We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry That’s Not Included”
Review of Zoo Atlanta

Zoo Atlanta
Ranked #34 of 307 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Viewed as one of the finest zoological institutions in the U.S. and a proud accredited member of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA), Zoo Atlanta has a mission to inspire value and preservation of wildlife through a unique mix of education and outdoor family experiences. From well-known native wildlife to critically endangered species on the brink of extinction, the Zoo offers memorable close encounters with more than 1,000 animals from around the world. Zoo highlights include giant pandas, including Ya Lun and Xi Lun, a set of twins born to Lun Lun on September 3, 2016; one of North America’s largest zoological populations of great apes; and a global center of excellence for the care and study of reptiles and amphibians. Scaly Slimy Spectacular: The Amphibian and Reptile Experience, featuring more than 70 species in a 111,000 square-foot complex, is the world’s first LEED Gold-certified reptile and amphibian exhibit.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The Atlanta Zoo was a very nice Zoo and only took about 2 hours to walk through on a very crowded day. Several exhibits were staffed with someone to further talk about the animals and answer questions. That was nice. The park was very clean except for the trash cans at the front entrance as we left around 1:45pm.

Please be aware there are several areas and activities that Are Not Included in the price of admission. This was very disappointing to our children. The areas included a ropes course, climbing wall, and other activities for kids. We travel a good bit as a family I have not seen another park with a paid admission with this many extra cost activities in one place for kids.

Just plan an additional cost of admission for each child!!!

2  Thank clintc486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"reptile house"
in 136 reviews
"panda exhibit"
in 117 reviews
"giant pandas"
in 85 reviews
"train ride"
in 82 reviews
"red panda"
in 41 reviews
"animal exhibits"
in 38 reviews
"grant park"
in 62 reviews
"splash pad"
in 43 reviews
"on display"
in 45 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 35 reviews
"giraffes"
in 276 reviews
"carousel"
in 135 reviews
"enclosures"
in 138 reviews
"tiger"
in 158 reviews
"amphibians"
in 47 reviews
"playground"
in 126 reviews
"viewing"
in 100 reviews
Filter

176 - 180 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My kids really enjoyed the zoo it was very informative. My kids enjoyed the predator exhibit and the pandas. They also loved the living forest. The only knock was the checkered cab free transportation that's free to the zoo from the hotel. Two red lights ran and a stop sign ran but we made it.

Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting Zoo Atlanta on your trip. We will pass along your comments regarding Yellow Cab with the hope that no one else will have to worry about their safety as you did. Please do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Took our two toddlers here during spring break. It took us about 3.5 hours to get through the entire zoo with a stop for lunch while there. As with many zoos, food and snacks are quite expensive, but unlike many zoos, you can bring your own food inside! There is a small train here children can ride (5 min ride), as well as a ropes course, and carousel for an additional cost. We did the train ride and the kids enjoyed it. There is also a playground which the kids enjoyed too. We arrived when the gates opened, which I am glad we did as it got REALLY crowded by 11am. Recommend getting there early on days when school is out. Staff in the park were really friendly, it seemed very clean and is laid out in a way that allows for easy flow of people. Admission cost is a little more expensive than I anticipated for a smaller zoo, but with the option to carry food in and the time it took to get around, it was well worth it.

Thank Jeffs1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting Zoo Atlanta. We are thrilled that despite the crowds of spring break you were able to really enjoy yourselves. Please do visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Very cold in Atlanta and the animals still are around! It is a large size of zoo and it was nice to be there with friends.

Many of the food outlets were closed; perhaps as it is cold and not too many people but in summer time, we will come back and see more.

Thank JJMatt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting Zoo Atlanta and leaving a review. We open outlets based on anticipated attendance. On a normal day we have a great deal of variety. We look forward to seeing you come this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Great zoo but many animals were not on exhibit. Not sure it was worth the money as a visitor. Kids enjoyed running around and there seemed to be things that piqued their interest.

Thank Cherrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn W, Guest Relations Manager at Zoo Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear the kids enjoyed their stay. The construction of the Grand New View is in full swing but only four species are currently not visible to the public. Giraffe, zebra, ostrich and warthog will be on view in 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zoo Atlanta also viewed

 

Been to Zoo Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing