We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine and Tapas at the bar”
Review of Cooks & Soldiers

Cooks & Soldiers
Reserve with OpenTable
Cooks & Soldiers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 4,131 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cooks & Soldiers draws its inspiration from the people and the cuisine of the Basque Country in Spain and France. The Spanish call it Pais Vasco; the Basque say Euskal Herria. Regardless of nomenclature, it stands for thousands of years of fierce independence, cultural autonomy, and unrivaled cuisine. Pintxos are the Basque answer to tapas. From the word for “thorn,” a Pintxo is traditionally served on bread, pierced with a toothpick. Pintxo Bars represent the casual, convivial aspect of Basque dining, where guests order for the table over a glass of Txakoli (crisp, slightly bubbly Basque wine) or tart Basque cider. Pintxo Bars are loud, vibrant and celebrate the joy of companionship and conversation over the formality of coursed dining. Cooks & Soldiers seeks to recreate this environment with our Pintxos Tradicionales, served on toast, and our Pintxos Especiales, composed expressions from our chefs. The Asador, on the other hand, is a wood-fired grill, elevating the simple yet divine combination of olive oil, salt, pepper, and smoke. At Cooks & Soldiers, our Asador is the centerpiece of our kitchen where whole meats and seafood are grilled over hot coals. These larger asador dishes are designed to be enjoyed communally, accompanied by a variety of fire roasted vegetable offerings.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This is a great spot for Spanish oriented wine and food. I met a friend and sat at the bar. Great ambiance and nice view from the bar looking outside. We tasted a number of great Spanish wines and settled on a bottle of Tempranillo. Over the course of the next few hours we sampled a number of tasty small plates like their Pulpo and Cordero tartare. Great food and drink - especially for the price!

Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Guest Relations Manager at Cooks & Soldiers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi David R,

Thank you for visiting Cooks & Soldiers and for taking a moment to share some feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your experience - including our wine list and menu. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018

First, the food was truly unique - more than we imagined for Spanish tapas....but in a good way. The rye cider cocktail was excellent. Mary, our waitress was really helpful. The decisions were tough with so many good choices. So we really appreciated her descriptions and assistance choosing! The sommelier was ridiculously good with his explanations of the wines too, making us actually vision the area the grapes are grown so well....and then the flavors to watch for in the wines. This was all for the wines by the glass, mind you so it wasn't even like we were spending a ton on a bottle.

All in all, excellent food and superb service. We'd return in a heartbeat when back in town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JCHUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Guest Relations Manager at Cooks & Soldiers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hi JCHUM,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback about Cooks & Soldiers. I will be sure to let Mary know she had a positive impact on your experience with us. We look forward to serving you again.

Take care,

Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We had a birthday party at Cooks & Soldiers. Great selection of food for the whole table. Great service. But, it was so noisy, you couldn't hear anyone talk.

Thank MelodyRoseParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Guest Relations Manager at Cooks & Soldiers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi MelodyRoseParker,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with Cooks & Soldiers! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the menu selections. Our dining room is vibrant and energetic, so I apologize you had a hard time communicating with those in your party. In the future, we would be happy to help make accommodations to improve your experience - whether that is pulling curtains or selecting a table for you on our terrace. We hope to see you back in the dining room soon!

Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Three of us went on a week night and had a great time. The place fills up and gets deafeningly loud, so if you want a quiet evening this is not your place. On the drive home our ears were ringing!

We were greeted at the door by the manager and promptly seated, and even checked on later a couple of times by the manager - perhaps owner. It was warm and personal.

The menu is exhaustive and we needed plenty of explanations by our server, who was very helpful. We had about 8 things from the menu and all were tasty treats except the Newfoundland mussels. They came buried in some sweet, black, wet substance and were therefore a mess to eat. No bowl was provided for shells so our plates got pretty messy. But the roasted lettuce that accompanied the mussels was utterly sublime, bathed in butter. One of us wanted that as a side dish for next time sans the mussels.

The dessert offerings are a bit weird. The Basque cake was a disappointment, dry and almost tasteless except for the candied orange on top.

Valet parking is easy and friendly; one caveat: wear washable clothing because everything you have on will be penetrated with wood smoke.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Guest Relations Manager at Cooks & Soldiers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Karen K.

Thank you for your feedback on the dining experience at Cooks & Soldiers. I am pleased to hear that the service was attentive and that you enjoyed most things you tried from our menu. We appreciate the feedback on the mussels and the basque cake. We are constantly trying to improve and value your opinion.

We hope we have the chance to serve you again.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

First time at Cooks $ Soldiers, and the entire experience was a truly good night out. The small plates were all wonderful - we had 6 small plates between the 2 of us and all were outstanding. Each plate stood on its own as distinctive. The coal roasted mushroom in the PINTXOS TRADICIONALE was just as good as another review said it was. The waits was knowledgeable and attentive but not intrusive, and the music was great for a rainy Sunday night dinner - soothing but upbeat, pretty much like the rest of the evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jolynn565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Guest Relations Manager at Cooks & Soldiers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Jolynn565,

Thank you for this feedback. We are happy to deliver a memorable experience for you.

Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cooks & Soldiers also viewed

 

Been to Cooks & Soldiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing