We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect property for large groups or Families and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Thomas W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect property for large groups or Families and I magnificent location”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The property was perfect for our large group, 4 families with children. Each of us had our own space with 2 large living rooms and plenty of outside space. The property was clean and tidy and great for our needs. The villa is in a great location with stunning walks and views right from the front gate. Close to granada and the sierra nevada national park there is plenty to explore in the area. The local village was very friendly with lots of places to eat and drink.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great property in a Great location
Liked least: wi fi very limited, very slow - almost impossible to use
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for the excellent review, it is always very reassuring to know my guests have enjoyed their stay. I note however that the internet didn't work particularly well for you. I am glad you brought that to my attention because I was unaware there was a problem. We will investigate and upgrade the router as necessary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tippi W
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Wonderful location for Granada, Sierra Nevada and Salobrena Beach”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Cortijo La Mata for 6 days in April 2016. Six women for a celebration of our 50th Birthdays. Laura the housekeeper was friendly and helpful. The house is exactly as is shown in the website - spacious and very Spanish. We had a few problems with the wifi upon arrival which was solved immediately by contacting Scott.
Very late one night the electric for half the house suddenly went out (this is a common problem in old houses in remote parts of Spain). I sent a message to Laura and she immediately replied she would get an electrician first thing in the morning, which she did. It did mean however a lack of hot water the following morning. In leu of this Laura/Scott very kindly waved the whole electricity charge for our entire stay, which we felt was a very resonable compensation. We had a fantastic time. Visiting Granada , Alhambra (10 mins by car), the Sierra Nevada ski resort (30 mins) and Salobrena beach (1 hour). The area around the house was rustic and beautiful, and the village of Monochil is close enough to walk and has a good selection of restaurants and some small shops. All the bedrooms were lovely, warm and airy. The 3rd bathroom for the penthouse area is outside on the balcony, which means it is not for anyone who needs to get up a few times in the night :) It would however be ideal for families with tweens and teens, who could have their own territory up there (as teens like to do), complete with kitchen and living room. Highly recommened.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the house and the beauty of the location.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thank you for your detailed and honest feedback, I am sorry about the problems you had but happy to know Laura dealt with it accordingly and it didn't spoil your time at the villa. The combination of retaining the old world charm whilst giving guests the modern conveniences they ask for can be a challenging balance at times!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Within a day of arriving we had adjusted to a different pace of life
Liked least: The last Kilometer drive up to the Villa was too narrow for two cars to pass comfortably
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
Thank you David for your honest and detailed feedback, it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay at our villa and we be would be delighted to have you back should you ever find yourselves in Granada again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Pool & patio
Liked least: Advertised as air conditioned but only partially
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it helps us a great deal to maintain what our guests are looking for and to highlight potential problems. My apologies about the confusion around the air conditioning, I hope it didn't lead to disappointment or discomfort as 2015 has been a particularly hot year. For future travellers I have just updated the holiday lettings website emphasizing that the installation only extends to the top floor bedroom suite.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mcgux
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family honeymoon”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This place was excellent, 2 weeks in the sunshine! Clean, comfortable, and secluded! Great for a peaceful family vacation ;) Laura is there to help with anything needed! Granada 5 km away! Great views and outside eating areas! Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Many thanks Mark and Hills, it was a pleasure to have you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing