We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
35
81
94
67
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
81
94
67
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two double beds meal times blue sea xmas and new year price you pay rooms cleaned daily bath and shower towels were changed local shops fresh towels bugibba square lee tommy lad plugs
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wasn't aware before arrival that you can't check in until 3pm, which isn't too bad as there's a luggage room. Also wasn't aware that they now require a €50.00 refundable deposit on arrival so if your on a budget that can be issue. However, still waiting for my room 51 minutes after the check in time which is absolutely ridiculous, if it was summertime I could be more understanding!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
We have seen your comments.Kindly note that in Malta and worldwide all hotels have policies and regulations which guests have to understand and respect the hotel procedure.
Best Regards
Aldo Schembri Adami
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at San Anton recently went with my husband and 2 sons for a long weekend.
We choose this hotel as we were visiting family and they all lived locally to the hotel so it was ideal.
The staff were very friendly when we arrived and quite happily showed us to out room as we got lost first time it's a bit of a maze.
We were up a flight of steps so it's not ideal if you struggle with steps or have a disability.
The room was very smelly but once doors were open it was ok, the room was very outdated but clean and fresh towels and our beds were made daily.
The veranda was tiny and we all struggled to stand out there lol...
We went half board but only ate once in the restaurant the food options were very minimal and you are ok if your a fan of rabbit we ended up just making cheese sandwiches with the bread and cheese that was there.
O may I add in our room we had tea coffee facilities but you had supply your own tea etc.
We also had facilities to cook in our room but was put off by the incvestation of ants all over the work top (yuck)
I did hear though from a family member that ants were a big problem at the moment though.
The pool was very small so we didn't actually use it but there were families around it quite happy.
Would I stay here again?
I'm afraid not!
Sorry San Anton but I really think you need to clean up a little bit especially down the little alleys at side of the rooms, maybe update the rooms and fix the fans properly to the ceilings at one point we thought it was going to come down on us.
There was nothing food wise for children and we watched a few families walk back out of the restaurant.
Sorry San Anton but it's only 2 stars from me

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dlhegarty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
We are sorry to hear that your stay did not reach your expectations, however your various complaints and feedback will be forwarded to the departments concerned.

Such balanced constructive reviews enable us to ascertain the areas we need to investigate and improve.

As you concur we provide good value for money but will strive to improve the services provided.

We are sorry that your stay was not satiafactory and we will certainly take each matter in hand.

Best Regards

Aldo Schembri Adami

Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a holiday in October flight and hotel about £200
Good value for money hotel clean nice balcony overlooking the pool, good variety of food at breakfast, good sized swimming pool
hotel a bit dated but overall had a nice holiday very good value for money loved Malta

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view as some of the rooms seem to face a wall
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
We are glad that your stay was satisfactory..Our aim is to provide the best service and worth the money spend for a stay.
Best Regards
Aldo Schembri Adami
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Spending five weeks here and one week left. Everything is clean and as well managed as I would expect. We've had a lovely time and would recommend. It is true we do not eat here or use the pool so cannot comment on those facilities. For self catering and a comfortable room overlooking the pool it has been excellemt. The tv has not worked but that has been a bonus as who wants to spend time on holiday watching tv. A lift would have helped but it was probably better for us to use the stairs. The paper shop, bakery, and fish shop are five minutes walk and the bus close. We hire a car and parking is difficult but that is the same all over malta. The sea is close , ten minutes walking, with plenty of swimming spots but not easy to access for those who need a sandy beach or who have difficulty walking. I would recommend a careful map showing the different streets down to the sea as it can be confusing if you do not know the way and very easy to get lost. We would certainly come here again. Cleaning staff are very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sionachmise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for sending your review as we genuinely welcome all feed back. We of course realise and strive to improve the service we provide therefore your appraisal is a welcoming indication of our commitment.
Glad to hear that the location was superb and look forward welcoming you again on board in the future.
Best Regards
Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We had an Easter break with my partner and friends. My fault that we booked here, as I dragged my heals to book, and better hotels were sold out.
£50 deposit ? If we trashed the place, we would have made hundreds of pounds of improvements !
Room large but drab, corridors were squalid. Food was terrible, salad re-used from lunch. (Kinder toys in it !) Never seen bacon with NO lean meat on it before. Had lunch there once, dinner twice.
Having said that, Molly Malone’s which was the most un Irish, Irish bar ever, was great, lots of banter, quizzes and karaoke etc. Drinks fine.
We didn’t get a cheap deal, but if we were offered a free holiday there, wouldn't go back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MarkV1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guests
We have seen your review with various issues you mentioned.Our feedback is important as we shall forward your comments to the department concerned.We do believe their is improvement to be made however kindly understand that your feedback helps to upgrade areas concerned.
Your comments regarding the food will be forwarded to our catering agent and inform them with your dissatisfaction.
Best regards
Aldo Schembri Adami
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews