We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
46
90
81
54
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
90
81
54
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacks bar plain pasta pizza restaurant the general manager the bus pool view hotel late at night weekend break reading reviews tea and coffee making facilities apple bar hotel is great portable air conditioning unit internet access happy holidays bed and breakfast basis plenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Awful hotel, Rip off refund policies
Stayed here one night out of five booked in October 2017
Arrived at 22.00hours on 8/10/17 To be given a room with a door that did not lock and dangerous exposed wiring in the bedroom feeding a hair dryer
Raised with staff member who suggested I put a chair behind the door for security and not to touch the exposed wiring as no more rooms available
Following day, due to unsafe room and awful experience, informed staff I would be checking out due to loss of faith in hotel but willing to pay for two nights but requested refund for remaining 5 nights
Hotel refused to refund, Booking.com refused to get involved in getting my money back and I was left out of pocket.
Unsafe rooms, appalling refund policies STAY AWAY
All I want is my money back for the 5 nights I did not stay there

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Geth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Wayne Gethings,
You booked with a well-known agency. On your voucher it says that you are not entitled to any money back if you change your arrangements. So, it was not the refund policy of the hotel that you are talking about, but the agreement you came to with your agent. Put simply, you were not entitled to a refund.

We, of course, have the original voucher, so base the above on direct evidence.

You requested a room which was away from the lift and away from any noisy areas, so we gave you a room on the top floor, in the corner, away from the other rooms.

After decades of hotelier experience, do you honestly think that staff would recommend that you put a chair to block the room, when all you needed to do was push in the large silver button on the handle in order to lock the door?

Any other issues which guests may have are addressed, ideally, when the Reception Manager is present, which was, in this case, the following morning - and as advised by the evening receptionist. If you choose to check-out, that is, of course, your choice, but you should have been aware of the contractual conditions with your agency prior to doing that, and, to reiterate, accept the consequences of your actions.

We assure other people reading this that we are always available to help guests get the maximum benefit from their stay and we hope that readers here will pay attention to the plethora of excellent reviews we have on this site.

Graham Powell and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Run down hotel in a run down resort. Drunk polish builders staying at hotel drinking outside with 10 cans of larger each not a good sight when on holiday. Beer cans and fag stubs in gutter everywhere. Hotel room was just ok beds hard as rock so had back ache every morning lights are so dim you can't see in the room. TV rubbish and snowy picture. In door pool they have taken steps away so once your in the pool you can't get out easy. Was glad to leave and won't be coming back

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Dr_Algarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

We are not responsible for whoever chooses to stay at the hotel, though I can tell you that the workers were not builders, as you state. Also, people who come on holiday to Malta generally drink alcohol, so it's not really as you imply...
The lights get brighter over time, as well, and we are steadily replacing them for bulbs which are instantly bright.
We hope you find matters more to your taste the next time you book a holiday.
Yours,
Graham and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Please don’t believe it when people say this hotel is good, it is horrible and is full of building site workers who live there while working somewhere else .The manager is very unpleasant and rude the rooms are in drastic need of a major upgrade , the pool is tiny and the indoor pool is falling apart the food is basic and the cleaners want into your room at 8 a.m. between them and the workers we were demented with the noise . Was this the worst hotel we’ve ever stayed in ? Definitely ☹️☹️

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank karolken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

There are plenty of other hotels to choose from, so we will be happy if you manage to use modern technology to find one.
Meanwhile, the majority of our guests are very happy with the hotel and so much so, perhaps unfortunately for us, they don't even think to write reviews... None-the-less, my desk is full of cards and letters which praise those who work here.
Best of luck,

Graham Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

The staff are really friendly,I would like to thank Doris in the restaurant Oh so friendly she made our holiday she told us about the Birgu fest in Vittioriosa . what a wonderful memory we have thanks to you Doris. Also big thanks to Goran Angelovski for sorting out our friends boarding pass on a return flights.Great value hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank terrycarollink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you for the great review.
I will tell Doris and she will be so happy that you had a wonderful time.
Goran is also happy to help and, in fact, we all hope that you return to see us soon.
Yours,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

After just returning from this hotel i found it to be a little tired in places but clean and well served by the staff. The reception staff were great and Jason is a star nothing is too much trouble. food was ok but nothing to write home about. it did the job - over all it does well for a three star.

the downsides for me was that room bulbs were all low and the room never felt lit. The TV was crap but we didn't come away for that so its OK - 10 euro deposit for the remote. the lifts were on and off working and the dinning room is downstairs with no lift so if you have mobility problems not the hotel for you. Renarta extremely helpful for trips and went the extra mile when there was a problem. Location is ok near to the bus station and sea.

Very disappointing that pool only gets sun in the morning - so no lazying there all day.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debralouise17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for your appraisal of Jason. I sometimes feel like I'm his father!! He really does pull out all the stops to help people.
All the staff wish you a very good remainder to 2017 and will be happy to see you again.
The lights get brighter over time in a few rooms, plus a lift will be installed soon for access to the restaurant. (It has already been delivered!)
During high summer, the pool receives the sun for most of the day; but later in the year the sun of course passes lower in the sky. A sun terrace is on the roof of Block A. This gets the sun all day.
We hope to greet you again in Malta in the not too distant future.
Yours,

Graham Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews