We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, Secluded, Delightful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Grandma's House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bran, Brasov County, Central Romania, Transylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Capitano...
Pristina, Kosovo
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Warm, Secluded, Delightful!”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

After a gut wrenching drive from Budapest, my wife, friends and I were very happy to meet Ciprian, the property owner at this beautiful house located in the foothills of the Carpathian Mountains a few kilometers drive from historic Bran Castle. Ciprian walked us through the house and explained the amenities (including the sauna, barbecue, wood shed and inner workings of the house). He generously gave us a plate of homemade apple pie and a bottle of the local favorite liquor. It didn't take long for our party to feel completely relaxed after our long frustrating drive. Soon my buddy had a fire lit, meat on the grill and a fire in the inside hearth. The internet speed at the house is amazing! We soon met the little old lady next door, a charming yet hearty woman who sold us eggs and more local cheese than we could admittedly ever eat. She was a sweetheart. Talk about peaceful surroundings, we had the large yard entirely to ourselves and made good use of it! The second night we stayed at the house, it snowed in the mountains adding to the charm.
If Transylvania is on your 'bucket list' as it was on mine, you would be making a grave mistake my friend for not taking me up on this recommendation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The romantic location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iuliana D
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect authentic experience with breath taking views”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Located very close to Bran castle, on a hill between Bucegi Mountains and Piatra Craiului, this house is simply perfect: built for a family, very warm and cozy, fully equipped with everything you need, all in handy, great design, fully functional fireplace and comfortable bedrooms with high quality hand made bed sheet. The mountain view is breath taking, wherever you look you have it, even in the bathrooms. The cleaning is also perfect.

The host is very nice and polite, they will meet you at the base of the hill, take you to the house and never disturb you. Anyway, they live closely so you can contact them if you need it. The old lady living nearby is also very nice and you can buy fresh cow cheese from her. Also, she has some super cute cats and a big dog which will definitely visit you for cuddling. I loved them!

For those who work remotely as me and my boyfriend do, the high speed WIFI works very well.

Even though it's so close to one the most touristic places in Romania, this hill above Șimon is so quiet and simple that it feels like going back to the times when our grand-grandparents lived in the mountains. Singing colorful birds, a fluffy cat, the fireplace and an amazing view towards the Bucegi and Piatra Craiului Mountains. It's my forth time in this area but the first at Căsuța Bunicii but I am sure I will come back. I definitely recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fireplaces, bedding, view
Liked least: sound proofing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenson...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing tranquility”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed for four nights, the house and setting was picture perfect, simple but also totally luxurious, with outdoor bbq and seating area, our own haystack and wood hut, spotless sauna, three bathrooms and a small but well stocked kitchen. Furniture was all totally in keeping with the style if the cottage and everything was beautiful. The setting of the cottage and the ara was absolutely beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Liked least: Noisy wedding one night at property further down lane, but otherwise perfect tranquility.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasperHum...
Geraldton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking, tranquility and peace.”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my wife has wonderfully stay at this beautiful rustic cottage with breathtaking mountain views. Our host and his familie made us feel at home and welcome from the moment we arrived till we left. I would highly recommend it to anybody.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thanks...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing