We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Nearby Hotels
USD 179*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 544*
USD 467*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 343*
USD 246*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 129*
USD 112*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 179*
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Atlanta(Atlanta)
USD 132*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 183*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 155*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 133*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 144*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
51
106
76
21
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
106
76
21
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanplace to sleepsmall balconywi fichecking outgeorgia domehiltonaquariumdeskconferencecokecnn
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

the hotel was nice and clean the clerk jani was pleasant and made us comfortable

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My decision of taking this motel was strongly based in Trip Advisor's recommendation but my surprise was too different.

External facilities (door hangers, painting, power outlets) need some maintenance, but as it has restored its rooms recently, we can understand they need a little time to refurbish the exterior.

The carpet is totally dirty, the blankets the same, desktop broken, microwave and fridge horrible dirty. The parking lot looks a horror movie totally alone and the zone a lot of homeless. At the end my wife and me change for a Hampton Inn for just $3 more (per night with hot breakfast) could you believed, amazing difference, I am sorry but I would not recommend at all this motel 6 the worst I ever visited.

Room Tip: Spend $3 more and go to another hotel I was a victim of this motel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Now like most reasonable people who’ve traveled a lot, we understand when you make a ‘special request’, motels can’t always meet them. We’re okay with that.

What we’re not okay with is when motel proprietors make up silly excuses to avoid honoring advertised claims. And we’re also not okay with being threatened with refusal of service. That’s exactly what happened to us here.

This was to be our 36th hotel stay in almost six months of travel across North America, and our first experience with the Motel 6 chain. It will also be our last.

We booked a week prior to our stay through the Motel 6’s national website, requesting a room with a fridge in our booking comments. The national (mobile) website lists an amenity for this motel as “Free microfridge/some rooms”. We received a confirmation booking email from Motel 6, showing our rate and our request.

We read the statement “Free microfridge/some rooms” as some rooms (not all), have free mini-fridges. On check in, we were presented with a credit card charge that exceeded the amount in our confirmation email. On querying the difference, it was firstly explained as sales tax. Now whilst we mightn’t be actuaries, even we could see the difference far exceeded any sales tax value and on querying further it became obvious there was a charge for the fridge.

Sometimes misunderstandings and miscommunications occur. And we’re reasonable people willing to overlook issues if there’s a valid explanation or compromise. This motel refused to honor the ‘free’ part of the statement, offering that to us for an additional charge and suggesting that as it wasn’t their personal website, there was no obligation on them to do so. The comedy routine got better though.

We were asked for and provided evidence of our booking, and of the statement on the Motel 6 website (it was more a demand as in ‘what website says that’). The gentleman we dealt with was not prepared to compromise on this point however. He was insistent on making his point, which simply was that the rate in his computer system for rooms with fridges, was a higher rate.

That he was rude, threatening and unwilling to compromise on such a minor point, and with such unreasonable excuses made us wonder if we were on one of those reality comedy shows – you know the ones where people are deliberately rude and antagonistic, and then the camera crew rushes out and surprises you and everyone laughs. We saw no camera crew however and the comedy routine continued with him suggesting “we can’t just give things away”.

In our view, and for most other reasonable people, failing to honor advertised claims amounts to misleading and deceptive conduct. Giving an unreasonable excuse to disassociate a chain-branded property from its’ national brand simply to avoid honoring a small commitment demonstrates a lack of integrity.

We also contacted Motel 6’s national office via their website about our issue. On the first occasion they misread our concern, seeing it simply as being we asked for a fridge and didn’t get one. On the second occasion, we received exactly the same worded, trained-monkey, form-letter response including (the almost condescending): “the experience as you described, concerns us deeply”.

And the promised action on both counts? “We’ll send your comments to our Management Team for their review”. Interpreted as ‘we’re not going to do anything with your comments – but hey, thanks for wasting your time and effort!’

We don’t appreciate or accept this type of behaviour, and chose to take our business elsewhere. And we’re no longer waiting for the camera crew to appear….

Room Tip: Choose a different motel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Bad neighborhood combined with an older non-updated hotel. Yes it is a little cheaper than others, but trust me, spend a few extra dollars on a better hotel you will be happier!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tattedcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a deluxe Motel 6 in downtown Atlanta. This is a great place to stay, with great rooms, and free downtown parking. It is a motel of course so don't expect luxury.

Highly recommended.

We didn't see too much of Atlanta, but will next time. Of course we visited Martin Luther King's birthplace and tomb !!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter.craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews