We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
15
51
84
60
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
51
84
60
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room deposit last minute break dated hotel molly malone would stay again room was cleaned daily mini fridge rabbit rooms are basic nice balcony clean towels every day a lovely holiday plenty of sunbeds excellent value for money yogurt housekeeper foyer
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel in May for 11 nights booked in Jan requested pool views and as travelling with Family rooms next door to each other, we arrived 3 floors apart meaning my son couldn't see grandparents easy wouldn't change our rooms until a few days later offered really bad rooms decided to stay put restaurant was dated no air con table cloths ripped same dresserts every night always running out of plates and cutlery staff worked so hard in restaurant parents were on second floor and couldn't sleep as was so noisy people running around banging doors all night my father complained to manager to be told they were paying guests too nothing he can do staff on reception were rude unhelpful not a good hotel as no ramp for wheelchairs or buggies Aldo the manager was the most patronising person I've ever met filthy area outside looks like a war zone nothing pleasant about it will be staying at the San pawl next road next time like before only lovely person that was there was laura grima so helpful a credit to a terrible hotel

Room Tip: Don't book
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CathrynN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, however it is never our intention not to provide good service.
Strange that guests complained that our staff are not capable of assisting you and management was not helpful too. Your comment regarding our dissatisfaction will be forwarded to the departments concerned in order to investigate.
Best Regards
Aldo Schembri Adami
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Doesn't affect us much as we go to the peppermill bar 5 mins walk away, just ask to fire the karaoke up what ever time you like day or night, Lovely owned and great food, kids/families welcome

Here now till 23rd Oct with family

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sammi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest
We thank you for your feedback and your comments will be forwarded to the departments concerned.
Best Regards
Aldo Schembri Adami
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is seriously so bad I could not tell you on 1 page. Every time I went to reception there were 10 more people complaining. Rude, arrogant staff. Poorly managed and dirty. Do not listen to customers. Never stay here. ITS BAD !!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest

We regret to hear that your stay did not reach your expectations. Our hotel is a very popular one and normally receives very good feedback from guests, however your comments will still be seen to. Strange to hear that management and staff were rude and arrogant, as all our best to provide the best service possible.

Best Regards

Aldo Schembri Adami

Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very dated, the room was clean but the portable air conditioning unit was in the door that was meant to open so we had problems with the door. The toilet broke and was not repaired until the next day. One day we came back to our room and the balcony door was smashed. The drink was disgusting and did not taste nice. We were fully inclusive but only ate in the restaurant a couple of times because the food was awful.We had to ask for knives and forks plates cups.The bar shut some afternoons
so you had to go over the road to a different hotel JOKE. Them to top it all one night at 3.30 we got a phone call from reception to say there was a taxi for us. It was not explained that we could use another hotel it is the worse place i have ever stayed
.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy02008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest
We regret to hear that your stay was not so great. Management assure you that the your comments will be forwarded to the departments concerned.
The pool bar is closed only when bad weather condition. Guests can use the bar when we have the pool bar closed.
We regret that you were woken up by a phone call at 3.30am, however it was not our fault as the drive came an the wrong odd time.
Best Regards
Aldo Schembri Adami
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went back to the Santa maria hotel again in September, well let me tell you, it was not the same as it was in May, in May it was relatively peaceful but in September it had a lot of youngsters on school holidays and it was pretty noisy we would not go back again in September, also they have changed the opening times of the bar it was closed most afternoons and dead at evening the beer they have changed to is quite awful, so we ate and drank out most of the time although we were on all inclusive , but the food we did eat there was pleasant enough, and they had a variety to cater for all needs

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony or you may end up at street level
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamr9882016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
We regret to hear that you have been upset ,as according to your review. Guest stated that there was a change from your last stay then from the one before.
Ideally it would have been a good idea if these guests would have brought to our attention the complaints mentioned in this review on site.We assure you that your issues, or rather your complaints such as food, drinks, and youngsters being pretty noisy will be seen to, as we really welcome all sorts of feedback in order to give the best service possible.
Best Regards
Aldo Schembri Adami
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews