement hotel complexes. Set on a hill, Begur offers breathtaking views over the Meditarranean Sea.
Very recommendable for those seeking something different, something off the beaten track, something peaceful and just - stylish!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett_o13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at El Convent last week and loved everything about this hotel. It is very atmospheric and beautifully decorated. The staff were excellent, friendly and well informed about the locality. The gardens are beautiful and gave us a tranquil place to read at the end of a hard day's sight seeing. The restaurant served fresh and tasty food which we both enjoyed and nothing was too much trouble. On our first night we arrived late and the kitchen was happy to serve us some light snacks. The breakfast buffet had a great variety from which to choose, fresh fruit and cereal, cheese, cold meats, eggs, bacon, sausages, croissants and different breads and spreads. The location was peaceful and quiet with great views. Our room was comfortable and very clean. I'm sure we will return to this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — Atmosphere and comfort
  • Disliked — I would have liked a full bath, rather than just a shower, but I accept that being an old convent space is at a premium
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PearlyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

If you're looking for a peaceful hideaway close to a lot of beautiful beaches and a wonderful town - but back up in the mountains then this is the place for you. It is expennsive but like everything in life, you get what you pay for and this is quality. Small boutique hotel in a converted old convent. Rooms are lovely, restaurant is top class and you dine on the terrace surrounded by the sights and sounds of the hills ( one one night we were there was a chainsaw......but thats just the luck of the draw!!).

Outside is great pool to relax - quiet relaxing, convenient place ideal for a couple. Service is very good - its also refreshingly pleasant bar a bit of a grumpy barman - but theres always one!)

The local town of Begur is spectacular - a picture perfect spansih hillside town with restaurants, etc.

Overall - one of my favourite places that i've been - you wouldn't be staying there every day but if you've got the spare cash- its well worth it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — grumpy barman
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jlb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
3.1 km away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.2 km away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#10 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.2 km away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#5 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convent

Property: Hotel El Convent
Address: Carrer del Raco 2 Sa Riera, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price range (per night): $130 - $425
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convent 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Convent is a restored 17th-century convent, in the beautiful coastal town of Begur. It offers free Wi-Fi access and an outdoor pool. The hotel once belonged to the Minimos religious order, and each room is unique. They have been carefully restored, keeping their original features. Hotel Convent has beautiful panoramic views of the sea and the Baix Empordà. It also has lovely gardens, a gym and sauna. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel El Convent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convent Hotel
Hotel El Convent Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing